24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

INCREDIBLE! My 4-year-old and I have a girl's night out once a month and always have Pasta House Pasta Con Broccoli. This was spot-on if not better. I x4 the recipe and used a quart of cream and 1 stick of butter. Maybe should rename to "Heart-Attack Pasta". I don't like to "lighten up recipes. I'd rather eat it the way it was meant to be and just eat smaller portions. To make the dish happen faster, I threw in a 12 ounce bag of Trader Joe's organic cut broccoli florets into the boiling pasta about 5 minutes into cooking. Came out perfectly. I also use Gourmet Garden garlic (in a tube). It is amazing stuff. I usually am light on the salt, but I really had to put quite a bit of salt into this to bring it up to an acceptable level. Other than that, this will be our go-to pasta when we are craving a white sauce. This deserves 20 stars!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laughingdogs June 15, 2009

Yum! When I was a little girl, my mother and I had 'girl' days which always ended with dinner at the Pasta House. This dish was one of our favorites! My mother recently passed and I no longer live anywhere near a Pasta House. So, when I found this recipe, I knew I had to try it. I will say that I used fat free cream, and it was still an amazing dish. My husband enjoyed it as well, his only thought was that maybe we could add some shrimp or chicken next time. Thank you much for sharing the recipe and bringing back some good memories for me!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Colfax Wife July 16, 2010

I really enjoyed this, but I had to make some changes to bump up the flavor and nutritional value. Instead of tomato sauce, I used tomato paste. I doubled the broccoli and mushrooms, use 1/4 cup of cream and 3/4 cup of milk, only 1 tbsp of the butter, and added a 1/2 cup frozen green peas, 12 halved grape tomatoes, and some chopped fresh basil and red pepper flakes. It knocked the calorie count to about 500 calories a serving, and it still tasted great. It would probably be even better with all of the cream and butter but since there are people with heart issues in my household, I had to adjust. Thanks for posting this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarah40460 June 29, 2011

Every busy Mom needs this on their meal list. Minimal ingredients and time...maximum flavor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ManchesterTeri April 08, 2010

Cannot believe I've forgotten to rate this recipe! We've made it a lot and the family loves it. Close enough to Pasta House to make us very happy. I adjust this 4 times the original quantities so I can use 1 pound of dry pasta. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie K December 05, 2012

YUM. Loved it, finished it, then realized completely forgot to put in the tomato sauce. I will try it again with the tomato sauce. I also sauteed my mushrooms and added them in after serving my daughter (she can't stand mushrooms, plus I like when they are bit caramelized). And presteamed the broccoli slightly it's still finished with a bit of bite, and not soggy at all. Thanks. Oh what type of cream did the recipe actually call for I did heavy cream but wonder what the nutritional info is based on (I have a weakness for heavy cream).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lil' Lori February 06, 2012

Will make definitely again! Easy to make and a true comfort food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phyllis Harris February 05, 2012

Yum O
Never really believed it until it was done and I tasted it.
We have a hard time not making it every 2 weeks. Last time I served it up
in the bowls and put crispy bacon on top. My Hubby was all over that!
Thanks so much for letting the secret out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieMoc January 13, 2012

This was awesome!!! I am from St. Louis and I love Pasta House...but I haven't lived there for years, so I don't get to get my fix very often. I was so surprised to find the actual Pasta House recipe online. I added grilled chicken because the hubs won't eat anything without meat. I used whole wheat pasta and 3/4 milk and 1/4 cream instead of all cream. I also used Benecol instead of real butter. (Don't laugh. That stuff is amazing!!) I didn't notice a difference in flavor at all. It was fantastic! I also added more broccoli and mushrooms. This was so quick and easy. I would recommend this to all my friends! Yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Corinne N September 27, 2011

We really enjoyed this and it was so easy to make! I made a few changes; DH does not like broccoli so I steamed it separate. I plated his right before I added the mushrooms (doesn't like those either); then I added the mushrooms and broccoli, let it cooked for a couple minutes and heat through then proceeded with the cheese. It was creamy but not too much of a tomato flavor. I also used small shells since I was out of the large. Made for ZWT 7-THE HOT PINK LADIES.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH June 07, 2011
Pasta House Pasta Con Broccoli (Actual Recipe)