Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pasta House Pasta Con Broccoli (Actual Recipe)
    Lost? Site Map

    Pasta House Pasta Con Broccoli (Actual Recipe)

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2009

      INCREDIBLE! My 4-year-old and I have a girl's night out once a month and always have Pasta House Pasta Con Broccoli. This was spot-on if not better. I x4 the recipe and used a quart of cream and 1 stick of butter. Maybe should rename to "Heart-Attack Pasta". I don't like to "lighten up recipes. I'd rather eat it the way it was meant to be and just eat smaller portions. To make the dish happen faster, I threw in a 12 ounce bag of Trader Joe's organic cut broccoli florets into the boiling pasta about 5 minutes into cooking. Came out perfectly. I also use Gourmet Garden garlic (in a tube). It is amazing stuff. I usually am light on the salt, but I really had to put quite a bit of salt into this to bring it up to an acceptable level. Other than that, this will be our go-to pasta when we are craving a white sauce. This deserves 20 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      Yum! When I was a little girl, my mother and I had 'girl' days which always ended with dinner at the Pasta House. This dish was one of our favorites! My mother recently passed and I no longer live anywhere near a Pasta House. So, when I found this recipe, I knew I had to try it. I will say that I used fat free cream, and it was still an amazing dish. My husband enjoyed it as well, his only thought was that maybe we could add some shrimp or chicken next time. Thank you much for sharing the recipe and bringing back some good memories for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      I really enjoyed this, but I had to make some changes to bump up the flavor and nutritional value. Instead of tomato sauce, I used tomato paste. I doubled the broccoli and mushrooms, use 1/4 cup of cream and 3/4 cup of milk, only 1 tbsp of the butter, and added a 1/2 cup frozen green peas, 12 halved grape tomatoes, and some chopped fresh basil and red pepper flakes. It knocked the calorie count to about 500 calories a serving, and it still tasted great. It would probably be even better with all of the cream and butter but since there are people with heart issues in my household, I had to adjust. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      Every busy Mom needs this on their meal list. Minimal ingredients and time...maximum flavor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      Cannot believe I've forgotten to rate this recipe! We've made it a lot and the family loves it. Close enough to Pasta House to make us very happy. I adjust this 4 times the original quantities so I can use 1 pound of dry pasta. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      YUM. Loved it, finished it, then realized completely forgot to put in the tomato sauce. I will try it again with the tomato sauce. I also sauteed my mushrooms and added them in after serving my daughter (she can't stand mushrooms, plus I like when they are bit caramelized). And presteamed the broccoli slightly it's still finished with a bit of bite, and not soggy at all. Thanks. Oh what type of cream did the recipe actually call for I did heavy cream but wonder what the nutritional info is based on (I have a weakness for heavy cream).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      Will make definitely again! Easy to make and a true comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      Yum O
      Never really believed it until it was done and I tasted it.
      We have a hard time not making it every 2 weeks. Last time I served it up
      in the bowls and put crispy bacon on top. My Hubby was all over that!
      Thanks so much for letting the secret out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      This was awesome!!! I am from St. Louis and I love Pasta House...but I haven't lived there for years, so I don't get to get my fix very often. I was so surprised to find the actual Pasta House recipe online. I added grilled chicken because the hubs won't eat anything without meat. I used whole wheat pasta and 3/4 milk and 1/4 cream instead of all cream. I also used Benecol instead of real butter. (Don't laugh. That stuff is amazing!!) I didn't notice a difference in flavor at all. It was fantastic! I also added more broccoli and mushrooms. This was so quick and easy. I would recommend this to all my friends! Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      We really enjoyed this and it was so easy to make! I made a few changes; DH does not like broccoli so I steamed it separate. I plated his right before I added the mushrooms (doesn't like those either); then I added the mushrooms and broccoli, let it cooked for a couple minutes and heat through then proceeded with the cheese. It was creamy but not too much of a tomato flavor. I also used small shells since I was out of the large. Made for ZWT 7-THE HOT PINK LADIES.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      AMAZING! I tripled the recipe since I had 12oz of pasta! YUmmY YUmmY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Yum!! It's so easy and tastes like a lot more work than it is!. I added cooked ham and bacon. Next time, perhaps a bit more garlic. This tastes far better than what I've had in a restaurant. Even hubby complimented, which is extremely rare!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      As a native St. Louis girl, I had to try this. Sadly, we were really disappointed. This was definitely fast & easy, and the texture was nice. However, the sauce was really bland for our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      Absolutly fantastic! I live in St.Louis and this recipe tastes exactly like the Pasta Con Broccoli at The Pasta House! Me and my mom made this at home, it being one of my favorite things to eat and it turned out great! We followed the recipe except we doubled everything and used a pound of pasta! We will continue to make this, because we loved it! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      We used to live in St. Louis and I loved Pasta House - this was my absolute fave dish and no other place has anything like on the menu!!! I made it tonight with a full pound of pasta, 4 cups brocolli, 3 cups half and half and 1 cup milk. I used a ton of garlic and tomato paste about 2 cups of mushrooms and a cup of fresh grated parmesan cheese. This was fantastic!!! Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

    • on February 26, 2009

      The taste of this you would think that I spent a long time in the kitchen! My favorite place to eat is the Pasta House and I usually order the Pasta Con Broccoli! The only thing that I do different is double the recipe. I cheat and buy the Pasta House dressing at the store and add the artichokes, parm, onion, and pimentos. I also serve warm Italian bread. You have to try this one!! More than a five star recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Very good and easy, although when I made 3 servings, I couldn't resist tossing in the rest of my 8-oz. can of tomato sauce (we normally do not eat white sauces), and I prepared additional broccoli (in the microwave) and sauteed mushrooms (in a nonstick skillet coated with Pam) to serve on top. I served this as a side to baked wild Sockeye Salmon seasoned with Tony Chachere's seasoning. Note: before cooking the pasta, I parboiled the broccoli for 1 minute to keep it green. We can do this often, DH wants this meal again! Thanks for posting this recipe, JanuaryBride! Made for February 2009 Veg*n Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

    • on September 24, 2008

      Absolutely fabulous! My husband and I would give this one 10 stars if we could I did make quite a few changes to suit our tastes. First off...had to add hot chicken italian sausage since my husband will not eat a pasta main dish without some sort of meat or seafood. While I don't think it was necessary - it was spectacular in this sauce! I doubled the recipe to serve four but increased pasta to 1lb, did 1.5 cups 1/2 and 1/2 and 1.5 cups of 2% milk. Kept butter the same, tripled the garlic, used a can of tomato sauce (to offset the liquid from doubling the pasta), used 2 cups of chopped broccoli and baby bella mushrooms. Absolutely OUT OF THIS WORLD!! I will NOT lose this recipe. It was just wonderful in my pasta loving house. Thank you so much for posting this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pasta House Pasta Con Broccoli (Actual Recipe)

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 731.0
     
    Calories from Fat 477
    65%
    Total Fat 53.0 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 32.7 g
    163%
    Cholesterol 174.1 mg
    58%
    Sodium 423.4 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.5 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 16.2 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes