40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have to say I had my doubts about how good this would taste as simple as it is but WOW! DH told me this had to become a regular in the meal rotation. He did say, like some of the other posters, it would be best if the tomatoes were smaller. so next time they go in for food processor just enough to make them smaller. Bev, thank you so much for sharing! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tammy dalton October 31, 2011

Really good for the small time effort required. I allowed the soup to simmer for an hour on low, 10 minutes didn't seem like enough for a soup. Also, prepared the pasta separately to avoid it getting mush with leftovers. Good recipe for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikemac9 January 22, 2012

This is delicious soup. I used ditalini pasta and also added kale.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj February 03, 2011

You're such a giver, sharing a jewel like this one. This might have the highest taste to effort ratio ever. One for my Best of 2011. Made for Soups & Breads.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng January 10, 2011

This recipe is excellent. I cook for my roommates a lot, but it seems the simplest recipes take the cake! I don't believe I used the fresh herbs, so I used the dry that I had on hand. I hope to make this often :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ScarletChef November 08, 2010

This is a really tasty, quick and easy soup. I also added diced Italian tomatoes. My grocery does not carry the Small Shell Pasta, so I used Medium. You need to double the shells when using larger ones. I also added a small box of frozen meatballs. I was out of Parmesan so I used some finely shredded mixed blend cheese and it was fine. Next time I am going to double it as another reviewr suggested. Thanks for the great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Butler October 26, 2009

Loved this. I made a couple of changes. I used 2 cans of small dice tomatoes so the dice was smaller (*laugh* hence the name, I guess) and I used 1 can each of pinto, kidney and cannellini beans. I used about 1 tbsp of dried parsley because like many other posters, I didn't have fresh. I also added 2 tsp of oregano and 1 tsp of red pepper flakes, 2 carrots, diced, and 2 ribs of celery, chopped. Then I messed up. I added a cup and a half of uncooked ditalini pasta. That was too much for my liquid -- the pasta soaked it right up. I ended up adding another 3 cups of broth (for a total of 6 cups). The result was a wonderful Pasta Fagioli. It's enough to feed an army. Did I mention there are only 2 humans in our household? Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twiggyann April 11, 2009

The flavor is ABSOLUTELY PERFECT! Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Farmer Julia March 01, 2009

I actually omitted the pasta used this as a soup base for my steak soup and the flavor was excellent.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Poison_Ivy February 09, 2009

I made this for dinner and it was yummy! I was a little worried it would not feed a small family of three. The pasta really puffs up. Also their was plenty to feed our family with leftovers for another night. I served it with a side of bread and butter. It was a very filling meal. Thanks Bev for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandra #7 February 02, 2009
Pasta Fagioli