Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pasta Fagioli Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pasta Fagioli

    Average Rating:

    39 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 39

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2011

      I have to say I had my doubts about how good this would taste as simple as it is but WOW! DH told me this had to become a regular in the meal rotation. He did say, like some of the other posters, it would be best if the tomatoes were smaller. so next time they go in for food processor just enough to make them smaller. Bev, thank you so much for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Really good for the small time effort required. I allowed the soup to simmer for an hour on low, 10 minutes didn't seem like enough for a soup. Also, prepared the pasta separately to avoid it getting mush with leftovers. Good recipe for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      This is delicious soup. I used ditalini pasta and also added kale.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2011

      You're such a giver, sharing a jewel like this one. This might have the highest taste to effort ratio ever. One for my Best of 2011. Made for Soups & Breads.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      This recipe is excellent. I cook for my roommates a lot, but it seems the simplest recipes take the cake! I don't believe I used the fresh herbs, so I used the dry that I had on hand. I hope to make this often :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This is a really tasty, quick and easy soup. I also added diced Italian tomatoes. My grocery does not carry the Small Shell Pasta, so I used Medium. You need to double the shells when using larger ones. I also added a small box of frozen meatballs. I was out of Parmesan so I used some finely shredded mixed blend cheese and it was fine. Next time I am going to double it as another reviewr suggested. Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      Loved this. I made a couple of changes. I used 2 cans of small dice tomatoes so the dice was smaller (*laugh* hence the name, I guess) and I used 1 can each of pinto, kidney and cannellini beans. I used about 1 tbsp of dried parsley because like many other posters, I didn't have fresh. I also added 2 tsp of oregano and 1 tsp of red pepper flakes, 2 carrots, diced, and 2 ribs of celery, chopped. Then I messed up. I added a cup and a half of uncooked ditalini pasta. That was too much for my liquid -- the pasta soaked it right up. I ended up adding another 3 cups of broth (for a total of 6 cups). The result was a wonderful Pasta Fagioli. It's enough to feed an army. Did I mention there are only 2 humans in our household? Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      The flavor is ABSOLUTELY PERFECT! Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I actually omitted the pasta used this as a soup base for my steak soup and the flavor was excellent.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      I made this for dinner and it was yummy! I was a little worried it would not feed a small family of three. The pasta really puffs up. Also their was plenty to feed our family with leftovers for another night. I served it with a side of bread and butter. It was a very filling meal. Thanks Bev for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I made this for the second time exactly as stated and it is wonderful! I broke the tomatoes up a bit, but I think the larger pieces makes it more substantial. It really is very fast to make! My suggestion for those that don't want the larger stewed tomato pieces, buy the diced Italian seasoned tomatoes and you won't have to run it through a blender or food processor. I'm planning on always keeping the ingredients for this on hand so that there will always be something warm and nourishing to eat! Bev, thanks again for another superb recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      I liked this recipe, but would have liked a little bit more of a tomato flavor. I used to eat this dish in Italy all the time and it was close, but not the same. I wish I had taken one of the reviewers suggestions of putting the stewed tomatoes in a processor. The chunks are just too big next to the small shelled pasta. I will make this again, but may tweak it a little.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      Delicious. Made as is, next time I might only use one can of tomatoes, or food process them as one user suggested - just a little too many chunks. Will be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Wow, this soup was "MM goot" as my dad says! I made some Italian bread to have along with it and it was a winning combination!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      this soup is truly fantastic.i used dried parsley and fresh basil and the flavours were fab. i also added a tablespoon of cornstarch.water mix to thicken it a little. a truly hearty warming soup, i love it and will be passing it onto my friends as well as making it regularly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      I am giving this recipe another review because I LOVE it!! I have made it many times, and today was cool and windy and dreary. I decided to make this and in 40 minutes I have a hot wonderful lunch.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      This soup was truly outstanding, despite having to use dried parsley (1 T.) in lieu of fresh. Will make again and again. Thanks, Bev!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I tried this recipe several months ago and have enjoyed it many times since! It's very easy and has only one minow flaw....it's highly addictive!! :o)!! I usually make a double batch, in fact I recommend doing so. It's even better the second day!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      Fabulous, quick & easy. Sure to make this dish again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      I made this for an Italian themed dinner that I had with some friends of mine and it was a complete hit. I think that was the first time I ever made such a successful recipe, everyone asked me for it so I directed them to this website. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pasta Fagioli

    Serving Size: 1 (210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 168.1
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    22%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 415.7 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 6.0 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-sodium fat-free chicken broth

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites