Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pasta E Fagioli (Italian soup) with Italian Sausage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pasta E Fagioli (Italian soup) with Italian Sausage

    Average Rating:

    84 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 84

    Sort by:

    • on October 19, 2002

      This soup was a huge hit in our house! It is a very hearty soup bursting with flavor. The soup is also very appealing to the eye with the red, orange, white and green colors from the vegetables and beans. This soup is hearty enough to be a stew/chili as it is not loaded with broth. I doubled the recipe using hot Italian sausage and ground beef (I only had hot Italian sausage which was too much heat for the entire family). I used a couple of extra carrots and stalks of celery to beef up the vegetables. I was unable to locate cannellini beans at my grocery store so I substituted navy beans which are also white. I can't say enough about how great this soup tasted. Thank-you so much for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      I just turned the burner off! This is soup is complete! This will sound silly; for years I've thought about making this type of soup but I thought it was way over my head. I have to tell you in all honesty it was the easiest thing in the world to make! Oh yes, I did have a little sample: OMG! This is the type of thing I can throw together in 15 minutes and tell everyone I spent all day! LOL

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2009

      Thanks, PanNan, I love this soup! I altered the order of adding ingredients to avoid overcooking: I browned the sausage before adding onion, garlic, and celery. I added carrots with the stock (and any other root veggies on hand: potatoes, parsnips, etc. should go then). Also, if using dry beans, they can be boiled separately for an hour after their "soak" and added with the root veggies. I waited until the end and added canned diced tomatoes when I added the pasta so the tomato chunks wouldn't get too cooked down (small "veggies for soup", corn, peas, etc. should also be added here).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2003

      Wonderful recipe. I used larger bowtie noodles, but is great as submitted with plenty of room to play with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      My husband said this is very hearty and very good, so I will add it to my collection. I confess I ate three(!) bowls myself (without bread). I have said before that it seems any soup made with Italian sausage is good. Thank you, PanNan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2011

      this is surprisingly good! i didn't have any spinach or cheese, but it turned out delicious anyway! thanks alot!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Delicious! I made this in my crockpot. I browned the sausage , sauteed the vegetables, and added them to the crockpot with everything else except the pasta and parsley. I cooked my pasta seperately and added it at the end with the parsley.I used sweet Italian sausage and 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes and it was perfect in the heat department but a little too spicy for my 7 yr old son , so next time I'll probably have to use just 1/2 teaspoon and add more to my bowl. I added zucchini , a bay leaf and more carrots/celery , 6 cloves garlic and used 3 (14-1/2 ounce) cans chicken broth. I started it out on HIGH for a couple hours and then switched it to Low. Cooked it for a total of five hours. I served it with some grilled cheese sandwiches. This was such a comforting and tasty soup on a very cold and rainy day! Thank you so much for the great recipe.....going into the keeper file! I would love to add some fresh chopped spinach to this! UPDATE:I made this again, this time on the stovetop because I wanted to make more than my crock pot would hold.Just as yummy! I browned the sausage first, drained it and added it back in after the vegetables were sauteed. I did add a 6 ounce bag of baby spinach in at the very end, with the pasta shells I cooked separately , and that is a delicious addition I would reccommend! We are eating again it tonight! One of my favorite soup recipes, much thanks Pan Nan!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2014

      This soup was a great hit in my house. I will be keeping this one in my recipe box for that go to soup when the cold months hit. Followed recipe to exact and cooked it in the slow cooker. smelled delish and tasted even better...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2014

      Yum! This was very enjoyable. Filling and flavorful. Thanks for sharing! Culinary Quest '14

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2014

      Delicious!! This soup is absolutely yummy. It's easy to make and has big, big flavor. I used an extra cup of liquid because I couldn't help add more noodles. This soup is a hit! Thank you. Made for the Italy round of Culinary Quest - International Agents of Quest

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2014

      So good and super easy! The i added 4 stalks of celery but I think I could've used more. I also used 2 cups of pasta. The kids loved it! Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2014

      I made this tonight for my family. My 11 year old daughter is very picky, especially when it comes to textures, but she LOVED this! She even said the beans (which she didn't want) were good! My 8 year old son said this recipe deserves 20 stars! The only change I made was using 1/2 tsp of the red pepper flakes vs 1-2tsp, otherwise I followed it to the letter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

    • on December 11, 2012

      Wonderful on a chilly evening! Everyone in the family went back for more. I used a can of stewed tomatoes, 1 can of kidney beans and 1 can of cannelini and added 2 cups of chopped kale and an extra cup of chicken broth with the pasta. Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      I tried to stick to the recipe, but I only had 1/2 pound of sausage and only dried parsley. I used 1/2 chicken broth and 1/2 vegetable broth. Also, to make up for the lack of sausage, I used dried tortellini, which I pre-cooked. The end result was wonderful in spite of all the substitutions. I'm replacing my old recipe for pasta e fagioli with this one. It is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      This is delicious; used about 3/4 lb. of bulk sausage that I had from the local butcher, and fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Used orechetti (little pigs ears) pasta which I cooked in the soup. My family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2012

    • on April 24, 2012

      This was absolutely delicious! Everyone loved it. My 6 year old grandson said, "Nana, this is the most "delightful" soup that I have ever eaten!" (Now, that is a five star compliment) I will be making this quite often. Thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      My kids love it. They call it my famous italian soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      This recipe hit the spot! It is spicy (but not too much, start with one teaspoon of red pepper flakes) and the perfect consistency to make it a meal. To go along with it, I baked a loaf of foccaia bread from frozen pizza dough. Perfect! My family loved it and asked me to make it again three days later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pasta E Fagioli (Italian soup) with Italian Sausage

    Serving Size: 1 (195 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 561.1
     
    Calories from Fat 316
    56%
    Total Fat 35.1 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 11.5 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 64.6 mg
    21%
    Sodium 1522.4 mg
    63%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 26.8 g
    53%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    cannellini beans

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites