19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved it. Needed a quick dinner on a cold day and this was just right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 January 07, 2011

This was delicious!! There was a huge sale on sweet sausage so I was just trying to find recipes to use it up. I think this will now become a regular in our dinner rotation! The only complaint from people was that they wished there was a more broth (the sausage adds such a nice flavor to the broth!). Thank you!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Funfetti August 06, 2009

Delicious soup! As a previous reviewer, I used vegetarian Italian sausages as well as whole wheat bow tie pasta. I followed the recipe as written. DD and I both thought that next time I should add some veggies to this excellent soup. Made for Aus/NZ RECIPE SWAP #21

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario October 14, 2008

This was a really tasty, warming soup. I used veggie sausages, and used sweet chilli sauce instead of Worcestershire sauce but apart from that I followed the recipe. Very tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitzy November 07, 2007

Even though it's 90+ degrees outside today, I made a pot of this *excellent* soup. I froze half of it without the pasta (will add when I reheat) and the other half is tonight's dinner. As did other reviewers, I used chicken stock - 4 cups to 2 cups of water -omitting the bouillon cubes and salt. We don't care for cooked bell peppers so I left them out. Blended with the flavors of the sausage, the seasonings are spot on. Thanks for posting your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SusieQusie September 28, 2007

This was great! I added chickpeas to it too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momof2pugz September 26, 2007

This is very fast to put together since the pasta cooks right in the soup. The down side to that is that the pasta tends to absorb much of the broth as it cooks. One way to get around that is to cook the pasta separately. Then, when serving the soup, put the pasta in the bowl first and add the soup on top of it. Another recommendation I have is to hold off on the salt until you taste it. My sweet Italian sausage was salty enough so I didn't need the extra salt in the soup. Overall, a very good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon April 22, 2007

It's been raining all day and this soup hit the spot(with Baked Grill Cheese192896) for our dinner tonight. I didn't use onions or green peppers but added more garlic. I used two cartons of low sodium chicken broth instead of the boullion with the water(8cups).The sweet italian sausage with the spices listed made a tasty, delicious soup.This was easy to make and everyone loved it. thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn:) April 15, 2007

Great soup, and so easy! I used Italian Turkey sausages, so it was lower in fat. Just the right amount of seasonings! I added a diced carrot, also. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey April 15, 2007

Excellent soup that is very flavorful and VERY quick to make. I was skeptical about the pasta cooking right in the soup, but the starch from the pasta gave the soup more body, which was quite nice. The next time, I might use a smaller pasta because the bowties really take up the whole soup spoon! Other than that, no changes. This is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Diva April 12, 2007
Pasta and Sausage Soup