14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! This was really easy to make and had an excellent flavor. I would definitely make this one again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheresaL September 15, 2002

I loved this dish, the only changes i made was to use chicken stock instead of the wine (i don't like wine so it is never in the house), and i poured out all but 1 tb of bacon grease. i really thought it was wonderful. my 2 year old son didn't like it at all, and my husband thought it was good but he likes a more meaty dinner. oh well while my son didn't eat it for dinner, the next day he ate almost half of the left overs cold for lunch, go figure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A.S.K. October 19, 2009

Great recipe, but I made some changes. I did put the water in, but it made the sauce too thin. I added about 1/4-1/3 cup of heavy cream and a butter/flour mixture to thicken the sauce. Next time, I will not add the water, but will add the cream, and that should be thick enough. Also had some fresh basil on hand, which I added at the end. Parmesan is a must too! My husband went crazy over this and I ate way more than I should have!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marcy R November 25, 2008

This was absolutely delicious - possibly the best plate of pasta I've had in a while! I used pancetta rather than bacon, and as I didn't have any chilli flakes, I went with chilli powder, but oh my, was it amazing!! My husband and I both loved it and I will no doubt make it again very soon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melle_escaton August 05, 2008

This sauce is good with chicken and rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan from Chicago October 28, 2007

Wonderful! Simple quick easy and fresh. A small handful of chopped basil added a sunny flavor to the sauce and some color too. I simmered this uncovered to make the taste a little more dense and it was delicious. Freshly grated parmesean topped off this light sauce beautifully- thanks for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
handbright February 23, 2007

What did I do wrong? All the glowing reviews, but mine came out thin and flavorless and I followed the recipe to a tee. I was able to salvage it with some tomato paste, chicken stock, salt and pepper. I can't figure out what I did that made this not come out. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizP July 30, 2006

Excellent. I used pancetta and the traditional Bucatini pasta. I added a few torn basil leaves at the end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Phil Franco July 21, 2006

Great Recipe. I sometimes like to use either pancetta or guanciale instead of normal bacon, but either works well. In addition, you can use a nice red instead of the white wine for a different flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boogerino May 18, 2005

Quick, simple sauce with lots of flavor. My kids loved it too. You definately need to serve it with fresh grated parmesan cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csham69 May 04, 2005
Pasta Amatriciana