13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really a very good recipe. I only needed to use three matzah boards rather than the six called for in the recipe in order to fully line my cookie sheet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Woodwindist April 08, 2012

Holy good matzah candy, Batman! This is SOOO awesome. I made this as one of the desserts to bring to my mom's tomorrow, and my family will be lucky if there is any left to arrive with me! I'm just kidding....this recipe makes a TON. So, here is what I did: I used mini chocolate chips, brown sugar, and I also added 1/4 teaspoon of salt to the brown sugar and butter mixture, all on the suggestions of other reviewers. Since the recipe directions don't specify, I *simmered* the brown sugar and butter on medium-low heat for about 5 minutes, until it was a caramel color and bubbly (I have never caramelized anything on the stove before this, so I wanted to pass that on). I also used a "custom mix" (that means I shook it around in a tupperware) of finely chopped pecans and almonds, instead of walnuts. When I was done making the candy, I popped it in the freezer for about 15 minutes, and then it was easy to break apart. I forgot to grease the foil (probably because I was SO excited to make this), but it was still not bad to carefully lift off. Greasing would be good, though. I was going to try Skor bits, but I'm glad I didn't, because those would have been TOO sweet, and this is a sweet treat! Thanks SO much for posting this - I get tired of ginormous matzah PB&J's. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 April 10, 2009

oh what a mess! I halved the recipe and what I had ended up looked nothing like that picture over there, I've got a whole bunch of pieces of half carmilized/half burnt pieces of matza where the chocolate wouldn't spread. Total disaster. The only reason it gets 2 stars is because I still ate it and I assume it would be good if only I can figure out what I did wrong. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel April 23, 2008

Fantastic!! This is an amazing way to use matzah that I'm sure I will be doing again before Passover is over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angiepangie April 21, 2008

I made this as one of several desserts to take to Pesach dinner last night, and this was clearly the biggest hit. The two cakes I made (following recipes in a Jewish cookbook I have) weren't very tasty, IMHO. But this matzo candy rocked! I made 2 batches, one with nuts, and one with Skor/brickle bits, and the latter were the best by far. I used margarine to avoid the dairy and everything was great -- my Israeli friends raved about it and insisted they would take the recipe with them back home when they returned! As a goy, I took it as a nice compliment!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jakey Bakey April 20, 2008

I loved it! The margarine started to separate towards the end though

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrsspeevs January 10, 2008

I used this recipe last Passover and everyone is requesting it this Passover. It was an excellent way to end the huge meal. I used pecans instead of walnuts. It was easy to make and stayed a long time in the refrigerator.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkauf March 18, 2007

A crowd pleaser at seders. I make something like this, but use almonds instead of walnuts, and farfel (just being lazy), but no added sugar. Melt butter, toast almonds, add chocolate, melt, stir in farfel. Put by tablespoonsful on parchment paper and chill until firm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
korm April 14, 2006

This is very good and sweet. I had something like back in Dec. but I like the way this tastes better. I added some butterscotch chips and used pecans and almonds cause I don't like walnuts. I also couldn't really break it a part but it was very easy to cut into pieces. I taking some of it into work cause me and Avi will never be able to finish it. I am already planning to make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AloveB April 25, 2005

delicious! I make this every year for passover- and gets loads of compliments. I use parchment paper to line my baking sheets instead of foil. The tought of someone giving this in their Xmas cookie baskets makes me smile ;>

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MSMD310 December 23, 2004
Passover Chocolate Matzah Candy