17 Reviews

Really delicious--with an incredible flavor and texture!! My DH and I absolutely loved this! I scaled the servings down to 3, replaced the margarine with a 50-50 combination of butter and olive oil, and processed everything in the blender (which was a bit of a challenge, but we don't have a food processor). Perfect! I've been searching for great vegetarian "meat" recipes, and this is one of the best--I look forward to making it again! Thanks so much for sharing it, Chef Dudo!! (Tagged, made, and reviewed for Healthy Choices ABC Game.)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
So Cal Gal March 09, 2010

If allowed I would give this more than five stars - it is better than the year-round recipe I have been using that calls for canned peas. This is going in my permanent Passover Recipe file! Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
halst34 March 02, 2010

Excellent! Easy and will make a really good accompaniment to egg matzos on Shabbat. I also browned the onions and mushrooms until the onions were caramelized in olive oil.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
basya April 18, 2008

Made this for a Shabbat lunch of 60 people and it was a hit. I used olive oil instead of margerine. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flower #2 March 24, 2008

Wonderful alternative to chopped liver. I brought this to a vegetarian friend's seder and it was enjoyed by all, including the non vegetarians. It is lighter tasting than the "real" thing but is satisfying, with a great texture. Good stuff!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellen S. April 04, 2007

This is excellent. I made a variant for my mother's Passover seder and it got rave reviews. I used a little more mushrooms and walnuts than listed here, and I used sweet red onions. I also sauteed the mushrooms and onions in olive oil. The mushrooms sweated off a good deal of liquid, which I drained before mixing in with the other ingredients. It comes very close to simulating the taste of my mom's and grandma's chopped chicken liver (they always used lots of eggs and onions) and is much more healthful, plus suitable for the vegetarians. There were 2 plates on the table, and my dad thought one of them was the real thing. ;-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Kozy April 03, 2007

When the supermarket was out of veggie chopped liver yesterday, I almost lost it. This recipe is wonderful, and better than anything I've bought. I carmelized the onions with a little balsamic and sugar, and then followed the rest. Really really easy too!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiNMike April 13, 2006

Really liked the taste and the texture, but did think it was a bit dry. Perhaps browning the onions and mushrooms first or adding a bit more oil would help, but overall very good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pielet April 01, 2013

This recipe is fabulous! It really helped me get through passover this year, and was a big hit with our guests. I tried it with a combination of pecans and walnuts, and worked well. I plan on making it all year round!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ComMama2 April 04, 2010

This recipe is delicious and very popular with my family. I make it whenever I can.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lgk00 March 06, 2010
Passover and All Year Vegetarian Chopped Liver ( Mushrooms )