23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good suggestion, I guess it would work and taste the same. I guess the colorful little sprinkle of dressing mix is just part of the presentation of the appetizer. Thanks!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook February 27, 2002

Haven't tried yet but why not mix the Italian salad dressing mix with the cream cheese first, then spread on rye and top with cucumber? Just a thought/

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twomommy February 25, 2002

I would suggest mixing the entire package of seasoning mix into the cream cheese before spreading on the bread. I've been making them that way for years and they are delicious and flavorful.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pomtini December 09, 2009

Took these to a Christmas party yesterday and they were the first appetizer to disappear!! Everyone loved them. I also mixed the dressing in with the Philly (and I used 1/3 reduced fat and low sodium dressing) and then sprinkled a bit of paprika on top for the red/green color. Pretty AND tasty! I will definitely make these again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
campergramma December 19, 2010

I felt like these could be more flavorful, but they went over well at a party I hosted. I would maybe try a flavored cream cheese in addition to sprinkling with the Italian dressing--or perhaps mixing the dressing with the cream cheese, and then sprinkling with some other colorful herb. Good quick appetizer though, I will make again with variations. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucid501 November 06, 2007

Delightful little appetizers, or even nice as a light lunch. They are so quick to make and refreshing to eat. I used English cucumbers and left the peel on---I thought it added some nice color and contrast. My party ryes were square, not round, and I am too lazy to cut them into rounds.:) Actually, I think the square bread/round cucumber combo makes a nice presention. Thanks for posting the recipe--great one to have around for impromptu summer parties and unexpected guests.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ June 25, 2005

I have to give 5 stars because they were a HUGE hit at my Boxing Day Party. They were a bit fiddly to put together. I used a long baguette that I had sliced at the bakery because I couldn't find the party rye rounds. I also mixed the dressing with the cream cheese. Also, my friend tried making this and used light cream cheese and she said it didn't turn out nearly as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy17 February 18, 2011

These were pretty good. Next time I will mix the dressing into the cream cheese. We didn't like the feel of the mix in our mouths. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Moon January 08, 2011

They weren't bad but I wont be making them again. It didn't seem to be a favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nclpalacios January 03, 2011

Took these to a Holiday Appetizer/Ornament exchange Party. I did half a tray with Triscuits and half with rye and the Triscuits half was GONE early. Everyone was raving that they looked so "cooking magazine" and festive. Little did they know it only took about 10 minutes!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lacywilliams December 21, 2010
Party Ryes