20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were delicious! I did saute the chopped mushrooms first just a little bit( I thought it would give a bit more flavor). One question, where is the parsley? I added about 1/2 cup chopped parsley to the mix. My whole family and a guest loved these and asked for more.Thanks! [Editor's Note: the recipe was edited because of this review 10/15/02]

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 October 05, 2002

I made this for our family which includes a vegetarian daughter. This was a big hit for all! I omitted the jalapeno and added chopped garlic instead in case the heat was too for the rest of the family. I have already copied this into my tried and true recipes. Next time I thought I might add feta as well. Thanks for the posting

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
phantambantam September 20, 2008

Definitely going in the "good enough for company" cookbook. I adored this recipe! Served it with garlic mayo and it was perfect. They look like burgers, so if you want to be a little fancier, try making little medallions or changing the shape. But no matter what you do, they're great and you're gonna luv 'em!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook August 31, 2010

These were great. Being vegetarians, this was right up our alley. I added some of my own seasonings (as always). I loved them and so did the fam. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amie atwood August 26, 2007

Great recipe!Made without peppers&parsley.Will add them next time. But as they were fantastic,thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lin1 January 29, 2004

Great new way to serve mushrooms! I didn't think the patties would hold together, but they looked perfect. We enjoyed these alone, not as a sandwich.I want to try them with other add-ins. I'm thinking all kinds of things, spinach, different kinds of chopped olives, chopped hard-boiled eggs, fresh herbs all kinds of stuff and use them as a meat substitute for meatball sandwiches. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 11, 2013

We liked these a bunch, and will definitely make again! The first time, I added cooked lentils, and a different set of seasonings, and made mini-patties, topped with cheese and tucked them into teeny pita breads. Served with chipotle mayo - basically mini-sliders at a veg. potluck. They were the first thing to disappear!<br/><br/>Last night, I went with Italian seasonings, cooked the onions and 'shrooms first, and added some shredded mozzarella, and topped with provelone - delish!<br/><br/>I do know that I preferred them with extra seasoning, and without my lentil addition. However, I am not sure if cooking them first improved them or not - the gorgeous photo was from a chef that precooked, so that's why I tried. And, next time, I might try 2 eggs and less flour, and see if it is mushroomier.<br/><br/>But, this is a great recipe, and everyone liked it a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorie's Lori July 04, 2013

My family isn't totally vegetarian, but we are making an effort to eat less meat these days. These veggie patties are one of the best I've tried! Just because I like them, I added some cooked lentils to the mixture. I think lentils approximate the texture of ground beef pretty well, so I like to use them in veggie patties. This recipe will go into our regular rotation...thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carseatcrazy June 16, 2011

These are 'okay', somewhat bland when made as written and certainly not very pretty on the plate - not company worthy in that sense. I too served these with garlic aioli

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos October 30, 2010

Can I give this 6 stars? This was great. The one big change I made was to replace the flour & bread crumbs with ground almonds for DH on a low carb diet. The batter was a little wet, but it worked really well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeri Roth Lande June 10, 2010
Parslied Mushroom Patties