19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thins was incredibly delicious! It was so simple. I even used extra lean beef and it was so juicy and tasty. Served over mashed potatoes with buttered peas and got rave reviews from everyone.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
quickerworksforme May 15, 2013

This dish was very flavourful and easy to make. The gravy is simple and a nice addition to the steaks. I used a bouillon cube and hot water to make the stock, instead of brandy and the substitution worked just fine! I will definitely be adding this recipe into my rotation of meals -can't wait to enjoy it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buttertummy February 11, 2012

This was terrific! Even though I messed it up- put the peppercorns into the meat before I realized they were supposed to coat the patties. It still had an awesome flavor! I was out of fresh parsley, so I subbed parsley flakes with good results. Fresh is probably even better! The sauce is divine- I tripled it, thanks to reviewers' suggestions. We will absolutely be having this often. Thanks, Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kizzikate June 08, 2010

These were a hit! I made them last night for dinner and everyone loved them, even after I messed up. (Overcooked the steaks, kept over-reducing the broth, and had to use half-and-half instead of heavy cream, ended up curdling it and needing to strain it.) They wouldn't be held down! And amazing! I started with a pound of lean ground beef we already had in the fridge, and ended up with three patties. The buttered carrots complimented the dish wonderfully and with a salad, it was wonderfully filling. This is now in rotation, perhaps once I get it down, I'll take pictures. ^.^*

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dirty.sneakers May 10, 2010

can't believe something with so few ingredients and so easy to prepare could be so good. i added a dash of cayanne to the patties. looks and tastes like it took more time to make and i believe i'll use the sauce on other things. thanks for a good meal.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~ara January 20, 2010

I love this recipe because not only is it quick/easy to make, its got so much flavor. Its absolutely delicious. I think the cream sauce is a must for this. I did add just a little worsceshire to my meat. This will definitely be a repeat meal for my house!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lyteyz September 01, 2009

Excellent! Fast and easy to prepare. I made it without the cream sauce and it was delicious. I grated Asiago cheese over the finished steak right before serving.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linusware August 11, 2009

These were wonderful!! I made as is apart from doing a mix of beef broth and brandy and doubling the sauce (glad I did). I also had some mushrooms to use up so I added those as well to the sauce. The sauce was absolutely delicious. I loved not only the garlic flavour in the patties, but also pressing the peppercorns onto the outside gave a wonderful taste with every bite. The sauce would also be delicious served over steak, but what a fab way to make a gourmet meal on a budget, by using ground beef. Even cheaper for me as it was on half price at the store, bonus. We ate extremely well on 6 francs as I had all the other ingredients on hand. I served ours over mashed potato with spinach and carrots, yum, yum. A great recipe Sharon!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef May 04, 2009

Oh the virtues of parsley and blackpepper! Proof that gound beef can be transformed into gourmet-fare boasting a most delicious brandy cream sauce. Made for Aprils Event: Cooking with Spirits

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng April 22, 2009

Delicious!! After reading the reviews I decided to double the sauce, and realized it still wasn't enough. I made it with the brandy, and substituted milk (was out of cream). Worked well although I had to add a little bit of cornstarch. Really good taste, I served with rice. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Skies April 11, 2009
Parsley Peppercorn Ground Beef Steaks