166 Reviews

I made this wonderful recipe for my husband tonight and he said they have to be the best pork chops he has ever tasted! I did everything exactly like the recipe called for and used Progresso Italian Style Bread Crumbs. Thanks for the recipe, Donna! I will definitly make this many, many more times!

48 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev March 26, 2002

I love sage with pork. The sage, parmesan, and herb breadcrumb breading was perfect. I didn't have a lemon so I sprinkled lemon juice on the pork before baking. It's great to make a dish that can stand alone without needing a sauce or gravy to flavor it. Yummy!

42 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac March 02, 2002

Great breaded chops! I cut the recipe in 1/2 and only made 2 large chops. I used dried lemon peel rather than the grated rind of lemon, same measurement.

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook August 02, 2002

My husband asked if this was a 'zaar recipe, when I told him it was, he said give it 10 stars!! The pork was lovely and tender, and the sage flavouring was wonderful. Love the crispiness of the egg, and cheese/crumb coating too. Thanks for posting. =)

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* May 02, 2002

Yes, sage and pork really goes together..and loved the crusty topping..but found pork needs to be cooked slowly to be tender..after browning the chops on both sides..I placed in oven at 325 degrees F and cooked for 40 minutes..delightful !

22 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patricia Manson November 05, 2002

OMGosh this was good! I made it this evening. The slight browning held all the coating on wonderfully. Then baked for 20 minutes....they were soft juicy and a KEEPER. My Husband was VERY impressed. I would like to say however.... all the crumbs and stuff seems to be a waste. I used the same recipie to a "T" . I used 6 butterfly chops...boneless...and I still had about a cup of crumbs left. I had enough egg and enough flour for all 6....maybe the recipie should say for 6 chops. (mine were large butterfly ones too). I made some potatoes in a cassarole dish with cheese and sprinkled some of the crumbs on top to use up some of it...but I still threw most of the rest away. I think it would work perfect if it were for "6" instead of "4". But other than that... GREAT. The slight lemon taste from the grated peel was PERFECT. I used the Garlic Herb crumbs like you called for... Spectacular!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Theresa in Chi-town November 11, 2002

These are the tastiest pork chops ever!! I used Italian flavored bread crumbs and didn't change a thing. The sage Parmesan combo is very flavorful. Served with boiled new potatoes and lemon broccoli. Thank you Donna! This is definitely a keeper!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz November 03, 2002

Wow Donna, these chops were incredible. My family and I loved the sage-parmesan coating. The meat was nice and tender too. We all agreed. Worth 5-stars. Thanks so much.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Blue Eyes October 26, 2002

Okay - not as good as it sounds

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maddiesmom May 18, 2002

Terrific recipe Donna. Definitely a keeper. Couldn't find Progresso crumbs so I added some garlic powder and dried parsley to dried breadcrumbs. For easy clean up, I put the seasoned flour into a Ziploc plastic bag and dredged the chops one by one by shaking them in the bag. I used 6 pork chops and used up the leftover egg and crumbs by double dipping the chops into the egg mixture and crumbs (my husband likes a thick coating on pork chops). Since I don't have an ovenproof skillet, I transferred the chops to a shallow baking dish in a single layer and baked them for about 30-40 minutes until they were fork tender. Thanks Donna for a new family favorite recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
foodtvfan April 13, 2003
Parmesan Sage Pork Chops