28 Reviews

Came out perfect! Tasted divine but can't go wrong with these ingredients. Appreciate the ease of oven recipes and will be adding to my Oven 375 cookbook. Thanks Engrossed for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal October 09, 2011

This rice is wonderful and I will be making it again! I didnt have fresh herbs so I used dried and sprinkled them over the rice. Placed lemon slices over that and poured the boiling broth and onion mixture over everything. Baked for one hour and the rice was perfect, just a bit of bite to it. Loved the lemon flavor with the herbs, perfect combination. Made and reviewed for Kittencal's Recipe Tag game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 08, 2010

Nice change from regular brown rice. For a change, I did the recipe exactly as written, however, I may have left the rice in the oven a couple minutes longer than stated. The broth was cooked off & some rice was abit crunchy. My fault, I'll watch the dish more closely next time or I'll add abit more broth. Great dish, thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 May 19, 2009

Excellent as is! I also added about a cup of frozen corn and about a half cup of diced water chestnuts. I just sprinkled them over the rice before I poured the boiling water over it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sirbrando October 30, 2015

This was good, but our rice didn't quite finish cooking and had a bit of "crunch" to it. This could be because the recipe was wrong, we need more broth because of our altitude, or our rice was old. Regardless, I'll use 3c of broth next time. It was also a bit lemony so we'll cut down to 1-2T less lemon juice than the 1/4c we used tonight. We also used dried herbs and still found it good, although it'd probably be best with fresh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy B. September 16, 2015

I was looking for a recipe that would finially get my DH to eat brown rice. I haven't had much luck w/ that until now. This is the way to prepare brown rice! Light & fluffy. I did cut down on the lemon zest & juice, & I added a clove of grated garlic to the onions. Thanks for the recipe. Now, DH has no excuses!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelley52 January 16, 2013

Rice dish was good, a little too lemony with a full lemon and zest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlw19803 June 12, 2012

Great Baked Rice dish. Substituted bottled lemon juice and dried herbs for fresh - but was still delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ukichix May 15, 2012

Mmmm!!! This is a delicious way to prepare brown rice. I was all set for bland and healthy as I was switching from white, and Wow! This is great! I was afraid the lemon would overpower, but went heavy on it like you said using a fresh-squeezed lemon and it made the dish. Thank you for sharing! Update: I used this recipe as a guide to dress up some leftover white/brown rice (blend) for dinner tonight. It was a huge hit with me & the hubs! I just tossed in a couple handfuls of fresh parmesan, a few splashes of lemon juice, the parsley, basil and salt, and heated in the microwave. What a wonderful flavor combination. My son liked it, but asked me to leave out the lemon next time and add at the table since he didn't like that flavor. Easy modification!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naomi Up North January 10, 2012

Very good, but next time i will double the amount of Parmesan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justtoleavereview October 21, 2011
Parmesan Lemon Herb Brown Rice