26 Reviews

Came out perfect! Tasted divine but can't go wrong with these ingredients. Appreciate the ease of oven recipes and will be adding to my Oven 375 cookbook. Thanks Engrossed for posting.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal October 09, 2011

This rice is wonderful and I will be making it again! I didnt have fresh herbs so I used dried and sprinkled them over the rice. Placed lemon slices over that and poured the boiling broth and onion mixture over everything. Baked for one hour and the rice was perfect, just a bit of bite to it. Loved the lemon flavor with the herbs, perfect combination. Made and reviewed for Kittencal's Recipe Tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 08, 2010

Nice change from regular brown rice. For a change, I did the recipe exactly as written, however, I may have left the rice in the oven a couple minutes longer than stated. The broth was cooked off & some rice was abit crunchy. My fault, I'll watch the dish more closely next time or I'll add abit more broth. Great dish, thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 May 19, 2009

I was looking for a recipe that would finially get my DH to eat brown rice. I haven't had much luck w/ that until now. This is the way to prepare brown rice! Light & fluffy. I did cut down on the lemon zest & juice, & I added a clove of grated garlic to the onions. Thanks for the recipe. Now, DH has no excuses!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelley52 January 16, 2013

Rice dish was good, a little too lemony with a full lemon and zest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlw19803 June 12, 2012

Great Baked Rice dish. Substituted bottled lemon juice and dried herbs for fresh - but was still delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ukichix May 15, 2012

Mmmm!!! This is a delicious way to prepare brown rice. I was all set for bland and healthy as I was switching from white, and Wow! This is great! I was afraid the lemon would overpower, but went heavy on it like you said using a fresh-squeezed lemon and it made the dish. Thank you for sharing! Update: I used this recipe as a guide to dress up some leftover white/brown rice (blend) for dinner tonight. It was a huge hit with me & the hubs! I just tossed in a couple handfuls of fresh parmesan, a few splashes of lemon juice, the parsley, basil and salt, and heated in the microwave. What a wonderful flavor combination. My son liked it, but asked me to leave out the lemon next time and add at the table since he didn't like that flavor. Easy modification!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Naomi Up North January 10, 2012

Very good, but next time i will double the amount of Parmesan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justtoleavereview October 21, 2011

Amazing! The texture of the rice was perfect, the parmesan added a wonderful creaminess, and the lemon was the perfect finish. I can't wait to make this again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linzosaurus April 15, 2010

I have been looking for a good rice recipe for a long time. This is wonderful, and really easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BLeB July 24, 2009
Parmesan Lemon Herb Brown Rice