27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This chicken was excellent! I added more cayenne to make it a bit hotter. Very good!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobchile February 12, 2003

I only made the chicken without the sauce this time, but I still think this is a 5 star recipe. Very tender and tasty. I made 8 chicken breast halves, so doubled the recipe for the crust. This wouldn't have been necessary -- I ended up throwing away a lot of the egg mixture and the crumb mixture.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucy k. June 08, 2003

I have made this chicken without the sauce before and it is OUTSTANDING! A beautiful lemon flavour and a crispy coating without a lot of fat! Today, I decided to add the sauce. I couldn't quite justify all the fat, so I used half-and-half instead of cream and didn't add the extra butter. I reduced by simmering and then thickened with cornstarch. It was an extra layer of flavour which added to the already wonderful chicken. For a really special occasion, I might make the sauce as posted, and it would be wonderful, I'm sure. However, the lower-fat version was very delicious. Thank you, Miss Gracie, for a chicken recipe that I will use again and again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paja April 01, 2003

Yum yummy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
horseplay August 27, 2003

Very good chicken, and I really liked the sauce. My daughter passed on the suace, but my husband tried some and liked it too. I just have one question - in the sauce ingredients, lemon is not listed, but then you are supposed to add the lemon. I just squeezed in the other half of the lemon from the egg mixture - hope that was right. I also think this chicken could stand alone without the sauce - very,very tasty. I served it with long-grain and wild rice and frozen sweet corn. A real keeper! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEP MEP March 04, 2003

Made this last night. WOW! This is a seriously good recipe. The lemon and sage in the sauce are just enough to add that extra hidden taste and the chicken crust was awesome. I would rate it 6 stars if I could!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vimtu4984 December 20, 2013

The recipe seemed to call for a lot of chicken, so I only used 2 chicken breast halves, cut horizontally and pounded to 1/2". That seemed about right. I couldn't get the sauce to reduce, it must be me, I never seem to be able to. Nevertheless, this chicken was awesome and I will definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pansregnig November 06, 2011

We loved this. So tasty. Because it is so hot, I choice to skip the roasting and just fried in a little oil and it turned out great. I didn't have the heavy cream so my sauce wasn't as thick as I'm sure it was suppose to be. I didn't have any shallots so just used garlic which is preferred by us. The sauce was just delicious anyway. I'll make this one again. Thanks for sharing. Made for All You Can Cook Buffet Special Event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ July 29, 2011

Loved it so and just about died. Yeah, I think I died and went to heaven. Did I say that already? I think so, but I like to repeat myself for emphasis. I know, I know, it's all fun and games until somebody really dies. Made for All You Can Cook Buffet--Special Event Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng July 22, 2011

Like everyone says on here, this recipe is de-lish! I made both the chicken and the sauce served over egg noodles and brussel sprouts as a side. Next time I will double the sauce. I also added 1 tsp garlic powder and used canned plain bread crumbs for the breading mixture but otherwise followed everything exactly. One thing that may be helpful to know is that unless you are using very large pieces of chicken breasts or doubling the amount of chicken called for, you will end up throwing away lots of the breading mixture which I just hate to do. Same thing applies to the egg mixture. As I was pressed to quickly get dinner on the table I also did not "set" the crust on the chicken. I'll make sure to do that next time I make this divine chicken so as to judge whether or not it's even worth the extra hassle. Thanks Miss Gracie for posting this wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shortcakes November 04, 2010
Parmesan Crusted Chicken