47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I think I must be one of the states that gets the Arrowtooth flounder! It did get mushy and too fishy tasting. I'm giving it 4 stars because I know this would be great on another type of fish. The only change I will make next time, is to cut the butter in half (personal prefrence!) and add a little more hot sauce. Thnx for posting, Julesong, and I will make this again! Made for Comfort Cafe Summer 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter July 10, 2009

If I could rate this higher I would!!! I JUST got done eating it and had to write this now (as I have a tendency to put things off). It was A-MAZ-ING!! The mixture of the tangy mayo, spicy hot sauce and tart lemon, and parm cheese was not something I was to sure of but I was more than pleasantly surprised! My only changes were that I didn't use any butter (only because I was out) and I only had yellow onions (so I sauteed them for a little while before adding to the cheesy delicious mix). I used Hellmann's with extra virgin olive oil mayonnaise and Louisiana Roasted pepper hot sauce. It was so good like that I think I will not add butter when I make again.. because I will be making again.. and will probably stick to the same onions because I rarely buy green onions. If you have reservations about trying this, don't! Thanks for posting Julesong!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Leasa May 29, 2009

I loved the flavor of this, unfortunately my flounder was too flaky and I had a hard time getting it to stay together to easily take off the pan. It still tasted excellent, though. I served mine over white rice with steamed broccoli. I left out onions due to DH's allergies, and didn't add hot sauce, but I did add minced garlic, yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Tinkerbell May 12, 2009

Tastes great. And couldn't be easier! I threw it together in about 5 minutes. Total of less than 15 minutes with cooking time. I left out the green onions and hot sauce (my kids wouldn't have touched it with those) and added a little seasoned salt and garlic powder to the parmesan mixture. A big hit !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1028915 February 28, 2009

I made these last night and they were great, I did not use the hot sauce how ever I put a little hot pepper on it,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff Hixson October 26, 2008

Outstanding

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nyneuro October 05, 2008

We bought a lot of Flounder on sale, so decided to find a lot of new recipes. This was excellent. I freshly ground the Parmesan cheese, the fillets were tender and just done, the top nice and light golden brown. Thank you for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetiebarbara August 23, 2008

Absolutly fantastic! I served this with steamed asperigus and my 6 year-ole just loved it! That is the true test of any recipe. ;) Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rubygirl43 July 20, 2008

Like others, my flounder turned out mushy, but the cheese topping was absolutely delicious. I don't believe the mushiness was caused by overcooking so I got on the net to do some research. What I found out is the Arrowtooth flounder, the kind commonly found in west coast supermarkets, releases an enzyme into the flesh shortly after death which makes the fish mushy and basically inedible. East coast flounder doesn't have that enzyme. Arrowtooth flounder is found in waters from Mexico to Alaska, so if you live in the western states, chances are you're going to get mushy flounder. This is my second experiece with it. My recommendation is only use flounder that was flown in from the east coast or use another kind of fish. It's really a shame that supermarkets continue to sell something that's inedible when the fishing industry is well aware that Arrowtooth is not a good eating fish. Good luck.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goody2shz July 19, 2008
Parmesan Broiled Flounder