34 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've never had acorn squash before, so I was a little hesitant. However, this recipe really makes it good...even my husband enjoyed it. I wanted a starchy dish that was not mashed potato. I think that calories wise, they are similar. My husband did think that panko crumbs on top during the broiling stage would've added to the dish. I microwaved the squash for 1 min initially to soften it up a bit before removing the seeds. I also set the oven for 400, so it only took 35 min to bake.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilorchid82 November 24, 2011

I don't think I cut it up enough before adding the butter and cheese. I would make it again and try to do that better. It was pretty good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jagmichigan October 14, 2012

WOW about sums this one up! I've never thought of putting cheese on squash before until I saw this recipe! I wasn't even skeptical after reading all these wonderful reviews of this recipe, I KNEW it was going to be great! Made as directed, and wouldn't change a thing. This will be my now GO TO way to make acorn squash, from now on! Thanks for posting such a yummy recipe echo. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meekocu2 November 02, 2011

I love acorn squash but my husband doesn't like anything sweet so doesn't care for the usual preparation of it. I finally convinced him to try this and even he agreed, soooo good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JennT December 06, 2010

this was SO YUMMY!! my dad has only ever had acorn squash with brown sugar and he was a little untrusting when it came to putting cheese on it!! so i made half with the brown sugar like usual and half with this recipe... just in case. he only ate the cheese side and said that it was even better than the other!! great idea great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MAGGZ!! November 17, 2010

This is a really nice change to the way I usually prepare acorn squash with brown sugar...loved the savory taste and will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan January 25, 2014

The teen grumbles at every vegetable he gets served, even ones he doesn't mind. I was braced for it this time, but he actually LIKED it! I thought it was okay and would have given it a 4, but since he ate a whole half without complaining, I'm giving it the whole 5 stars. Yippee for getting a teenage boy to eat squash!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamere94 March 12, 2013

I liked this. I've gotten tired of sweet squash recipes. I cut the butter and cheese down so a half-squash serving was under 200 calories and very filling. I scraped mine all out and broiled it in a baking pan with panko crumbs on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jessamynwest February 02, 2013

My husband doesn't like sweet too much, so this savory squash dish was a hit in our house and very easy to prepare.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr.JenLeddy January 31, 2013
Parmesan Acorn Squash