Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Parmesan Acorn Squash Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Parmesan Acorn Squash

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2011

      I've never had acorn squash before, so I was a little hesitant. However, this recipe really makes it good...even my husband enjoyed it. I wanted a starchy dish that was not mashed potato. I think that calories wise, they are similar. My husband did think that panko crumbs on top during the broiling stage would've added to the dish. I microwaved the squash for 1 min initially to soften it up a bit before removing the seeds. I also set the oven for 400, so it only took 35 min to bake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      I don't think I cut it up enough before adding the butter and cheese. I would make it again and try to do that better. It was pretty good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      WOW about sums this one up! I've never thought of putting cheese on squash before until I saw this recipe! I wasn't even skeptical after reading all these wonderful reviews of this recipe, I KNEW it was going to be great! Made as directed, and wouldn't change a thing. This will be my now GO TO way to make acorn squash, from now on! Thanks for posting such a yummy recipe echo. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      I love acorn squash but my husband doesn't like anything sweet so doesn't care for the usual preparation of it. I finally convinced him to try this and even he agreed, soooo good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      this was SO YUMMY!! my dad has only ever had acorn squash with brown sugar and he was a little untrusting when it came to putting cheese on it!! so i made half with the brown sugar like usual and half with this recipe... just in case. he only ate the cheese side and said that it was even better than the other!! great idea great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2014

      This is a really nice change to the way I usually prepare acorn squash with brown sugar...loved the savory taste and will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      The teen grumbles at every vegetable he gets served, even ones he doesn't mind. I was braced for it this time, but he actually LIKED it! I thought it was okay and would have given it a 4, but since he ate a whole half without complaining, I'm giving it the whole 5 stars. Yippee for getting a teenage boy to eat squash!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      I liked this. I've gotten tired of sweet squash recipes. I cut the butter and cheese down so a half-squash serving was under 200 calories and very filling. I scraped mine all out and broiled it in a baking pan with panko crumbs on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      My husband doesn't like sweet too much, so this savory squash dish was a hit in our house and very easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2010

      Oh this is a keeper for sure!! I love acorn squash, but wanted a different type of acorn squash.. something less sweet.. more on the savory side.. this fits the bill for sure! Like other commented.. I did use more parmesan cheese (just a preference)...
      tonight I made this with oven baked pork chops
      sauteed spinach with garlic and lemon..
      this was very good.. a gotta try for sure!
      I have found yet another wonderful way to enjoy this squash.. thank u sooo much Echo for posting this..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      Just what I was looking for and very good! I usually put brown sugar on acorn squash but was wanting something that wasn't so sweet. This did the trick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      So simple, but still my favorite way to prepare acorn squash. I dont know if its possible to make it any yummier. I literally was craving this again after I made it the last time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      My husband really likes this recipe, I like it well enough but not something I'll crave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I love acorn squash and I prefer it made without sugar or sweet ingredients, so I knew I'd love this. I made this just as written and thought it was fantastic. Could be much easier, too. I could just eat this by itself for a snack. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      This was good, but I wasn't as impressed with the flavor as everyone else seems to be...it was ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2009

      Wow This is some good stuff! I cooked my squash in my convection oven for 40 minutes at 350 and then turned over for the broil. It was wonderful :) Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      If you think this sounds like an odd mix, DON'T! I almost didn't make this at all thinking acorn squash should be made sweet... I couldn't have been more wrong! Both myself and my DH took one bite and just were amazed at this flavor. Always on the hunt for new ways to prepare wholesome side dishes and this is a winner! Thanks !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      Very tasty and easy. I used shredded parmesan cheese and it worked fine. Had to cook 15 minutes longer than the recipe called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      This is a delicious recipe. I did use more parmesan and butter in this, although you wouldn't have to. Great recipe! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Parmesan Acorn Squash

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 150.5
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    41%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 18.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 104.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.5 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.9 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes