Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pareve Chocolate Sorbet Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pareve Chocolate Sorbet

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 15, 2011

      This is a wonderful treat. Very deep, intense chocolate flavor. I added 1/4 tsp of instant espresso powder and 1/4 tsp of ground cayenne pepper to jazz it up! It came out great and was very easy. I stirred every hour and a half or so and it came out smooth, creamy, and delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      I am a chocolate snob and this has my five-star seal of approval. Of note, if you are like me and appreciate the depth of dark chocolate, I recommend using dark chocolate cocoa powder. But, I was such a skeptic that cocoa powder and these simple ingredients could make such a delicious treat and wow, were my husband's and my tastebuds more than exhilirated. Of course you have to keep in mind that this is not ice cream, so it will not have the same thick, creamy texture, so if that is what you're looking for than this is not the recipe for you. However, if you want a lighter, yet potently chocolatey dessert that will kick any female chocolate craving- this is a grand slam!!! Also of note, I have a very high-quality blender/food emulsifier that made this instantly by using ice cubes instead of water and it eliminated the long 4.5 hr freeze time. Thank you for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      Oh. My. Goodness. I am speechless. Made it in my Cuisinart, added a couple teaspoons of instant coffee, and poured in a couple tablespoons of heavy cream as it started to blend. Next time I will sub some of the water with espresso instead of cheating with instant coffee. (Later Note: I tried this and it wasn't as good as just adding instant coffee! It changed the texture) This was a perfect end to homemade pasta and meatballs...and I tried it with coconut ice cream, too. Wow. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      This was alright, the chocolate was bitter, but that is expected with cocoa. Overall it wasn't terrible but I don't think we will be making it again. I wouldn't say its quite creamy, but I'm sure people who cannot have dairy would enjoy this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Excellent - I made for my daughter who is dairy-free. Enjoyed by the whole family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      I'm in the process of making this right now and I must say... so far it seems fantastic. I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of adding a healthy dose of cinnamon and two dashes of finely ground cayenne pepper (as I am WAY into that flavor profile). I was worried that it would be too thin but the mixture is actually surprisingly thick given it's essentially just cocoa powder and water. It's chilling right now and I can not wait to see how it freezes. At this stage I've rated it 4 stars as it's not yet finished, but I have no doubt that I will be updating to five once it's done!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      What a chocolatey taste. Everyone thought it was made with pure dark chocolate. i used an ice cream machine for this. Thanks for a great GF and LF recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      I followed it exactly and was left with a solid block of chocolate flavoured ice. It was also very bitter and way too dark.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      Wow, this is what heaven tastes like. The best sorbet EVER! Thanks so much for sharing this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      What a simple, sinful recipe!! It couldn't be any easier. When I first tasted it I thought it might need more sugar, but after a few spoonfuls it hit me and it's fine as is. Thanx!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Wow! I love dark chocolate and this recipe indulged that craving. I have added this one to my repertoire! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Intense is right! If this doesn't momentarily cure yoru chocolate cravings, nothing will. A thousand thank-you's for this one. I can see how this would complement a vanilla flavor or, as my intended use, with some wine and berries for Valentines day. A very elegant, sophisticated flavor that costs very little. A word of advice for dieters- I initially used strictly Splenda, which did not work at all, the Splenda taste was overpowering. However, I tried it again with 1/2 c. Splenda and 1/2 c. sugar and it turned out beautifully; just the right amount of everything. I also used the Hershey's Dark Cocoa powder and it was wonderful! I now offically have a reason to use my ice cream maker in the dead of winter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      This was really great! I actually did this a couple of months ago and I'm making it again tomorrow...I really loved that intense dark chocolate flavor !!! It's a keeper and it was worth trying it :D Julie C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I was a little worried about how this would turn out, but it was wonderful!!My whole family loved it, but you do definitely have to like dark chocolate. Very creamy considering there is no milk...just water. Wish I would have had some creamy vanilla ice cream to serve it with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2007

      This is so good. Very very dark tasting so not as much a hit with the kids as I had thought it would be. (I also didn't have any vanilla ice cream to temper it.) But this is much richer and fancier tasting than the simple ingredients would have you predict it would be. My pantry is almost empty but I had all the ingredients which was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      I've died and gone to chocolate heaven! It tastes like rich dark chocolate and is so easy to make. Wonderful served with vanilla icecream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      I used splenda instead of sugar, 15 packets. That drops the calories in this little confection to an amazing 30 per serving! This is definitely a keeper. It fixes my chocolate craving, with hardly any calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2006

      I did not like this at all the cocoa flavor was so intense, bitter sweet. I do think the measurements were wrong. Difintely will not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2006

      This makes up so easily and looks so appealing. Served with a very good French Vanilla and was hoping to use this for a special ice cream dessert. I rarely eat ice cream but have a lot of ice cream lovers here but they seem to prefer the chocolate made with milk and cream. For those who do non dairy I am sure this would be a perfect dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2006

      I love this sorbet, it's dairy free and it tastes this good?!? Unbelievable! Although I might add that you've got to LOVE that dark chocolate flavour in order to love this sorbet. Easy to make and satisfying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pareve Chocolate Sorbet

    Serving Size: 1 (103 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 114.0
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    88%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 18.7 g
    75%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites