21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful treat. Very deep, intense chocolate flavor. I added 1/4 tsp of instant espresso powder and 1/4 tsp of ground cayenne pepper to jazz it up! It came out great and was very easy. I stirred every hour and a half or so and it came out smooth, creamy, and delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarshmallowGuru April 15, 2011

I am a chocolate snob and this has my five-star seal of approval. Of note, if you are like me and appreciate the depth of dark chocolate, I recommend using dark chocolate cocoa powder. But, I was such a skeptic that cocoa powder and these simple ingredients could make such a delicious treat and wow, were my husband's and my tastebuds more than exhilirated. Of course you have to keep in mind that this is not ice cream, so it will not have the same thick, creamy texture, so if that is what you're looking for than this is not the recipe for you. However, if you want a lighter, yet potently chocolatey dessert that will kick any female chocolate craving- this is a grand slam!!! Also of note, I have a very high-quality blender/food emulsifier that made this instantly by using ice cubes instead of water and it eliminated the long 4.5 hr freeze time. Thank you for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drsmiley22 April 04, 2010

Oh. My. Goodness. I am speechless. Made it in my Cuisinart, added a couple teaspoons of instant coffee, and poured in a couple tablespoons of heavy cream as it started to blend. Next time I will sub some of the water with espresso instead of cheating with instant coffee. (Later Note: I tried this and it wasn't as good as just adding instant coffee! It changed the texture) This was a perfect end to homemade pasta and meatballs...and I tried it with coconut ice cream, too. Wow. Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little teapot January 29, 2009

This was alright, the chocolate was bitter, but that is expected with cocoa. Overall it wasn't terrible but I don't think we will be making it again. I wouldn't say its quite creamy, but I'm sure people who cannot have dairy would enjoy this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lg.mouriski April 25, 2010

Excellent - I made for my daughter who is dairy-free. Enjoyed by the whole family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine Robson January 26, 2010

I'm in the process of making this right now and I must say... so far it seems fantastic. I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of adding a healthy dose of cinnamon and two dashes of finely ground cayenne pepper (as I am WAY into that flavor profile). I was worried that it would be too thin but the mixture is actually surprisingly thick given it's essentially just cocoa powder and water. It's chilling right now and I can not wait to see how it freezes. At this stage I've rated it 4 stars as it's not yet finished, but I have no doubt that I will be updating to five once it's done!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Steph.K August 17, 2009

What a chocolatey taste. Everyone thought it was made with pure dark chocolate. i used an ice cream machine for this. Thanks for a great GF and LF recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wild Thyme Flour June 23, 2009

I followed it exactly and was left with a solid block of chocolate flavoured ice. It was also very bitter and way too dark.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spyrals December 06, 2008

Wow, this is what heaven tastes like. The best sorbet EVER! Thanks so much for sharing this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delsolarie September 22, 2008

What a simple, sinful recipe!! It couldn't be any easier. When I first tasted it I thought it might need more sugar, but after a few spoonfuls it hit me and it's fine as is. Thanx!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UPSgrrrL88 August 12, 2008
Pareve Chocolate Sorbet