31 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for Thanksgiving, but instead of decorating the top with pecans, I placed a layed of candied walnuts on top of the cream cheese layer before adding the pupkin layer. Very big hit!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sapowell December 14, 2009

This was an awesome combination of my two favorites. I did up the cream cheese to 12 oz and increased the sugar to 1/2 cup to adjust for the increase but otherwise followed the directions to a tee. My DS has given it the thumbs up and has begged for more last night and today. We had this for our Thanksgiving dinner.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiggrr October 08, 2007

Prepared this as one of the desserts for our Thanksgiving meal this year, DD prepared a pecan pie. Everyone loved this pie, what wonderful flavor and texture. Took other reviewers suggestions of leaving the cheesecake portion in the fridge for an extended period of time, don't know if it made a difference but the pie was beautiful. Prepared exactly as directed - will definitely be making this again in the future. Thank you CoolMonday for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gagoo November 23, 2012

Very good! I made as written and it turned out great! I recommend bringing the cream cheese to room temperature before beating in order to get it as smooth as possible. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetySJD December 28, 2008

This pie smelled absolutely lovely baking in the oven! The instructions were so easy to follow that a trained monkey could make this! I haven't tried this pie yet, but I did taste the fillings before they went into the pastry shell and they tasted marvellous (even without the nutmeg). The only thing wrong was that I did the same thing as the previous rating. I put the pie with the cream cheese mixture into the fridge for about 45 mins, but that wasn't long enough for it to set properly, so I tried to marble the top of the pie to no avail. However, it's the taste that counts, right?! Beautiful pie CoolMonday... Thanks for sharing! -Kryssy UPDATE: Everyone ate the pie in a few minutes and I got none :(. Goes to show that it not only smelled good, but tasted good too! Thanks again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krystal-Belle January 29, 2008

This was a huge hit at our family Thanksgiving. There was not a bite left. The flavors are absolutely excellent. What a treat.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ November 23, 2007

This was a very enjoyable pie. I think I do like it better than regular old pumpkin pie. I felt the pumpkin layer could have done with some more spices but this may have been a result of adding extra sugar. I doubled the amount in the cheese mix and added about 3 tbsp more to the pumpkin mix.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian_in_the_Bay November 22, 2007

I almost forgot to rate this. Easy and beautiful looking. I doubled the sugar in both the cheese cake and pumpkin layers and it was perfect. I don't like desserts that are very sweet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pipcat1 October 12, 2007

This was very good and simple to make. I admit that I panicked when I saw how thin the pumpkin layer was mixing so I added flour to thicken and extra nutmeg, cinnamon and some dark brown sugar. I will be making this again in the future. Great recipe and it does look beautiful when sliced.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CLuv October 01, 2007

This was easy, fast, eye-appealing and delicious! I used low-fat cream cheese. After placing the first layer in the refrigerator for 25 minutes I moved it to the freezer for 5 minutes to make sure it was firm. The pie looked beautiful and tasted wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dianne48 February 27, 2007
Paradise Pumpkin Pie