Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paprika Chicken With Sour Cream Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paprika Chicken With Sour Cream Gravy

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on November 21, 2002

      The verdict is in and we have a WINNER! This a great one dish meal you can have on the table in less than 30 minutes. I was out of cayenne, so I sustituted by using more hot paprika (half and half), and out of green onions, so I chopped a yellow onion and added a bit of chives for the color in the sauce. I could have licked the pot clean to get at all that gravy! The DH, and 2 coworkers raved! I am too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2003

      This chicken had just the right amount of spice and was so tender! I followed the directions exactly and would not change a thing. I served on top of white rice and my "picky" family loved it. This recipe is a definite "Keeper"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2002

      WOW!! So quick and easy to make. This was great! I served this with rice and next time will serve with mashed potatoes. If I could of I would have eaten it all myself. I used yellow onions since I had no green onions and it tasted great. Thanks for a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2002

      This IS a winner!! Everyone raved about it and said "Be sure to make this AGAIN!!" It is such an easy meal to make and oh so flavorful. I made it exactly as stated. Thank you Mysterygirl for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2003

      This was wonderful. Made exactly as directed but threw in some mushrooms with the onions and soup. Served over mashed potatoes and the gravy was awesome. Ate the rest for lunch the next day. Really a keeper !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2003

      Very tasty and easy to prepare. I followed the receipe exactly except for the cayenne. I substutited a varity pepper mix I use instead (fresh ground). I served it over cubed boiled potatoes (with parsley and butter) and a side of sweet corn. It was thoroughly enjoyed and the leftovers made excellent lunch a couple days later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2011

      My son's new favorite dinner. I added more cayenne pepper and used smoked paprika as we like more spices. After sauteeing the chicken I removed it from the pan, added garlic and onion then deglazed with white cooking wine. I added the rest of the ingredients posted and placed the chicken back in the sauce. Easy and delicious. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      Love this recipe. Made it twice now. It's a little too spicy for all our stomachs (even me who loves spicy food) so I've cut down the pepper and cayenne to 1/2 tsp. I also changed the salt amount to 1 1/2 tsp and it was perfect. Best served over brown rice (not the minute rice or fast cooking, but actual raw rice (yes cooked)) in both my mom's and my opinion :) The sour cream in the gravy gives it the perfect calming taste to the spiciness of the breading. Even my picky brother ate it all up. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      This was great after I made some additions to the sauce (for some unknown reason I don't like the word "gravy"... lol - my hubby mocks me for this quirk). The sauce was really really thick and still tasted like canned soup to me so I removed the chicken and wisked in a splash of white wine, a dash of cayenne and garlic powder, and thinned with milk until the consistency was just right. It turned into a super yummy spicy garlic sauce that dh and I both loved. Next time I'll serve over egg noodles or rice. Thanks for sharing your recipe and I hope you don't mind that I tweaked it a bit :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      This was really yummy. I've tried paprika chicken recipes before that just ended up being "pink sauce chicken"... this one had enough paprika to actually taste it and the chicken was beautifully moist and juicy. i used 1 tsp mild paprika and 1 tsp hot. i can't buy canned soup here so instead i used Cream Soup Substitutes - replacing the flour in that recipe with 3 Tbsp leftover flour/spice mixture from this one. since i couldn't just dump the can of soup in, i browned the chicken first as directed and then removed it from the pan, made the sauce and then returned the chicken to the pan for the cover/simmer step. the sauce was really thick and a bit shallow in the pan and i was worried it would start to burn, so i thinned it with 1/4 cup white wine (which was nice). i only added 1/2 the sour cream that was called for and i didn't have any green onions so they were omitted. served it with some rice steamed with onions and diced carrots... the sauce was really great with the rice (and it would be excellent with green beans). The only issue i encountered was that the butter for browning the chicken burned (even on medium heat) and i had to scrape the black bits out before making the rest of the sauce. will definitely make this again. thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      Excellent. Followed directions exactly except used garden red onion instead of green onions due to the lack of the latter. Very quick and easy. Served with potatoes. Husband says this recipe goes into the top ten.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2003

      I agree, my family agrees and my son's freind agress this is a "Winner".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2014

    • on June 02, 2013

    • on May 19, 2013

      This was sooo good and easy! Everyone loved it. I made mashed potatoes with it, which I believe is the best side to go with this meal, as the sour cream gravy compliments the potatoes perfectly. Will make again, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2013

      Searched for boneless/skinless chicken recipes and I chose this one because I had 98% of the ingredients. I was feeding my husband and 3 boys. Sometimes it's a challenge with the boys but it was delicious! The boys raved (as well as my husband) and they were so excited to have gravy on their mashed potatoes!!!! This recipe is now in my recipe box for will make again!! Thank you for putting smiles on my family's faces!!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      Spot on! What a wonderful recipe! Quick, easy and so tasty! I didn't have any green onions, so I sauteed some chopped yellow onion along with the chicken. Also, I had to substitute cream of mushroom soup for cream of chicken. Came out great! Thanks for sharing the recipe, I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      Yum-a-licious! The gravy this made was so good and the amount was perfect. I was worried that it wouldn't be enough but it was plenty for over the chicken and rice. We are typically not fans of breasts because they are always so dry (we use thighs) but some were on sale so I bought them and they were so moist and delicious. They were thick so it cooked for a bit longer than the ten minutes. I did also add a teaspoon of poultry seasoning to the dry mix. We are doing it again next week.

      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      Though my kids ate it, I thought it was a bit bland, as written. But, it was a quick dinner, so thanks for that.....and the chicken was moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2010

      This chicken is delicious! I love that it was quick and easy. The coating on the chicken makes the sauce really good, it has tons of flavor. I didn't think it tasted like canned soup at all either. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paprika Chicken With Sour Cream Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (292 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 486.1
     
    Calories from Fat 279
    57%
    Total Fat 31.0 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 16.1 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 143.0 mg
    47%
    Sodium 811.2 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 30.3 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes