Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pappadeaux Snapper Ponchartrain Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pappadeaux Snapper Ponchartrain

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2011

      Well, all the other reviews were correct. I just made this and indeed it turned out just like the real thing. Seems like I used every saucepan and bowl in the kitchen though. I would recommend sauteing the shrimp before you do the roux so you can concentrate on the roux and not have to wait so long for the shrimp to cook before adding it to the roux. This would keep you from over-cooking the roux / stock mixture before finishing off with the shrimp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Molly, You get my five stars (would be six if available!) It was well worth the effort, all the messed up pots and pans and dishes. The taste was absolutely out-of-this-world! And indeed, it tasted just like what we get at Pappadeaux (How DID you get the recipe??) The sauce was rich and creamy and the fish would have been great bare. Adding the sauce to the fish simply put it into world-class.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      OMG! This was out of this world! I was afraid it would be too spicy for our little ones, so I only used half the spice. The balance of flavors and rich creamy butter balanced the HOT. Next time I'll make it exactly like the recipe. My 4 year olds each had 3 HUGE helpings and didn't touch any of the pasta or veggies (usually their favorites.) My husband inhaled it. I liked my plate! Don't pass this one by! Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2006

      I tried this one on a Monday night and the flavor made up for all the work. The sauce is the key to the whole meal and this recipe will not let you down; creamy, rich and full of flavor. I cranked it up a little by adding more cajun spice and Tabasco, but I do the same when I go to Pappadeaux's. It was so good, I did not have any leftovers to take to work for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2006

      A fast 5 stars for this great version. When we left Dallas, there were few things we'd miss, but Pappadeaux's was definitely among the restaurants we still longed for. Not anymore! As for alterations: Made for just the two of us, I used small, cooked shrimp, so didn't use the shrimp shells for the stock. Instead we used 1 tablespoon of fish sauce added to the water and chopped veggies and reduced to half. Omitted the cayenne and used green tobasco instead of red. Subbed merlot for the madeira and -GASP!- used imitation crab since the sauce had tons of flavor from the remaining ingredients. Speaking of the sauce...HOLY COW, was that good! My husband went back and put more on his mashed potatoes after he inhaled the fish. We're convinced that all the butter in this recipe didn't hurt any and the fact that we're still alive after eating so much of it? Icing on the cake! Thanks, Molly, for a fantastic recipe which is going straight into my "encore" cookbook! (With apologies for the ratty picture. My focus was less on photography than with getting that fish inside of me...and quickly before he got away!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2005

      I didn't really give the proper reply to my rating. I was looking for this recipe for years after having this prepared for me in NO. I must say without a doubt that this was so close to the original that it was actually better! The sauce was everything and more. My kids actually asked for a bowl of the sauce. Thank you so very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      I just finished making this and it is exactly as in Pappadeaux's. Thanks for this recipe as I have been wanting it for over 5 yrs. FYI, my prep time was 1.75hrs start to finish and well worth it.WD

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      Oh my goodness! The reviews were true. This is truly the real thing! This is one of my favorite dishes at Pappadeaux and I was amazed I was able to recreate it., Yes!!! I made this along with the Dirty Rice (no livers) recipe on this site and we ate until we could not eat again!!! When I reviewed the recipe it was a little confusing, but when I actually made it everything came together. I used a variety of filets......talapia, catfish, and snapper. This dish is marvelous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2014

      Wow--amazing! This is my favorite dish at Pappadeaux and I have been looking for this recipe for years! I made this tonight with dirty rice and my husband and I loved it. I used red snapper and it was soooo delicious. It took about 1 3/4 hours and several pans but worth every bit of effort. It is just as delicious as I remember. Thank you so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pappadeaux Snapper Ponchartrain

    Serving Size: 1 (602 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 816.7
     
    Calories from Fat 354
    43%
    Total Fat 39.4 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 22.8 g
    114%
    Cholesterol 228.2 mg
    76%
    Sodium 1620.3 mg
    67%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.2 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 68.8 g
    137%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crab claws

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites