Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Papa John's Garlic Dipping Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Papa John's Garlic Dipping Sauce

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 18, 2012

      I have not yet tried to make this recipe, but there's something about the real Papa John's garlic sauce I thought should be addressed. Before you use the sauce, you have to shake it. This is because, if you open a cup without mixing it, you'll notice that the sauce actually *separates*. This is an indication that Papa John's uses, in addition to butter or margarine, some type of liquid oil, such as vegetable or canola oil, although I have no way of discerning exactly what kind. I just thought this issue should be brought up, as it would *seem* to imply that there is an ingredient missing from this particular recipe.

      On a related but somewhat different topic, a tip that many people may find quite useful: While I enjoy Papa John's garlic sauce for dipping their crust in, I rarely get pizza from there. I use their garlic sauce for a completely different purpose: hamburger condiment. Papa John's garlic sauce is absolutely *perfect* for hamburgers, and I use it in my own special homemade sauce, which consists of ketchup, mustard, Papa John's garlic sauce, Taco Bell taco sauce, and cayenne pepper (4 cups ketchup, 1 cup each for other three, 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper). I highly recommend the garlic sauce for any hamburger gourmets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Not quite like Papa John's and a little too salty for our taste when made using the full amounts. But after diluting it with a little additional margarine was a great addition to the pizza crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      I doubled the margarine, not the garlic powder or salt and it was actually better than Papa John's. Thanks for sharing I'll make this instead from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

      I've been using this recipe for some time and, though it tastes good it doesn't quite taste like papa john's sauce. I found that to get as close to papa john's sauce you need to use liquid margarine. Also, don't melt the butter, margarine or liquid margarine. Let the butter and margarine warm up to room temperature to soften(LM doesn't matter of course) and mix in the garlic powder to your taste. Let it rest for awhile so the flavors blend. Serve softened or melted, personally I prefer softened. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      Better than Papa John's hands down. Plus costs A LOT less than the .75 they charge for the little cup, which we can all agree with in this economy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      I like to add some minced garlic or fresh pressed garlic to the mix. I too, feel that the sauce is very slightly too-salty; easily remedied though, by adding a wee bit more butter. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

      I'm writing this to warn recipe searchers to be very very timid with the garlic. All the high reviews of this recipe makes it seem like you can be confident in the measurements but that is surely wrong. My recommendation is add 1/2 a TEASPOON at a time, and taste it carefully. This did actually help me swallow my dry pizza but it was too garlicy and even with less garlic I speculate that it wouldn't taste like Papa Johns.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I love Papa John's garlic dipping sauce and will get hostile if someone thinks they can take them all and leave none for me! Wasn't exactly like Papa John's, but darn close and very tasty. Nice for those darn crusts I can't seem to get over my love/hate relationship with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      not too bad- not quite like papa john's, but it's better than a dry pizza crust! will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      Better than Papa John's for sure! A keeper that I will make every time we have pizza from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Better than Papa John's for sure. I also added a little sliver of onion. Nuked this for 5 seconds before adding the butter. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      My husband and I loved this. I actually thought it was better than Papa John's. It's great knowing what you're eating (butter, garlic, and salt) rather than wondering about the long list of funny sounding ingredients on the garlic dipping sauce container. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      If u know how good this stuff is, u will love to know this is the perfect dip for your pizza.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      Very gooood!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2007

      just what my pizza needed and very close to papa johns. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      Well, it doesn't taste exactly the same- but it will do in a pinch. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Papa John's Garlic Dipping Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (35 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 437.6
     
    Calories from Fat 409
    93%
    Total Fat 45.4 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 9.4 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1700.4 mg
    70%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    0%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites