16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have not yet tried to make this recipe, but there's something about the real Papa John's garlic sauce I thought should be addressed. Before you use the sauce, you have to shake it. This is because, if you open a cup without mixing it, you'll notice that the sauce actually *separates*. This is an indication that Papa John's uses, in addition to butter or margarine, some type of liquid oil, such as vegetable or canola oil, although I have no way of discerning exactly what kind. I just thought this issue should be brought up, as it would *seem* to imply that there is an ingredient missing from this particular recipe.

On a related but somewhat different topic, a tip that many people may find quite useful: While I enjoy Papa John's garlic sauce for dipping their crust in, I rarely get pizza from there. I use their garlic sauce for a completely different purpose: hamburger condiment. Papa John's garlic sauce is absolutely *perfect* for hamburgers, and I use it in my own special homemade sauce, which consists of ketchup, mustard, Papa John's garlic sauce, Taco Bell taco sauce, and cayenne pepper (4 cups ketchup, 1 cup each for other three, 1 tablespoon cayenne pepper). I highly recommend the garlic sauce for any hamburger gourmets.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alexis Brooke October 18, 2012

Not quite like Papa John's and a little too salty for our taste when made using the full amounts. But after diluting it with a little additional margarine was a great addition to the pizza crust.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy March 07, 2010

I doubled the margarine, not the garlic powder or salt and it was actually better than Papa John's. Thanks for sharing I'll make this instead from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pinehurstheidi May 29, 2012

I've been using this recipe for some time and, though it tastes good it doesn't quite taste like papa john's sauce. I found that to get as close to papa john's sauce you need to use liquid margarine. Also, don't melt the butter, margarine or liquid margarine. Let the butter and margarine warm up to room temperature to soften(LM doesn't matter of course) and mix in the garlic powder to your taste. Let it rest for awhile so the flavors blend. Serve softened or melted, personally I prefer softened. Enjoy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Junk Foodie April 19, 2012

Better than Papa John's hands down. Plus costs A LOT less than the .75 they charge for the little cup, which we can all agree with in this economy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MeerkatSaunders January 25, 2009

I like to add some minced garlic or fresh pressed garlic to the mix. I too, feel that the sauce is very slightly too-salty; easily remedied though, by adding a wee bit more butter. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcminneus December 23, 2012

I'm writing this to warn recipe searchers to be very very timid with the garlic. All the high reviews of this recipe makes it seem like you can be confident in the measurements but that is surely wrong. My recommendation is add 1/2 a TEASPOON at a time, and taste it carefully. This did actually help me swallow my dry pizza but it was too garlicy and even with less garlic I speculate that it wouldn't taste like Papa Johns.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake Em N Take Em May 22, 2010

I love Papa John's garlic dipping sauce and will get hostile if someone thinks they can take them all and leave none for me! Wasn't exactly like Papa John's, but darn close and very tasty. Nice for those darn crusts I can't seem to get over my love/hate relationship with!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend December 27, 2009

not too bad- not quite like papa john's, but it's better than a dry pizza crust! will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adventurousbeginner November 15, 2009

Better than Papa John's for sure! A keeper that I will make every time we have pizza from now on!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tashak August 30, 2009
Papa John's Garlic Dipping Sauce