Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pao de Queijo (Cheese Puffs-Brazilian) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pao de Queijo (Cheese Puffs-Brazilian)

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-29 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on April 06, 2007

      I have a Brazilian boyfriend. As a surprise I thought I would make this since we only have it on rare occasions when we visit his family. To my surprise the dough did not come out how I expected it to be. I thought the dough would come out less sticky but it seems to stick every where. I did the 4 cups flour to 1 1/2 liquid something. I have tried making it twice and it make me mad that I follow the directions word by worked and I still can’t get it to the point where I can knead it. Is tapioca starch the same as tapioca flour? That is all I seem to find around here. Besides that my family and my boyfriend love it. My mom eats them do quickly it's funny because she always watches what she eats. He will be calling his aunt in Brazil maybe there is something I'm missing. If there is I’ll be sure to post it here. Either way this is a delicious recipe. I never seem to make enough. Third time is a charm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2007

      I made these for a Brazilian friend's gathering. She described them as authentic and good. I couldn't get them to stay in ball form but they were delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2007

      I must have done something wrong because mine never came to a "solid" point where I could knead or form into balls. I poured the mixture into mini muffin cups & baked about 25 minutes. They tasted GREAT! AND they are gluten free!!! YIPEE! I'll make them many more times...maybe the humidity was too high?!! (Not in EARLY March in Detroit!!!) I have NO idea what went wrong, but I'm glad they tasted good! THANKS for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      I just made it last night, it was awesome. Its different than another recipe I have. I think I like this better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2005

      I was completely shocked and very pleased to find this recipe, and it did not disappoint. These are an excellent addition to any grilled steak or chicken dinner. It took me back to Brazil. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      I have three corrections to make to my review that I submitted just today! I use 3 c tapioca flour, not 2 1/2; let dough rest for 20 minutes before working with it; and recipe makes about 50 balls about 1 to 1 1/2 in. in diameter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2004

      I thought I would post a recipe of "Pao de Queijo", but then I found this one.I would like to clear some facts, first Tapioca Flour and manioc starch are the samething, and they can be either sweet or sour. When preparing it, pour the boiling liquid to the tapioca(starch) flour and mix.Also you will get a better result if you use any white cheese ( like cheshire ) . Sorry I live in England so that is what I find here. You all say the dough is to sticky, maybe that is because there is to much liquid to the amount of flour. The recipe I have I use 4 cups of flour to 1 1/2 of liquid. By the way, I am Brazilian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2004

      These had a brief period of popularity in Tokyo a few years ago, and I've been craving them ever since. This recipe is wonderful! Like the other reviewers, I, also, used tapioca flour - in my case, from Taiwan. It worked perfectly. As an experiment, I substituted grated cheddar cheese for the Parmesan cheese in the dough, and it worked fine. The dough did have to be spooned onto the baking sheet. I sprinkled grated Parmesan on top. I had the most success using a rounded teaspoonful of dough. I later got lazy and increased the amount, but the puffs did not look nearly as good. Thank you very much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      I loved these. The color, taste & texture are just like what I remember eating in Brazil. The dough is too sticky to roll; I spooned it onto the cookie sheet, lowered the oven temp to 375 when the bottoms became too brown too soon, & baked them for 20 minutes. I used Bob's Red Mill tapioca flour which I found at my local chain grocery store. Betsy in WA

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pao de Queijo (Cheese Puffs-Brazilian)

    Serving Size: 1 (613 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.8
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    77%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 26.9 mg
    8%
    Sodium 297.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    manioc starch

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites