29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great recipe! The best Pao de Queijo comes from Minas Gerias. I would have to say this is very close to the ones I have had there. My wife is Brazilian and she was shocked when I made these for her. She said it reminded her of home. There are three tricks you have to do to make this work. 1) Use Tapioca Starch not Flour 2) After you make the mixture, refrigerate it. The balls will come out perfect. 3) Bake at 350 for 25 mins. If you do these things, it will come out perfect. Al

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-Baker September 10, 2008

I have made this recipe 4 times, and I would say it's pretty good. I think the only thing I would change is the oven temperature, it has to be at 350 degrees, otherwise it will burn them. If you like them small, it makes about 28. If you prefer them medium size, maybe 22 or so. Instead of making the balls round, you can make them a little flatter, so it looks more like a puff, and it bakes better that way. Also if you are trying to reduce the fat, you can definitely decrease the butter a little, because it turns out a little more oily than usual. I use real butter, I like it better. You do not need to grease the baking sheet. It's also very important that the milk is really hot, so it can precook the flour as you mix it. And last, the choice of sour versus sweet manioc flour, is all a matter of taste. I like to use 1 1/2 cup of sweet, and 1/2 cup of sour, so it does add a little sour taste to it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simonemaynard June 29, 2013

I tried the recipe. The proportions are fine. I would suggest you keep a small bowl of water close by to keep your hands moist while rolling out the puffs. This way they will not stick to you and you can put them on to the baking sheet.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mnbarreda June 04, 2009

I haven't tried this exact recipe but have some tips in general for this delicious treat. Reading the other reviews, I would suggest using at least another cup of Manioc starch, and if you can find it (you can find anything on the internet) get sour Manioc starch, For one, it's more authentic and for another, it tastes better IMHO. Also a good trick is to only use 1/2 parmesan cheese and 1/2 another white cheese with more moisture. Mexican white cheese (like Contija) works well. Still waiting for the day they start importing Queijo de Minas. The muffin tin idea is good for a pinch but seems anathema to tradition, that's why I suggest more manioc starch, and roll it into a proper ball. and I'll second the ideas that you should keep your hands oiled when rolling them into balls, as it keeps it from sticking to your hands and gives it a nice finish and additional taste boost, and definitely eat these right out of the oven. If you do try and freeze them, let them defrost for a bit. If at all possible avoid buying the Yoki mix as it uses sweet manioc flour, but they are ok if you really must try them. Though not necessarily a must, I like to serve them with some cream cheese (or Requeijao if you can find it) For some it's a cheese overload, but for people like me, there is no such thing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GuidoVanHorn May 28, 2009

I loved it!!! It tasted like the ones that I used to eat in Brazil! Because I didn't find the manioc starch, I made it with Tapioca Flour (you can find in Asian market). Also I had to add a little bit more Parmesan cheese and I spoon to the baking sheet. It worked well! Liz - OH

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liz Rocha April 01, 2004

This was very close to the pão de queijo I had when I lived in Rio de Janeiro many years back. These turned out very light and not as dense as I remember having them, but the flavor was very close and consistency very nice. I followed the directions almost exactly, except I took some reviewers suggestions: did 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup butter, 1 cup parmesan, 1/2 cup cheddar cheese. I only had 2% milk on hand, so maybe using whole milk will help making denser bread next time. I also made the mistake of adding the second cup tapioca starch in the beginning, so I had to add it at the end, hopefully that was not another reason why the batter did not solidify as much and ended up using a muffin pan. But, I will try making these again and post another review with these small changes and maybe that will make a difference in density that I won't have to use the muffin pan. I baked for about 18-20 min. in the middle rack until golden brown. Posted a picture as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amorxoxo May 12, 2011

This is my first time I made pao de queijo after trying this several times in Brazilian restaurants and market stands in London, and they come out super delicious! My Brazilian hubby loves it and he is going to show this to his family back in Brazil :-) I did a little change - I used 3/4 cup parmesan and 3/4 cup mild cheddar cheese (which is all I found from our fridge). Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The-M's-from-London March 26, 2011

These things are AMAZING!! I fell in love with Pao de Queijo at Fogo de Chao, and these are on par. I make them very frequently now. Was a little difficult tracking down the tapioca starch. One of the local major grocers we have in Texas has a large Asian import section, and I discovered it there. It's also a little tricky getting used to working with the starch, but it's absolutely worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Russell G July 25, 2010

I just made my first pao de queijo. Wrote down a bunch of recipes that were on line and chose from each column. Mine was pretty much this one except that I used 2 cups of cheese (1-1/2 parm and 1/2 of a white crumbly cheese that's milder and wetter ). Also I used canola rather than margarine. They were great! But, a little on the chewier side of the several samples I've had in Brazil. Anyone have any ideas about that? I plan to try it with more equal amounts of parm and the white cheese but also thought that the amount of milk may have contributed (heard that milk hardens things up in baking). Also - has anyone had the pao de queijo that they sell in the little bakery in Conde? They were completely different than any I've had in Salvador or interior of Bahia and MS. I suspect that they were made with wheat flour at least in part. Very big and very poofy and light even if they weren't fresh fresh. Any thoughts on that?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jeorf November 19, 2009

I'm glad I read the other reviews of this recipe before starting; you guys/gals helped me out. I changed the recipe by using 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 1/4 butter (the real Brazilian recipe uses oil and not butter, but I wanted a slightly richer flavor). I also used amix of 1 1/4C grated Parmesan and 1/4C of grated manchego, a chunk I had left over. I also trouble incorporating the eggs in- I had to mix it for about 5 minutes before the eggs finally started soaking into the stretchy batter so you may have to be patient at this stage. The dough didn't solidify enough for me to turn out and knead as well, so I just dropped them by the spoonful into mini muffin tins as well and they baked up fine. I had to leave mine in for 15-16 minutes for them to get to the right consistency in the middle- my first batch I put in for only 12-13 minutes and that was definintely not enough- the center was still way too chewy. These are not quite the same as the ones I had at Mangarosa in SF, but a close enough fascimile. Manoic or tapioca flour is a bit trying to work with; it is very fine, gets everywhere and doesn't behave like wheat flour, so keep that in mind when working with it. Next time I will try pouring the hot milk combo into the flour instead as someone suggested, and I will try to locate some quiejo de Minas too. They MUST be enjoyed hot though, as they are pretty uninteresting cold.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Edible Complex September 08, 2009
Pao de Queijo (Cheese Puffs-Brazilian)