Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pao de Queijo (Cheese Puffs-Brazilian) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pao de Queijo (Cheese Puffs-Brazilian)

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on September 10, 2008

      This is a great recipe! The best Pao de Queijo comes from Minas Gerias. I would have to say this is very close to the ones I have had there. My wife is Brazilian and she was shocked when I made these for her. She said it reminded her of home. There are three tricks you have to do to make this work. 1) Use Tapioca Starch not Flour 2) After you make the mixture, refrigerate it. The balls will come out perfect. 3) Bake at 350 for 25 mins. If you do these things, it will come out perfect. Al

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2013

      I have made this recipe 4 times, and I would say it's pretty good. I think the only thing I would change is the oven temperature, it has to be at 350 degrees, otherwise it will burn them. If you like them small, it makes about 28. If you prefer them medium size, maybe 22 or so. Instead of making the balls round, you can make them a little flatter, so it looks more like a puff, and it bakes better that way. Also if you are trying to reduce the fat, you can definitely decrease the butter a little, because it turns out a little more oily than usual. I use real butter, I like it better. You do not need to grease the baking sheet. It's also very important that the milk is really hot, so it can precook the flour as you mix it. And last, the choice of sour versus sweet manioc flour, is all a matter of taste. I like to use 1 1/2 cup of sweet, and 1/2 cup of sour, so it does add a little sour taste to it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      I tried the recipe. The proportions are fine. I would suggest you keep a small bowl of water close by to keep your hands moist while rolling out the puffs. This way they will not stick to you and you can put them on to the baking sheet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      I haven't tried this exact recipe but have some tips in general for this delicious treat. Reading the other reviews, I would suggest using at least another cup of Manioc starch, and if you can find it (you can find anything on the internet) get sour Manioc starch, For one, it's more authentic and for another, it tastes better IMHO. Also a good trick is to only use 1/2 parmesan cheese and 1/2 another white cheese with more moisture. Mexican white cheese (like Contija) works well. Still waiting for the day they start importing Queijo de Minas. The muffin tin idea is good for a pinch but seems anathema to tradition, that's why I suggest more manioc starch, and roll it into a proper ball. and I'll second the ideas that you should keep your hands oiled when rolling them into balls, as it keeps it from sticking to your hands and gives it a nice finish and additional taste boost, and definitely eat these right out of the oven. If you do try and freeze them, let them defrost for a bit. If at all possible avoid buying the Yoki mix as it uses sweet manioc flour, but they are ok if you really must try them. Though not necessarily a must, I like to serve them with some cream cheese (or Requeijao if you can find it) For some it's a cheese overload, but for people like me, there is no such thing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2004

      I loved it!!! It tasted like the ones that I used to eat in Brazil! Because I didn't find the manioc starch, I made it with Tapioca Flour (you can find in Asian market). Also I had to add a little bit more Parmesan cheese and I spoon to the baking sheet. It worked well! Liz - OH

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      This was very close to the pão de queijo I had when I lived in Rio de Janeiro many years back. These turned out very light and not as dense as I remember having them, but the flavor was very close and consistency very nice. I followed the directions almost exactly, except I took some reviewers suggestions: did 1/4 cup olive oil, 1/4 cup butter, 1 cup parmesan, 1/2 cup cheddar cheese. I only had 2% milk on hand, so maybe using whole milk will help making denser bread next time. I also made the mistake of adding the second cup tapioca starch in the beginning, so I had to add it at the end, hopefully that was not another reason why the batter did not solidify as much and ended up using a muffin pan. But, I will try making these again and post another review with these small changes and maybe that will make a difference in density that I won't have to use the muffin pan. I baked for about 18-20 min. in the middle rack until golden brown. Posted a picture as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2011

      This is my first time I made pao de queijo after trying this several times in Brazilian restaurants and market stands in London, and they come out super delicious! My Brazilian hubby loves it and he is going to show this to his family back in Brazil :-) I did a little change - I used 3/4 cup parmesan and 3/4 cup mild cheddar cheese (which is all I found from our fridge). Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      These things are AMAZING!! I fell in love with Pao de Queijo at Fogo de Chao, and these are on par. I make them very frequently now. Was a little difficult tracking down the tapioca starch. One of the local major grocers we have in Texas has a large Asian import section, and I discovered it there. It's also a little tricky getting used to working with the starch, but it's absolutely worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      I just made my first pao de queijo. Wrote down a bunch of recipes that were on line and chose from each column. Mine was pretty much this one except that I used 2 cups of cheese (1-1/2 parm and 1/2 of a white crumbly cheese that's milder and wetter ). Also I used canola rather than margarine. They were great! But, a little on the chewier side of the several samples I've had in Brazil. Anyone have any ideas about that? I plan to try it with more equal amounts of parm and the white cheese but also thought that the amount of milk may have contributed (heard that milk hardens things up in baking). Also - has anyone had the pao de queijo that they sell in the little bakery in Conde? They were completely different than any I've had in Salvador or interior of Bahia and MS. I suspect that they were made with wheat flour at least in part. Very big and very poofy and light even if they weren't fresh fresh. Any thoughts on that?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      I'm glad I read the other reviews of this recipe before starting; you guys/gals helped me out. I changed the recipe by using 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 1/4 butter (the real Brazilian recipe uses oil and not butter, but I wanted a slightly richer flavor). I also used amix of 1 1/4C grated Parmesan and 1/4C of grated manchego, a chunk I had left over. I also trouble incorporating the eggs in- I had to mix it for about 5 minutes before the eggs finally started soaking into the stretchy batter so you may have to be patient at this stage. The dough didn't solidify enough for me to turn out and knead as well, so I just dropped them by the spoonful into mini muffin tins as well and they baked up fine. I had to leave mine in for 15-16 minutes for them to get to the right consistency in the middle- my first batch I put in for only 12-13 minutes and that was definintely not enough- the center was still way too chewy. These are not quite the same as the ones I had at Mangarosa in SF, but a close enough fascimile. Manoic or tapioca flour is a bit trying to work with; it is very fine, gets everywhere and doesn't behave like wheat flour, so keep that in mind when working with it. Next time I will try pouring the hot milk combo into the flour instead as someone suggested, and I will try to locate some quiejo de Minas too. They MUST be enjoyed hot though, as they are pretty uninteresting cold.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      I liked the texture and super easy to make but I feel the Parmesan was too strong, will make again but cut back on the cheese or use another type. Wonder what cheese would be a good replacement for quiejo de Minas?!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2009

      This sounds very good, but the real Brazilian Pão de Queijo is not made with parmesan cheese, but with "Queijo de Minas." (Minas is the state of "Minas Gerais," where the Portuguese settlers had mines, hence the name.) Unfortunately I have never found any cheese in the US that slightly approaches the sublte, fresh taste of Queijo de Minas... (maybe VERY fresh mozzarela cheese?) Yoki sells a package of powder Pão de Queijo; I never tried, so don'g know how good it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      WHOA!!! tastes like Fogo's! I boiled the milk, unsalted butter and salt and then I added it to the tapioca flour in my kitchenaid. I used the dough hook and I used a bit more flour than it called for. I let it sit for about 10 minutes and then added the eggs and cheese. I also poured it into mini-muffin tins. DELECTABLE! everyone loved them!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      The mixture came out very liquid-y and I was not able to knead or form into balls. Instead I let the mixture sit for a few minutes for it to solidify a little and then put the mixture into mini-muffin tins. I baked them at 350 for 20 minutes as suggested by another reviewer and they came out perfectly - just like the ones I had in Brazil. However, I had enough for far more than 20 pao, so hopefully this freezes well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      I was on a mission to find a recipe to duplicate the rolls I had at the Fogo De Chao restaurant. tried several recipes, including one that supposedly came from the Fogo De Chao chef, but the rolls were not good. This recipe is definitely closest to what I am looking for... I will try and alter it a little next time. I would recommend the following: Use a finely grated Mexican parmesan. I used a parmesan I bought from a regular grocery store on one of the recipes I tried and it was WAY too strong... Also, use UNSALTED butter. I used salted butter and add the teaspoon of salt and it was a little too salty. Lastly, to form the balls, grease your hand and spoon with oil. I poured some oil in a small bowl and occasionally dipped my fingers into the oil. I think I will try the following next time... Most of the other recipes I found called for oil so I will try half butter and half corn or sunflower oil. I will used unsalted butter, I will add a teaspoon of sugar. so glad I found this recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I tried to make this from the wikipedia cookbook dictionary and got lost halfway, so i followed half of that recipe and half of this. The consistency was just right and i managed to knead it into little balls. The proportion of Tapioca Flour was 300gm, 160gm of milk, 80gm gm of butter and 2 eggs. Tastes fantastic and its extremely addictive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      If you are having problems with the consistence, you can try to put it in a pastry bag! I do it all the time... I will post my recipe, from a legitime "mineiro" and Pastry Chef! And, I'll send some pictures of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      After eating at Fogo de Chao (a wonderful Brazilian steakhouse) I was on a hunt for the recipe for their amazing bread. This bread is literally the best I have had at any restaurant, EVER! I found a copy-cat recipe online but it turned out to be more of a popover. They were good but deflated once I took them out of the oven. :( This one sounded so much more like Fogo de Chao's so I had to try it. I made this exactly as written except that I poured the hot liquid into my stand mixer then added the dry ingredients. The only issue I came across, like the other reviewers, is that it was way too wet to roll into balls. I ended up adding another half cup of tapioca flour but it was still very gummy. I didn't want to add more so I did as others had suggested and filled up a mini muffin pan. This worked perfectly! These are almost exactly like Fogo de Chao's and I am just tickled! For taste and texture, this is a five star recipe, for sure but, since the amount of dry ingredients is obviously off, I had to deduct one star. It's a shame because this is by far one of my favorite recipes that I've found on the 'zaar. Cheers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      The suggestion by CuisineDeCoeur to use Mini Muffin Tins is brilliant. It works very well. I also like in this recipe sprinkling the top with parmesan cheese before baking. It gives a nice color. I have not made this recipe, but use one very similar using oil instead of butter. I first became hooked on this bread treat in the Brazilian restaurant Picanha in Burbank, CA. They are so good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      I was looking for a perfect Pao de Queijo recipe after my Brazilian friend made them for me at her house (she used a pre-packaged mix that she brought from Brazil that I had trouble finding in the US, I think they only sell them in Brazilian grocery stores, but anyways making them fresh is so much better!). I tried several recipes and this one is by far the best in terms of simplicity and producing yummy results. Each time I have made this, I was never able to get my dough to the point of solidity where it can be shaped (although this seems to be the nature of the tapioca flour, once u add it to liquid it tends to liquify very quickly). However, I spoon the batter into mini muffin cups and they turned out wonderfully crisp on the outside and with a nice melty chewy cheese interior. Tip: Don't be tempted to pre-make the dough and freeze them for later use -- I did this and froze them in the mini muffin cups, thinking that it would be a breeze to pop into the oven when friends came over. However, once the dough freezes and solidifies, if you pop it straight into the oven, the puffs come out dense like a brick and not nearly as light as when the dough is liquid-y. I might try letting the dough sit for awhile out of the freezer next time before baking, but at least this first attempt was underwhelming.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pao de Queijo (Cheese Puffs-Brazilian)

    Serving Size: 1 (613 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.8
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    77%
    Total Fat 7.6 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 26.9 mg
    8%
    Sodium 297.2 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    manioc starch

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites