Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pannu Kakku (Finnish Oven Pancake) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pannu Kakku (Finnish Oven Pancake)

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2006

      Desperate for a finnish oven pancake recipe that would finally work, i turned in desperation to this site. I found pannu kakku without much difficulty and made it for my family for supper. I had a friend over and she said she had never tasted anything quite like it before. I also had the problem with the liquidy pooling and there is no reason to haveto use paper towel simply: take a large serving spoon and stir about 20 minutes through cooking. This ensures even cooking heat throughout and helps the cooked custard on the bootom to rise and allow milk mixture to cook. Hope this helps and so many thanks to Liisa N. This recipe saved me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2013

      Made this for the first time this morning. Followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect! I took another reviewer's advice and stirred it after it had been in the oven for 10 minutes. I then let it sit for approximately 10 - 15 minutes after it was done baking before cutting into it. Served it with syrup and strawberries. Would probably make an excellent dessert with fresh berries and whipped cream too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      I made this for my daughter's Finnish country report today. Instead of adding melted butter to the mix, I melted it in the pan in the oven and poured the mix into it and baked it for 45 minutes because of the other reviews regarding runniness. It came out perfect. I did not get to taste it until after class so it was not hot. However, even cold it was yummy. I served with lemon wedges & powdered sugar, or strawberry jam, or maple syrup. I had mine with lemon & sugar - OH YUM! Thank you, this is going to be made more often at our house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2006

      It was a delicious breakfast. I used 1/2 wholemeal floue and 1/2 white and I added some raspberry sause to the batter and I used 1 cup less milk after reading the reviews and the comment about it being too watery.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      For an authentic version, here is my Finnish grandmother's Pannu Kakku recipe: melt 1/4 cup butter directly in 9x13 pan in stove. Beat together 3 cups milk, 3 eggs, 1 1 /4 cup flour, 1/4 cup sugar and 1 teaspoon salt. Pour over melted butter in pan. Bake 350 for 30 minutes or until puffed and golden. This is Pannu Kakku!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2013

      A very different breakfast, I'd never heard of this before so decided to give it a try and found it very easy to make and tasty, not to sweet, with a custard like texture. I followed another reviewer's advise and stirred with a large spoon half way through and had no problem with it being runny. Topped the finished dish with powdered sugar and served with a glaze topping of fresh raspberries from the garden. A nice, light and definitely different breakfast that we enjoyed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      Easy to make and addictive. This is one of my favorite recipes, I make this almost every Sunday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      Fabulous! My hubby loved it, and it even pleased the oh so discriminating tastes of my 8-yr-old.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      I've made this a couple times, but it has been awhile. I vaguely remembered one batch being not-quite-enough for my 6 voracious breakfast eaters. So I attempted to 1 1/2x the batch, but ended up doubling, because I accidentally put in too much sugar. Well, I used sucanat instead of sugar, which gave this the most carmelly, delicious touch. I thought my 11x15 glass pan would suffice, but it "grew" over the sides, so next time I will just use 2 9x13 pans. The mess (my fault, not a part of the recipe, lol) and wait were worth it. We did not use anything extra, because the custard was sweet enough. I tried a bit of sour cream because ours turned out so sweet, and that was good too, though plain was perfection. I highly recommend trying sucanat (aka rapadura). While this was baking, we checked the weather in Finland, and found they are quite a bit warmer than we are today (we had snow yesterday here in Alberta), even though they are much further north!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      I've just made (and eaten) this for an easy wholesome pudding that would fill us up after a very light, early dinner. Never eaten this before, never mind made! I didn't have any problems with watery consistency, but perhaps the other comments were due to not using initiative and altering the recipe slightly... quantities always vary from one brand to another, one sized egg to another. ie. In this recipe, I beat the eggs and started to stir in the milk one cup at a time, after two cups I thought the consistency looked right to me - colour, thinness etc, I added another as the recipe says 4 cups, but after that 3rd I realised I needn't have bothered and added a little more flour to get the consistency back to how I felt it should be. This might have been because I used semi-skimmed not whole fat milk? Maybe my flour was a little too light? Maybe both! All recipes are the same, you gotta use them as a guideline and use your head when it actually comes to making things, especially with anything that you are baking! Anyway, mine turned out fab, the top tasted like pancake and the custard was a very, very good egg custard with a lovely texture. It was sweet but not too sweet and I served with honey and ground nutmeg this evening, but there is enough left for breakfast tomorrow and will probably try it as a savoury dish instead of sweet. Many thanks LiisaN...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      We decided that while this was good warm it was much better cold the next day. We had it for dessert with a raspberry sauce and whipped cream the day I made it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      Delicious! My daughter's favorite breakfast now!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      Thanks for the great recipe! It's supposed to have the large amount of milk! The top is soft, so give it time to set after you take it from the oven before serving. There is also a soft "crust" on the bottom. This is a hit at our place, and if there are any leftovers they are great cold, with jam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      Sorry to say this was a complete failure. I followed the recipe, and it seemed like there was too much milk at the time but I trusted it. I ended up keeping it in the oven for over 2 hours and it still hadn't set. Bit of a waste of the ingredients I'm afraid, maybe try drastically reducing the amount of milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      Outstanding! I normally HATE pancakes but I adore these. Fins do it the best. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      OUTSTANDING!! The only change I made was I used egg beaters. This was fantastic and I will be making this often, thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2007

      We have the same recipe that has been used for many, many years. The only change in our recipe is that instead of 4 cups of milk, our recipe is 3 cups of milk and 1 cup of sour cream. It makes for a much tangier pancake. VERY GOOD! This recipe comes from my grandmother who was an immigrant from Finland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      Had a little trouble converting this for 2 servings (1 1/3 eggs ha!) so it turned out a little too runny, but my husband LOVED it so I'll try it again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      We made this for a special breakfast over the holidays, and were delighted with the results! Topped with fruit and whipped cream, this is nothing short of divine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pannu Kakku (Finnish Oven Pancake)

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 362.0
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    42%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 167.1 mg
    55%
    Sodium 582.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.4 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 16.9 g
    67%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes