35 Reviews

Desperate for a finnish oven pancake recipe that would finally work, i turned in desperation to this site. I found pannu kakku without much difficulty and made it for my family for supper. I had a friend over and she said she had never tasted anything quite like it before. I also had the problem with the liquidy pooling and there is no reason to haveto use paper towel simply: take a large serving spoon and stir about 20 minutes through cooking. This ensures even cooking heat throughout and helps the cooked custard on the bootom to rise and allow milk mixture to cook. Hope this helps and so many thanks to Liisa N. This recipe saved me!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spellbug1 July 31, 2006

Made this for the first time this morning. Followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect! I took another reviewer's advice and stirred it after it had been in the oven for 10 minutes. I then let it sit for approximately 10 - 15 minutes after it was done baking before cutting into it. Served it with syrup and strawberries. Would probably make an excellent dessert with fresh berries and whipped cream too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teribee July 11, 2013

I made this for my daughter's Finnish country report today. Instead of adding melted butter to the mix, I melted it in the pan in the oven and poured the mix into it and baked it for 45 minutes because of the other reviews regarding runniness. It came out perfect. I did not get to taste it until after class so it was not hot. However, even cold it was yummy. I served with lemon wedges & powdered sugar, or strawberry jam, or maple syrup. I had mine with lemon & sugar - OH YUM! Thank you, this is going to be made more often at our house.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 April 24, 2010

It was a delicious breakfast. I used 1/2 wholemeal floue and 1/2 white and I added some raspberry sause to the batter and I used 1 cup less milk after reading the reviews and the comment about it being too watery.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mona Hisham October 28, 2006

For an authentic version, here is my Finnish grandmother's Pannu Kakku recipe: melt 1/4 cup butter directly in 9x13 pan in stove. Beat together 3 cups milk, 3 eggs, 1 1 /4 cup flour, 1/4 cup sugar and 1 teaspoon salt. Pour over melted butter in pan. Bake 350 for 30 minutes or until puffed and golden. This is Pannu Kakku!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Divine Chef December 28, 2005

A very different breakfast, I'd never heard of this before so decided to give it a try and found it very easy to make and tasty, not to sweet, with a custard like texture. I followed another reviewer's advise and stirred with a large spoon half way through and had no problem with it being runny. Topped the finished dish with powdered sugar and served with a glaze topping of fresh raspberries from the garden. A nice, light and definitely different breakfast that we enjoyed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 02, 2013

Easy to make and addictive. This is one of my favorite recipes, I make this almost every Sunday.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinknyellowstrs September 16, 2012

Fabulous! My hubby loved it, and it even pleased the oh so discriminating tastes of my 8-yr-old.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
intrigue006 June 07, 2010

I've made this a couple times, but it has been awhile. I vaguely remembered one batch being not-quite-enough for my 6 voracious breakfast eaters. So I attempted to 1 1/2x the batch, but ended up doubling, because I accidentally put in too much sugar. Well, I used sucanat instead of sugar, which gave this the most carmelly, delicious touch. I thought my 11x15 glass pan would suffice, but it "grew" over the sides, so next time I will just use 2 9x13 pans. The mess (my fault, not a part of the recipe, lol) and wait were worth it. We did not use anything extra, because the custard was sweet enough. I tried a bit of sour cream because ours turned out so sweet, and that was good too, though plain was perfection. I highly recommend trying sucanat (aka rapadura). While this was baking, we checked the weather in Finland, and found they are quite a bit warmer than we are today (we had snow yesterday here in Alberta), even though they are much further north!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise May 28, 2010

I've just made (and eaten) this for an easy wholesome pudding that would fill us up after a very light, early dinner. Never eaten this before, never mind made! I didn't have any problems with watery consistency, but perhaps the other comments were due to not using initiative and altering the recipe slightly... quantities always vary from one brand to another, one sized egg to another. ie. In this recipe, I beat the eggs and started to stir in the milk one cup at a time, after two cups I thought the consistency looked right to me - colour, thinness etc, I added another as the recipe says 4 cups, but after that 3rd I realised I needn't have bothered and added a little more flour to get the consistency back to how I felt it should be. This might have been because I used semi-skimmed not whole fat milk? Maybe my flour was a little too light? Maybe both! All recipes are the same, you gotta use them as a guideline and use your head when it actually comes to making things, especially with anything that you are baking! Anyway, mine turned out fab, the top tasted like pancake and the custard was a very, very good egg custard with a lovely texture. It was sweet but not too sweet and I served with honey and ground nutmeg this evening, but there is enough left for breakfast tomorrow and will probably try it as a savoury dish instead of sweet. Many thanks LiisaN...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JinxTheCat February 17, 2010
Pannu Kakku (Finnish Oven Pancake)