11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow Diana! My girlfriends & I went for a fancy dinner a few weeks ago & finished it off with panna cotta. We've been craving it ever since. I got your recipe, went shopping & followed it exactly. Before ladeling it into the dishes, I spread a caramel dip on the bottom (as the restaurant had done). It makes for a pleasant surprise on the bottom;) It turned out EXCELLENT! Thank you.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny M February 12, 2003

Thanks! I too, had it at a restaurant and had been craving it eversince. It was easy and tasted great. Cured the craving.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiffanee June 19, 2003

Made this this morning, and, wow. Admittedly, I didn't follow the recipe exactly (forgot to buy vanilla, subbed almond extract instead) but it's still delicious. Next time I'll have vanilla and do it right lol.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YellaRose81 August 17, 2013

This makes an excellent panna cotta. I used skim milk instead of half & half and found the texture to be fine. A bit sweet, so I might cut back on the sugar next time. The perfect dessert for a hot July night!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakerBeth July 10, 2012

Quick, easy, & delicious! We've never had Panna Cotta before so browsing zaar we chose this one. I used all half-and-half and 1 1/2 tsp vanilla. Next time, I will use just 1 tsp vanilla and less sugar (1/4 cup perhaps) as it is very sweet. We had ours plain but felt it definitely needs something to compliment it (reviews of caramel sauce or jam sound great). A keeper recipe, thanks so much for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu November 14, 2009

I want to make this but am a little confused about Step 3 where it says Add the heavy cream, 1t. It says it uses 2 cups of heavy cream. What does the 1t. mean?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Winediva February 17, 2009

Oh my goodness, this was wonderful. I have never had panna cotta before but i saw it being made on tv and thought it looked interesting so i thought i'd give it a try. I halved the amount of sugar, and replaced some of the heavy cream with milk as suggested by another reviewer. I also used a jarred Dulche de Leche sauce on the bottom of some of the cups and strawberry/rhubarb jam on the bottom of others. This was so easy to make and the recipe seems VERY versatile. Next time i am going to flavour with Creme de Cacao and Creme de menthe for a grasshopper panna cotta with a kick. Thanx for sharing this recipe, it's a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yellow Lab Lover January 28, 2009

This recipe was so easy. I made is for Thanksgiving dessert instead of the traditional boring pumpkin pie and it was great. It was quite rich though- I might subract some of the heavy cream and add regular milk and take out maybe 1 tbsp of sugar next time I make it. It sure was good though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaleen1 November 28, 2008

Loved this recipe! Needed a quick, easy, but tasty dessert for a casual, italian dinner with friends. I simply did not make enough, everyone raved about this dish! Let set then served in decorative stemmed glass with chilled spoons. I did take the suggestion of spreading caramel on the bottom before ladling cream mixture. I topped with mixture of fresh berries. This recipe is well worth a try! Thanks DiB.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PSTravelingChef October 15, 2007

We were in Tuscany this summer and I had Panna Cotta for the 1st time. I was determined to learn to make it when I came home. Your recipe is IT!!!, and so easy to make. I've been serving it with a garnish combination of raspberries and blackberries. Many thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JudyCC September 03, 2007
Panna Cotta