Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Panko Crusted Tilapia Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Panko Crusted Tilapia

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2010

      This recipe has been included in book#246531. I made these last night and they were terrific! I took the advice of other reviewers and added more Old Bay seasoning (I used 2 teaspoons) since it adds such a nice flavor to bread coatings. I dipped the fish several times in the butter sauce before rolling in the panko crumbs so I would have a thick coating of the panko. The fish came out perfectly; moist and crunchy at the same time. And it's so easy and quick to make -- a "keeper" recipe that I'll be making over and over! Thanks for posting this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      I know this has been said, but YUMMY!! This seriously is not only the most delicious fish I've ever made, but the best I've ever tasted--and I eat a lot of seafood! I did use fresh tilapia that was just caught today, so I think I have to attribute a portion of it to that. The crust was perfect and crispy, and so flavorful, but did not overshadow the delicate fish, which was so tender it was actually creamy. Unbelievable! My 9 year old wants me to make it again tomorrow! I did alter it a bit simply because I was cutting it down to two fillets and made a couple of mistakes! I cut everything in half, but accidentally added 2 Tbsp of lemon juice anyway . . . and I did double the ratio of Old Bay but (again accidentally, my head not on today!) added that to the butter instead, so I then threw a little more in with the panko. I used butter, not margarine (a no brainer in my mind). Lastly, I dredged it in Wondra flour first before dipping in the butter, which I believe gives a nicer crust. At the end, I drizzled on some of the leftover butter mix and then sprinkled on some extra crumbs where it looked like they didn't stick. Baked at 400 for 10 minutes. Perfecto!!! Thank you Kizzikate for the wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2013

      Excellent!!!! I like a little heat. So I substituted the butter for chili oil. It gave it a very nice spicy flavor. If you like a little spice, try it you might like it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      We tweaked this recipe to make it gluten free by substituting roughly crushed rice crispy cereal for the panko. The coating came out nice and crispy and tasted awesome. Like other reviewers we added about 2 tsp of Old Bay (which is about 4x what the recipe calls for). We also found that we preferred a bit more garlic and lemon, and just a bit of kosher salt. Will definitely make this again. For our gluten free friends, and even if you are not, the rice crispy makes a really nice crunchy coating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2007

      we LOVED this dish. i tasted very light, and it was perfect over a salad. i tripled the old bay, becuse i like some kick. i also like to spray the top of the panko-d filets with Pam to get it a little crunchier. thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      Family loved this. I did add a little more Old Bay. Really tasty and will be a repeat in this house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2013

      This is a winner in our house. As others have said, you can increase the seasoning or add in parmesean, it all tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      I made this recipe tonight and the Tilapia had a nice mild flavor. I think that next time I will cut back on the panko crumbs; they were a bit too much and overwhelmed the taste of the fish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2013

      Perfect in every way! I did turn it to broil for the last five minutes. Absolutely wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      I only had three fillets, so I cut everything in half. Used butter, as that is what I had. This was AMAZING. Best fish we've had in AGES! It was hot today, so I made the three fillets in the toaster oven. It was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      I made this recipe today. It's delicious! My family like the crispy texture and the fish is not dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      This recipe is excellent and my family LOVES it. However I Use 2 tsp Old Bay Seasoning. Sometimes I add 1/2 cup parmesan cheese to the panko mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2012

      What a yummy recipe. I read all of the reviews and incorporated slight changes along the way. For instance, I added the Old Bay to both the butter mixture and the dry mixture. I added Parmesan to the dry ingredients. I used butter the first time I made it and everyone loved it. For the sake of lowering the fat content, I used Smart Balance margarine spread the second time and it was great but not quite as rich tasting. The next time I am going to use a combination of Smart Balance and butter. I had the luxury of using fresh, never frozen, tilapia which I think enhanced the flavor. Thanks for a great recipe. I am going to try it with scallops in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      Wow, this recipe is so easy and so tasty, I have even used the low sodium Old Bay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      My whole family loves this dish, which we serve with steamed broccoli. My 7-yr old girl gobbles this up, and she is a picky eater. We do one modification - double the garlic. Note, our family doubles the garlic in every recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      This recipe is great as is...I will be using panko in place of regular breadcrumbs forever now. You could probably use any seasoning and have this turn out well. I added a dash more Old Bay but that was all I changed. My husband was looking for another piece but it was all gone. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2011

      Wow! This was great! My husband is not a fish kind of guy but he ate two pieces of this! i added a little cayanne to the panko mixture for some spice and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2011

      My husband loves anything coated in panko and we are trying to eat more fish so this recipe was a perfect compromise. It is very easy to prepare and cooks quickly. I love the flavour of the Old Bay seasoning. I've made it twice already and will make it many more times!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      made this recipe but instead of using oldbay i used romano cheese (grated)...it turned out delicious...also for the last 2mins i turned the oven to broil to give them some color...fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      Great fish recipe. I made (minus Old Bay) half a recipe, served with a curry sauce and Curried Cauliflower and Potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Panko Crusted Tilapia

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 260.3
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    36%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.5 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 62.5 mg
    20%
    Sodium 285.6 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 27.6 g
    55%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites