Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Panko Chicken With Creamy Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Panko Chicken With Creamy Sauce

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2010

      This is my very favorite recipe that I got to try in this contest. I marinated the chicken for a little over three hours and this really helped make the finished product so moist and delicious. The seasonings are just right on in this recipe. The panko adds such wonderful crunch. What really puts this recipe over the top for me, however, is the sauce. I could just drink it all up without the chicken. :) I did use the mushrooms in the sauce because we love them. My family really loved this dish and I will be making it often. Good luck in the contest!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Oh how I loved this recipe. I followed it exactly using the muchrooms and everything else listed and it was wonderful. I marinated in the buttermilk 3 hours and the chicken was moist and delicious and done at exactly in the time listed. The panko gave a wonderful golden color and nice crunch and the sauce just threw it over the top. I never would have thought of all these ingrediants but am so glad you did. The combination is wonderful. Good luck, you deserve it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      This was tasty. The chicken was moist and tender, and this was with only marinating for about an hour due to time constraints. I'd have preferred the onion chopped instead of sliced (personal preference), as they seemed a little overpowering, and as much as I love mushrooms, I think there were a bit too many for the size of the recipe. The sauce didn't look very appetizing, but was very good, except that it needed seasoned. It definitely needed some salt and papper for me, which I did add and it added a big flavor boost. Good entry for the contest. Good luck!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Oh yummm!!! we really, really liked this dish, I couldn't get panko so I had a french loaf and used that to get nice light crumbs, and it worked perfect. I used hot smoked paprika and it gave it a bit of a kick. I did think that there was too much mushrooms to start with but when they cooked down it was just right with the cream, the consistency was perfect, and made into a very nice bed for the chicken to sit on. My DH said it was very good indeed and gave it ten stars, I said you can only give it five, and he said oh that can't be right.LOL this dish is one I will most definitely make again we liked it a lot. This is in the top three. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. Made for RSC#15

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2014

      I made this but skipped the mushrooms, subbed shallots for onion, made my own panko crumbs and omitted the thyme (dislike!) . The smoked paprika gave the chicken a nice bite. Served with short grain brown rice and topped with fresh flat leaf/Italian parsley and a salad on the side. Prepared for Make My Recipe Downunder May 2014.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      Aussie Swap #77: Amazing and full of flavor!! Easy to make for a weeknight meal and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      "Winner, winner, chicken dinner"!... And it's a winner we have here! This recipe was very similar to my own, so I decided to try it. But this recipe adds so much more to it, and makes it just soooo good. I did deviate from the recipe just a tad bit. I had to use bone-in chicken quarters, since hubby bought about 25 lbs of them at $0.49 / lb. (I'll be making a lot of chicken recipes over the next month). So I adjusted the cooking/baking time and the oven temp to what I knew would work (longer time and hotter temp). I made the gravy (sauce), doubling the liquid portion, garlic & onion, but only using 1/2 the mushrooms (I just don't care for them much). I served the sauce on the side in a ceramic creamer dish. The panko made this outstanding. I use panko crumbs often (usually on pork chops), but never thought of dressing up the poor, lonely ol' chicken. And the gravy was a fabulous addition, also. Another first for me. Thank you for an outstanding dinner that pleased everyone. Perfect recipe. (Made for PAC - Spring 2013)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2012

      Yummo! The flavours all worked well together and the chicken was outstanding. I marinated the chicken overnight and since we love mushrooms I used the mushrooms. Thanks for posting your recipe Leggy Peggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      Weary of the reviews, I used 1/2 lb (half of what was indicated) and the sauce was still too chuncky. I had to add another 1/4 cup of cream. I think the recipe may have meant canned champignons, not fresh mushrooms.
      Also, I used the zest of 1 small lemon & the lemony flavor was overpowering. Perhaps because I used regular paprika (didn't have the smoked one). The part that work great was the overnight buttermilk marinade. The chicken was very juicy and tender. I used breasts & reduced browning time to 3 min per side & 15 min in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      I scaled this back for 2 serves (just the DM and me) and had 6 chicken thighes (bonesless and skinless) but they were bigger than normal and the DM and I could only get through 4 of them (I gave her the 2 smallest and I had the 2 largest), I only used half the amount of mushroom required (4oz but would up this to 6oz but leave the rest of ingredients the same). Also my buttermilk was not the best so used Substitute for Buttermilk by KC_Cooker and could only marinate for 2 1/2 hours but still had a delicious dish and the measurements were spot on for the panko crumbs for my 6 thigh fillets on a 2 serve scale back. Thank you Leggy Peggy for a great dinner, made for Make My Recipe - Christmas Edition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      Followed your recipe right on down, even to including the mushrooms, but I did cook them only until they started to soften slightly & that was good enough for us, & the dish itself was a nice change from our usual chicken breasts! Shared it with a neighbor couple in a sort of two-for-one, as they also got half of a meatloaf I'd made! Your chicken dish is wonderfully tasty & satisfying! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in I Recommend recipe tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2011

      We have a household of very picky eaters and everyone love this. We didn't do the mushrooms, doubled the cream and added some seasonings to the sauce, served it over the chicken and cheese tortellini. Yummy. Next time we will add a little more seasonings and double the sauce part if serving over pasta. It is a very light sauce that isn't an Alfredo type sauce. Will do this one again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Delcious, delicious, delicious. My favorite dish of 2010. Wow! what a stunner this was. The perfect comfort food fit for family or king. What a beautiful presentation this dish makes and it tastes as good as it looks. The chicken was perfection, tender, moist and juicy. Loved the use of the buttermilk. The sauce was a treat in its self. The mushrooms, garlic, onions and seasonings were perfect together creating a sauce that was out of this world. I can't wait to enjoy this dish again. Thanks for being such a great swap partner Peggy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      Oh this is a lovely recipe. Great comfort meal on these cold blustery days. I followed almost exactly (minus mushrooms), marinated the chicken in the buttermilk (milk and vinegar mix) and used homemade "panko" crumbs. I used your suggestion to cut the thighs in half as mine were quite large. These cooked nicely and looked all golden when taken from the oven. Served with fresh homemade italian bread, orzo, and brussel sprouts. I will make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2010

      We really enjoyed this recipe!! We love and prefer b/s thighs to white meat, and I can make breaded chicken everyday for DH and he would be happy! Using the panko crumbs make it so much crispier! Made exactly as written (except used dried parsley), only change next time is I may only use half the mushrooms since I am the only one who eats them. Made for AUS/NZ Make My Recipe Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      This was very yummy. The smoked paprika added a great touch. The sauce was very thin - maybe because I used half and half instead of heavy cream. I added the left-over panko crumbs with the sauce and that helped. Will make again - thanks LP!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Panko Chicken With Creamy Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (404 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 666.6
     
    Calories from Fat 408
    61%
    Total Fat 45.3 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 16.5 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 146.4 mg
    48%
    Sodium 759.0 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 31.0 g
    62%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes