8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Discovered a large panettone behind some "stuff", which was bought before Christmas LAST year, and was just sitting in the cellophane bag and box, not frozen, nor protected any other way. We looked it over -- no evidence of mold -- was a tad dry, but we toasted a slice and it appeared fine. DH prepared half of this recipe for French Toast (not the syrup)-he topped with maple syrup and I, with cinnamon/sugar. YUMMMM! We have since picked up some newer ones, and will have this when the family comes to spend the night. Thanks for posting this, WN. DH NEVER misses a Giada show -- she has such GREAT teeth !

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney December 30, 2007

This recipe is AWESOME. I make it every New Years day. I always make the cinnamon syrup the day before. If the Panettone is too fresh then it can get mushy and fall apart. Its a good idea to slice it the day before and let the slices dry a bit, then put them in a plastic container and use them the following morning. Its also good to slice the rounds into quarters since theyre easier to flip and you get more pieces.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovesublime December 30, 2008

I received a panettone for Christmas, so I made this recipe for New Year's Day breakfast. Very good flavor; a wonderful way to use the bread. From one of the other reviewer's suggestions, I cut the bread slices into quarters so they would be easier to flip. I did not make the syrup because I ran out of time; I used regular pancake syrup instead. Will try again with the syrup; it sounds so good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue January 01, 2009

Absolutely delicious! Definitely worth trying if you at all enjoy French toast! Loved the cinnamon syrup! The only thing I did not include was the final dusting with powdered sugar! Served for breakfast when my son & DIL were here & we were all in agreement ~ WONDERFUL! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 28, 2011

The syrup was great, but the French Toast itself was fantastic !! Made this A.M. for breakfast, and it was devoured. Made this as posted, and enjoyed especially by the kids. Made for PRMR tag..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker December 17, 2011

There are no words to describe how amzaing this french toast is! It is absolutely, insanely delicious! Needless to say I will most definitely be making again and it will most likely become a Christmas breakfast tradition. Thanks so much for posting this winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle December 29, 2010

This is very good. Since we were only 3 to eat it, I made half recipe. I used half and half cream. I didn't do the cinnamon syrup as I knew DH and DS wouldn't want that. They're used to maple syrup. The texture of the pannettone was perfect. Thanks Deb :) Made for Zaar star game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 03, 2010

The cinnamon syrup is very nice, but what rocked Buddha was the cheese in place of butter for a topping (I used cream cheese). He wow'd the entire breakfast. I used Challah (with permission) and it worked great. Loved the use of heavy cream too. Thanks for sharing the recipe. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu December 04, 2009
Panettone French Toast