13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'd give it 5 stars! It turned out beautifully, rising high and light. I added about a cup of chopped raisins and walnuts. I didn't have any butter left, so we spread honey on warm slices... yummm! I tried it another time, but added a cup of wheat flour instead of white... and it didn't work out so well. It turned out heavy and not done enough. Any suggestions?!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nile February 25, 2003

Excellent !!! The second time I made it I added 4 Tbps of sugar instead of te recommended 2 Tbps to make it a touch sweeter. I also added 1 cup of the fruit instead of the 1/2 cup. The extra sugar, interacting with the yeast, caused the bread to rise to a 2lb size loaf and made it much lighter and fluffier. I cooked it on the sweet bread, 2 lb light setting and it was PERFECT !!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lenaistwisted October 12, 2009

I had my doubts using a bread machine with this recipe but it is excellent. I did have to tweak it just a little. I had to use 4 cups of flour because when I checked the dough it was very wet. I also decided to add more fruit & nuts and double the sugar because I wanted a sweeter bread. It turned out perfectly! I will definitely make this again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ajlabine December 11, 2009

Very yummy bread. Worthy of 5 stars, but anyone trying this recipe should keep an eye on the bread as it cooks, or it could easily burn. My Zoji doesn't have a "sweet bread" setting, so I used the Basic setting and ended up removing the bread 15 minutes before the end of the baking cycle. It would have been burnt if I hadn't, I think! Even still, the crust was a bit overcooked. No fault of the recipe, though, as the bread itself is delicious. I'll definitely make this one again, but next time I'll just let the bread machine mix the dough and I'll bake the bread in the oven. I might also mention that I also add in the fruit before the machine "beeps" for it. I wait just long enough for the dough ball to come together, and then I add in the extras. I've found from experience that if I wait for the beep, the add-ins never seem to get evenly mixed into the dough as well as I'd like. I may try adding some chopped or slivered almonds with the fruit next time, too!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen May 26, 2009

This is scrumptious! Very soft, light and rather cakey, with a beautiful aroma. I do agree a bit more fruit would be nice. This is going to make beautiful French Toast...maybe Xmas morning? I used dairy-free margarine, and soymilk powder, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Worth every star.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catxx December 21, 2002

my sister gave me one of these every Xmas, an unwanted Xmas gift from her italian boss. I loved them!! SO I was looking forward to trying this. But everything in the bowl, and discovered I didnt have any milk powder, so I put in 2 tablespoons of condensed milk. THEN I didnt hear the beeper , but must have lifted the lid, cause it kept going, minus the fruit :( It came out perfect looking, so I mixed the fruit with some table margerine and some cinnamon sugar and spread it on a warm slice. Utterly wonderful!! Guess what we are having for Xmas breakfast!! thank you for a great and easy recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummamills November 23, 2002

This recipe is great. Turned out well the first time I made it but I had to increase the flour to 4 cups the first time around. I have now, however, tweaked it a little to suit the climate in Malaysia which is hot and humid. I reduced the water to 2/3 cup and the yeast to 1 1/2 tsp (but maintained the flour at 3 1/4 cups) and increased the sugar to 4 tbsp (as we like the bread a bit sweeter). Instead of 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla essence, I used 1 tsp vanilla essence, 1/4 tsp orange emulco (or orange oil) and 1/4 tsp lemon paste (or lemon flavor) - this gave it the citrus taste as I personally do not like store bought mixed peel in my bread. I also increased the fruit to 1 cup and used dried apricots, raisins and cranberries (my favorites). The bread rises really high and light and hit the viewing window on my 1 1/2lb Remington bread machine. I would definitely recommend this bread to others!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunita8858 May 23, 2012

Fabulous! A must make!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
agent_attardo December 07, 2010

This was rated a hit! I did add extra sugar as suggested by several reviewers and some extra dried fruit. However, I would use even more fruit next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 December 27, 2009

I've been looking around for this receipe for the last year. Ever since I tried it at my cousin's home. Her boyfriend had gone to Italy around Christmas time, and brouth backe a few boxes. Its so delicate and light, and not to sweet.. Absalutely lovely. I'm going to buy the ingriedents and try it rght away. Well let you know how it turned out. Thanks again for sharing this reciepe with all of us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia #3 September 27, 2008
Panettone Christmas Bread for the Bread Machine