732 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a pretty good copy of their potato soup. I do agree with another reviewer in that it must have dill. I added about 2 teaspoons of dill. I used my wand mixer and blitzed it leaving a few small chunks throughout. Other than that, it was near perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deeprose3_6854654 December 08, 2013

Sublime! I used vegetable broth in place of the chicken broth. Used leeks in place of the onion I also sauteed the potatoes and leeks a bit to brown the potatoes. Will make this time and time again. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lorraineeee December 03, 2013

I had a hard time melting the cream cheese. It just kept curdling so I did what someone else said and put it in a blender with a bit of the broth and that did the trick. Also, I doubled up on my recipe and I dont know if its because I used crushed red pepper flakes instead of ground and black pepper instead of white but it was really spicy! If you don't like spicy, dont double the spices if you're doubling the recipe! But the soup was great! Just had to drink a bunch of water with it haha

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bittersweet319x_6761198 November 17, 2013

Loved this, easy and good. I made a few changes - <br/><br/>To give more flavor, I sautéed 2 strips of bacon with the chopped onion ( I used 1/2 cup onion ) and then tossed in the chopped potatoes. I deglazed the pan with a bit white wine, I pulled the bacon and then added the broth and simmered until done. I garnished with the chopped bacon and some diced celery ( my mother always garnished potato soup with diced celery ). <br/><br/>Hang in there when the cream cheese melts - mid process - it does look curdled. Really a nice soup. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patti O'Furniture November 03, 2013

Delicious soup! My entire family loved it! Even my picky eater loved it! Thank you for sharing! This is my new favorite recipe for potato soup!<br/>I followed the recipe exactly but I <br/>I did add 1 extra cup cubed potatoes to be able to mash more and add to thickness.<br/>I also added 1/2 TBSP minced garlic.<br/><br/>Thank you again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j_carpenter October 24, 2013

So, so simple and so, so good! Garnish with fresh red onion and Swiss cheese. Wow! I subbed half the cream cheese for yogurt. Also subbed onion broth for chicken to make it kosher. Hot peppers work as a garnish, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel October 13, 2013

This was really easy and came out great! Followed the instructions fairly closely. I used a peppercorn medley instead of white and red pepper, and instead of seasoning salt I have used garlic salt and add some "Cookie's Flavor Enhancer" (a spice blend I love). I also sauted some crushed garlic with the onion before I added the broth and the rest of the ingredients. Then when the potatoes are for tender I put the cream cheese and a few big scoops of the soup into a blender and pour it back in the pot. I top it with cheddar and bacon, and served it with Rye bread toasted with olive oil and garlic rosemary. Even my eight year old ate it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jake Wheeler October 10, 2013

This stuff is KILLER!! I added two extra potatoes, about 3 carrots and a little more water. This is going in my cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimjam63 September 03, 2013

I am making this soup right now. I hope it isn't too hot with all that pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dorric_7064009 August 31, 2013
Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup