734 Reviews

oh my GOSH! This was easy, simple to make, with few ingredients...but with AWESOME flavor!, I have never been able to get my DH to try potato soup, he just does not like it....my son kept going on and on about it and my DH gave it a try...guess what....He loves THIS Potato Soup! I followed directions to the T, except: Used Swanson's Chicken broth, 2 cans - 3.5 C, Regular Salt and black pepper.Thank you Parsley for a outstanding Recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis December 11, 2014

I created an account just to give a rating on this recipe. This soup was amazing. So, so good. Hubby went to Panera to get some hot potato soup one day after work and they had sold out of it for the day - he was heartbroken. Just had his heart set on that soup, but I didn't know how to make any for him. Looked up this recipe and figured I'd give it a try, never having tried Panera's soup myself. So glad I came across your recipe! This soup was so easy to make and it all came together beautifully right at the end. My husband and I fought over who would get the last bowl, just delicious. I listened to some of the other reviewers and baked the potatoes in the oven, then added crumbled bacon bits, a little minced celery and a few red pepper flakes. Absolutely delicious! Didn't take long to make me wish I'd doubled the recipe, will definitely do that next time. This was my first time making potato soup and it was amazing. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
graham.chrystal November 22, 2014

We loved it. I felt like it needed a few more potatoes. To make it thicker, I added a few instant mashed potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nbstir1 November 19, 2014

I didn't mind this, neither did my husband, but its probably not something I would make again or add to our regular rotation. The main reason being the kids weren't fans. As I always say, it was worth a try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
micro_ang October 20, 2014

AWESOME! I made as directed except I added 1 t. garlic powder & 1-2 t. of dill weed. I used an immersion blender to make it creamy & smooth. Thanks for posting...it is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy October 13, 2014

I've had this soup before and it is delicious - but try this: pour this potato soup over fresh spinach and added small pieces of broiled sausage on top of it with a few onion straws. This makes for a wonderful meal by itself. That's the German way to make potato soup. They served hot butter rolls with pickled watermelon as a side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judy F. October 10, 2014

WOW! Our teenage son made this easy recipe (doubled it) on "his" night to make dinner. It was AMAZING! DEFINITELY a keeper! (Could be simplified/even quicker by buying frozen cubed potatoes if needed.) This is a weeknight "keeper!" Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WJKing October 02, 2014

I don't like soup but tried this recipe and have been hooked ever since...family favorite kids are always asking me to make it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnbarager September 21, 2014

I love this soup and have passed it on to friends. They also love it. Of course when they ask me for the recipe, I have to send them the original since I don't follow the amounts given since I make so much more! The ways to make this are endless! I've added cooper cheese, a steakhouse onion cheese and now I'm going to try a horseradish cheese. I've also added broccoli and cauliflower to it. Instead of yellow onions, I use leeks which to me give it a great taste. I just love trying to improve the taste of it. I use my stick blender to blend the potatoes and it turns out great. This is one of my go to soups.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladystrange September 11, 2014
Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup