732 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Loved the soup, sauteed onions, carrots, celery and garlic in some butter then added some ham chunks and followed thru with the remaining recipe ingredients. Delish. We have a head chest cold today so we doused it in hot sauce!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rkucia March 24, 2015

I like this very much. I add some bacon to it for an even nicer flavor, but that's what I'm used to growing up. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shirleydianalewis February 15, 2015

I was looking for a good soup for a very cold winter day and found a keeper! I doubled the recipe and my family still wanted more! Instead of using 2 packages of plain cream cheese, I used a chive flavored variety I had on hand. I think this gave it even more flavor. Served it up with bacon bits and cheddar cheese on top....Excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andreabaltes1 February 15, 2015

YUM!! I made this with fat free cream cheese so it would be a Simply Filling food on Weight Watchers. That means, I can eat it to my heart's content!! And, I did! The whole family (even those not on WW) LOVED this! This is definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annette NC February 03, 2015

Delicious! I made it with mostly vegetable broth and a little beef broth because that's what I had. Also, I don't have seasoning salt so I just added a touch more salt. It was a forgiving recipe and came out just delicious! <br/><br/>For kids, it is a bit spicy, so I might cut back on the red pepper next time for the kids, but not by much because I loved the zip! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephanieZ January 20, 2015

Great soup to warm you in winter! Basic recipe is solid, and per the reviews, can easily be modified with additional ingredients and alternative methods to suit your taste and style. I did not peel my potato (as this is simply how we prefer them). I added 2 cloves of minced garlic and modified the prep by first sauteing the onion and garlic (in a little butter and olive oil) in a large wok until translucent and then adding the diced potato and allowing to saute/steam for another 5-10 minutes or so (not really enough to cook the potato, but allowed the onion, garlic and butter to blend with the potato). I then added all to the heated, spiced broth and finished as directed (allowing the soup to simmer for 45-50 minutes). I served with optional toppings of cheddar cheese, green onion and crumbled bacon. Everyone loved this creamy, hearty soup! I'll definitely make it again and again! Thank you for sharing, Shawn H!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FolkDiva January 08, 2015

Really good! This is the easiest potato soup I've ever made! (Made just as written.) Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making January 01, 2015

it looks delicious ;))))

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mousine December 11, 2014

oh my GOSH! This was easy, simple to make, with few ingredients...but with AWESOME flavor!, I have never been able to get my DH to try potato soup, he just does not like it....my son kept going on and on about it and my DH gave it a try...guess what....He loves THIS Potato Soup! I followed directions to the T, except: Used Swanson's Chicken broth, 2 cans - 3.5 C, Regular Salt and black pepper.Thank you Parsley for a outstanding Recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis December 11, 2014

I created an account just to give a rating on this recipe. This soup was amazing. So, so good. Hubby went to Panera to get some hot potato soup one day after work and they had sold out of it for the day - he was heartbroken. Just had his heart set on that soup, but I didn't know how to make any for him. Looked up this recipe and figured I'd give it a try, never having tried Panera's soup myself. So glad I came across your recipe! This soup was so easy to make and it all came together beautifully right at the end. My husband and I fought over who would get the last bowl, just delicious. I listened to some of the other reviewers and baked the potatoes in the oven, then added crumbled bacon bits, a little minced celery and a few red pepper flakes. Absolutely delicious! Didn't take long to make me wish I'd doubled the recipe, will definitely do that next time. This was my first time making potato soup and it was amazing. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
graham.chrystal November 22, 2014
Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup