Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    725 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 725

    Sort by:

    • on August 31, 2013

      I am making this soup right now. I hope it isn't too hot with all that pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

    • on August 07, 2013

      Not sure if I did something wrong but it was not very good. Tasted like lumpy mashed potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2013

      Wonderful, easy, and the best potato soup I have tried.<br/>I doubled the recipe and used salt instead of seasoning salt and cut the potato chunks to a bite size. Cook on high until boiling then decrease the temperature to simmer for about 10 minutes or until tested with a fork. Remove from heat for a minute or two before adding the cream cheese, stir gently with a whisk and it melts much easier and smoother than adding while still on burner. <br/>Immediately put any extra soup in individual cups to save. By doing this the extras will cool much faster, and the potatoes won't keep cooking as quickly. and cause the potato chunks to dissolve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      I am not going to rate this recipe yet because I have not made it but I do feel the need to comment on it. After working for Panera (St. Louis Bread Co) for 14 years I have seen many soups and sandwiches come and go. This particular soup seems like it was the original Potato Cream Cheese Soup not the one we have now. Potato Cream Cheese Soup was a soup that they used from a company called True Soups and is much different from the one we have now. The one we have now is Panera's recipe and is called Baked Potato Soup. While many love this soup and do not remember the original I am am fan of the one from True Soups. After I make this one I will update and let you know which one this is. There was a post from Jeff B that said that he worked for Panera years ago remembers the orginal and I am sure he is right about the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      This recipe was wonderfully tasty and very simple to make. My husband and even my little boy loved it! I was short on chicken broth and substituted my missing 1 cup broth with 1 cup of heavy cream. It was thick, creamy, and the perfect potato soup recipe. Try this one, you won't regret it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      This was fast, easy and delicious. I added green onions, cheddar cheese and bacon on top and waala! I m mashed the potatoes after they soften and that gave it an amazing consistency - right before adding the cream cheese. As Kaykendrick... said below - I would have to triple this recipe. Though it would be enough for 3 in the house but unfortunately there was only leftover for the husband for work. :(

      I will def. will be making this again and it will become part of my menu for guest! Love it! I didn't give it a 5 star because it was bland at first and I had to add extra pepper and red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2013

      We loved this especially after stirring in some bacon. Instead of using cubed potatoes, I shredded some potatoes (2 huge ones) in the food processor then into the pot. Since I didn't rinse the starch off the potatoes before throwing them in, it thickened quite well without my ricing any of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      This is wonderful soup, probably the best I've made. Subbed dried onion, about a tablespoon and a half since I was out of fresh. Threw in some proscuitto (sp?) because I had some, but I think it would be equally good without. I also had to use bouillon cubes and water since I'm out of broth... shopping day is coming up. Even with all the subs, this is fantastic... Will double the recipe next time to have leftovers! Update: We make this all the time now, and every time I have company they request the recipe. Changes I've made: I add enough potatoes to just be covered by broth, so I don't measure. I don't peel the potatoes, just cut into pieces. I use Johnny's seasoning salt, which is wonderful. After stirring in the cream cheese, I blend this with an immersion blender to break up the potatoes and mix the cream cheese all the way thru, then bring it back up to serving temp. Garnish with shredded cheese, sour cream, bacon bits, and green onion as needed. It's great with and without garnish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2013

      This is a wonderful soup, easy to make and very tasty! My husband thought it tasted like a loaded baked potato with the toppings of sharp cheddar, real bacon and chives. Yummy, thanks for sharing, will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      Very good soup. I didn't bother to peel the potatoes. Next time I think I'll cut back on the seasoning salt, but other than that, it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      Perfectly perfect!!! At the request of my husband I added 2 cans of wax beans with liquid and a can of green beans as this is the way his Slovak mother made potato soup. He added a splash of red vinegar to his bowl and you know what? It was good that way!!! Try it:) Thanks for a great recipe Shawn H!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      Excellent! We enjoyed it! The only thing I did different was as one reviewer suggested, I baked my potatoes in the micowave instead of boiling. And I sauteed my onion in butter along with some minced garlic. Topped with cheddar cheese when served. I posted picture too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      I haven't been able to branch out from Panera's broccoli cheddar soup, so I have no idea if this is really the same. What I do know is my 7 and 5 year olds both loved it, so it's a winner in my book! We did double the season salt, just because potato soup can be bland. It certainly had flavor. I used a package of thawed hash brown potatoes to cut the work down. This was a snap to put together. We grated cheddar on top and cooked some turkey bacon to crumble on top as well. Our soon used his bacon as his spoon :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      Maybe I'm a soup snob but I found this soup boring. I even tried tricks to improve it (baked the potatoes, sauteed onion and garlic in butter before adding broth etc) but I just don't get the hoopla on this one. It was just ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      Very easy to prepare, my children both ask for this when they are home sick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

    • on January 05, 2013

      I'm sorry but this really lacked for me. The taste and the texture were boring and did not have any flavor profile except the unpleasant burn on my lips from the red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      Amazing!!! My husband cooked this when I wasn't feeling well and it was exactly what I needed! Creamy, tasty, wouldn't do anything different!! He was amazed at how easy it was to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      this soup is amazing, made slight variations ( according to my family's taste) and followed some other recommendations listed here and holy smokes. I used Yukon Gold potatoes (baked) and saut?ed my onions and leeks with garlic first. I also used a little more cream cheese ( just because I love cream cheese) and then seasoned to taste. I topped my soup with bacon and had sour cream and broccoli available for those that wanted it ...served with homemade crusty wheat bread, this soup was such a hit I had to turn around and make a second pot the following day !!! Thanks loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 353.6
     
    Calories from Fat 189
    53%
    Total Fat 21.0 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 62.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 938.4 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites