742 Reviews

I thought this was great. I was running low on potatoes so topped up the 4 cups with cauliflower. Used about 3 1/2 cups of potatoes and 1/2 cup cauliflower. Just threw everything in a pot except the cheese and boiled. I used oxo powder and water for the broth. My cream cheese was low fat. After potatoes were tender I smashed a bit, then used a hand blender right in the pot and blended it smooth. It wasn't totally smooth, it had a bit of texture, and I like it that way. Great and easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TammyzBoyz March 27, 2011

Really warms the innards on these cold winter days. This could easily become a favorite with us!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BluEyedCookette February 20, 2011

Wow! My fiance has been raving about Panera Bread's potato soup since last September! I printed this off a few days ago and whipped some up while he was at work. His response, "This tastes almost identical to Panera's!! This is fantastic!" I don't like potato soup, but I have a feeling I'll be cooking this A LOT!!

Also, I only had crushed red pepper on hand and I used about 1/2 teaspoon of it. I think I'll use more next time because FH likes the kick!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjlewis0409 February 14, 2011

very good soup! prepared as written aside from using veggie broth rather than chicken. i did have to add about a cup of water as it was getting pretty thick. great flavor and texture- i will def make it again but next time i think i'll use a little less cream cheese as it was a bit much for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristenErinM February 09, 2011

Oooops!! Forgot to add the stars!! Fabulous soup!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaaylia January 31, 2011

I really enjoyed this soup and my wife loved it! I thought the 1/4 tsp red pepper was really overpowering, but don't get me wrong I LOVE spicy food. Just as a warning if you're making this for family who don't like spicy things keep this in mind. I was surprised not to have seen this in any of the reviews I read but nevertheless I made this soup just as it was written so oh well. Great soup, next time I'll just use 1/8 tsp so my son will eat it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fixxxer2 January 30, 2011

I had all of the ingredients on hand for this, so I made it instead of my regular potato soup recipe. I really wanted to like this because it was way easier and took less time, but I thought it tasted too much like cream cheese. I even added more potatoes and bacon, but it still tasted predominently of cream cheese. I'll probably go back to my usual recipe instead of trying to make this one to my taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brookelynne26 January 06, 2011

Really yummy. Everyone in my family likes it, so it's a definite keeper. Have made several times now. Next time I am going to try using a flavored cream cheese because that sounds good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThreeFish November 02, 2010

I have been making this recipe for years. My family just loves it. I do add a few ingrediants to it to make a soup that my family loves served with crusty bread. yumm. Add: very crispy and crumbled fried bacon. And 1 or 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup. (you can use any cream of soup but my family likes mushroom best). Sometimes I add chopped celery or carrots if I have some extra in the fridge, If raw add at beginning of cooking if precooked add a little while before you add the cream cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbkrnic August 01, 2010

This soup was so easy to make and soooo delicious!! Used black pepper and cayenne pepper by mistake and even though it was outrageously spicy, we still ate every last bite. Great reheated also!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmonaco77 July 03, 2010
Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup