Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    716 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 716

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2013

      This is a wonderful soup, easy to make and very tasty! My husband thought it tasted like a loaded baked potato with the toppings of sharp cheddar, real bacon and chives. Yummy, thanks for sharing, will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2013

      Very good soup. I didn't bother to peel the potatoes. Next time I think I'll cut back on the seasoning salt, but other than that, it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      Perfectly perfect!!! At the request of my husband I added 2 cans of wax beans with liquid and a can of green beans as this is the way his Slovak mother made potato soup. He added a splash of red vinegar to his bowl and you know what? It was good that way!!! Try it:) Thanks for a great recipe Shawn H!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2013

      Excellent! We enjoyed it! The only thing I did different was as one reviewer suggested, I baked my potatoes in the micowave instead of boiling. And I sauteed my onion in butter along with some minced garlic. Topped with cheddar cheese when served. I posted picture too. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      I haven't been able to branch out from Panera's broccoli cheddar soup, so I have no idea if this is really the same. What I do know is my 7 and 5 year olds both loved it, so it's a winner in my book! We did double the season salt, just because potato soup can be bland. It certainly had flavor. I used a package of thawed hash brown potatoes to cut the work down. This was a snap to put together. We grated cheddar on top and cooked some turkey bacon to crumble on top as well. Our soon used his bacon as his spoon :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      Maybe I'm a soup snob but I found this soup boring. I even tried tricks to improve it (baked the potatoes, sauteed onion and garlic in butter before adding broth etc) but I just don't get the hoopla on this one. It was just ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      Very easy to prepare, my children both ask for this when they are home sick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

    • on January 05, 2013

      I'm sorry but this really lacked for me. The taste and the texture were boring and did not have any flavor profile except the unpleasant burn on my lips from the red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      Amazing!!! My husband cooked this when I wasn't feeling well and it was exactly what I needed! Creamy, tasty, wouldn't do anything different!! He was amazed at how easy it was to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      this soup is amazing, made slight variations ( according to my family's taste) and followed some other recommendations listed here and holy smokes. I used Yukon Gold potatoes (baked) and saut?ed my onions and leeks with garlic first. I also used a little more cream cheese ( just because I love cream cheese) and then seasoned to taste. I topped my soup with bacon and had sour cream and broccoli available for those that wanted it ...served with homemade crusty wheat bread, this soup was such a hit I had to turn around and make a second pot the following day !!! Thanks loved it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      A new favorite soup! Guests will be sure to love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      Wow! A silky, smooth soup with a slightly spicy finish. I used my immersion blender to make it perfectly smooth and then served it with crispy crumpled bacon and shredded cheddar cheese. Next time I'm going to see if it works with potato flakes and Velvetta for a great "pantry" meal during a storm or power outage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      This is one of those soups that impresses even the pickiest eater! Wonderful soup that is not watery and thin! Thank you for the great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2012

      Delicious!!! I roasted the potatoes in EVOO w/garlic salt and pepper as someone suggested. Saute'd 2 garlic cloves with the onions. And I also blended the cream cheese with some broth before adding it all together. THIS WAS SOOOOOO YUMMY. The recipe as directed made only enough for 3 adults since we all had seconds!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2012

      A very good recipe for a hearty soup. The recipe works well as stated without add-ins or substitutions.

      That being said, this is also a great base recipe to build on. I have, over the years, used many of the modifications mentioned in the reviews. IE adding Garlic, Carrots and Cellery and sauteing the veggies. I also substitute Chipotle Powder of the ground red pepper. The chicken broth I use is my own. I have added in cooked chicken, Sausage, bacon etc. all with success.

      I recommend giving it a try. Either as posted, or as a quick and easy base to your own creations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2012

      While this may not be 'the' Panera bread recipe, we very much enjoy the simplicity of this adaptation. A good soup when cooked with ingredients as called for, but so easy to amend to your liking. Carrots, celery, fat or low fat cream cheese, real or imitation bacon, a little more potato, reduced sodium broth, there are so many options. I've made this soup many times, with many variations, and have yet to come up with a version I did not like.

      Once the potatoes are tender, I scoop about two cups of them out of the soup and set aside. Since the cream cheese is softened at this point, a hand-held ricer comes in very handy for squeezing the cheese uniformly into the soup. Then squeeze the potatoes through the ricer, which not only thickens the soup, but helps to clean the cheese out of the ricer.

      You might guess what is on the stove as I type this. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      Very good! I left out the onion and only put in a pinch of red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      We love this soup! I used the equivalent of 1/3 c of onion - 2 tbls of dehydrated minced onion. Next time I need to double the potatoes and triple everything else. I precooked and cut up the potatoes. My dh says to make sure to peel the potatoes. Also, after slightly heating the cream cheese in the broth, I pureed it with some of the broth in the food processor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      Excellent! I Iike to add bacon and shredded cheese before serving. Mmmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 353.6
     
    Calories from Fat 189
    53%
    Total Fat 21.0 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 62.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 938.4 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites