741 Reviews

This is absolutely delicious as written. I made the recipe plus half because I had 6 cups of chicken broth. I'm pretty sure I used more potatoes then the recipe said to use. I used my electric pressure cooker. Threw everything but the cream cheese in and cooked for 18 minutes. Took half of the broth and more then half of the potatoes out and blended it with the cream cheese. I used lite cream cheese by the way. Poured it back into the pressure cooker. Stirred and done. Delicious. I seriously think it was the seasoned salt that made the flavor. Lawrys. Delicious! Thank you for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy F. October 24, 2015

Everyone loves this soup even the ones that say they don't like Potato Soup, definitely the most requested recipe I cook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billd2500 April 22, 2013

This was awesome...it had a nice kick and was so creamy and delicious. Definetly comfort food and awesome when it's storming outside. I bet it would be good with some kielbasa in it too...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dpeugh85 March 25, 2013

This soup is so amazing! Super easy & delicious. It definitely tastes like you spend a whole heck of a lot more time making it than you actually do! Love it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie_E_H February 02, 2013

Since it was only 8 degrees here today & I've had a taste for potato soup I thought Id try this highly rated recipe. Another vote for a 5* recipe from me! I always try to follow a recipe for the first time then make changes but I knew Id have to add a little more onion & have to saute it in some butter before adding the rest of ingredients, just because we love onion, I finely chopped 3 but they were on the small size. Served it with Sweet Cornbread & added green onions & shredded cheese on top of the soup. I set aside some of the potatoes before I used the stick blender. It was nice & warm on this fridget night. Glad there is enough for another bowl for the each of us for tomorrow.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoryJean54 January 24, 2013

This is the first time I've reviewed a recipe, but thought I just had to. My many thanks to Shawn H for this recipe.. I live in the deep South and It never gets that cold here, but last couple of days it dipped into the 20s and we wanted a great comfort winter food. I had cream cheese left from the Christmas baking, so this recipe fit the bill. Although I did make a few alterations, all the credit goes to this cook. Another reviewer had said she used baked potatoes instead of boiled and sounded easier to me. I cooled the potatoes and added them last because they were cooked thoroughly already. Sauteed the onion, spices, then added broth. I also softened the cream cheese in the microwave, making it super easy to dissolve. The only thing I added was cheese and bacon (put crumbles in in last couple of minutes). I realized alot of people frown on Velveeta (I know, not really cheese) but I used a mixture of that and light shredded cheddar, adding with cream cheese. I did thicken with a bit of flour and evaporated milk, because we like a really thick soup. The flavor is just so good. Texture is great. This is definitely a keeper. Will be my go to soup from now on. Thanks so much, Shawn, for posting this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happypet January 04, 2012

This is a great potato soup recipe!! I had never had it with the ground red pepper (cayenne) before and I am definitely a fan! I actually cut the recipe in half because I only had half the amount of chicken stock it was calling for and it was still fabulous! I was a little worried about the cream cheese when I put it in because of the way it looked, I thought I maybe hadn't turned the heat down far enough but it was fine! I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ekelley8804 October 31, 2011

Super easy and super yummy! The whole family loved it, even the picky eaters :) Thanks for an easy and delish soup recipe....

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mojocooljojo April 25, 2011

This soup is to die for! I love potato soup any way but this is by far the best soup I have had. I made a huge pot of this soup and my husband couldn't stop eating it. He polished it off in no time at all. I'm making it again today for my mother. I know she'll love it! Thanks for posting it,

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roxie52 March 29, 2011

Huge hit with the entire family! We used ham stock for the base, which added a nice, rich flavor. Potatoes were diced, which reduced the cooking time and we used an immersion blender to make a smooth soup with a bit of texture (worked well mixing in the cream cheese also). We served it with a loaf of focaccia and made it a meal. Next time we'll crumble up some bacon for garnish. Definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D. Duckie March 28, 2011
Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup