Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    718 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 718

    Sort by:

    • on November 19, 2010

      This soup is soooo good!!! Although i would suggest that if you are going to add ham to the soup that you forego the seasoning salt. A mistake i mean to rectify next time i make this delicousness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2010

      OMG! This is the best, most simple potato soup recipe I've ever made! I took another reviewer's suggestion and used cubed hashed brown potatoes (from the freezer section) and it came out perfectly and took no time at all!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Wow I love this soup, so does my whole family! We now add cooked chicken breast for more of a compete meal, its so awesome! Im making it tonight for my daughters birthday! its what she wants for her birthday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      I absolutely love this receipe! There is no need to modify this receipe. I double this receipe and we have it for leftovers. I too will never make another potato soup again! My 12-year-old loves this soup and asks for it often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      This is delicious soup. I made exactly as stated and it turned out perfectly. It is a bit spicy but good. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      I made this with too many modifications to be able to rate it, but I wanted to share anyway so that you know how amazingly versatile this recipe is. I sauteed 4 small onions chopped very roughly, then browned 3 large potatoes, chopped very roughly as well. I deglazed with vegetable broth, then added the rest of the broth, garlic, garlic salt, red pepper flakes and some hot sauce. I smashed all the potatoes, then added maybe 2 ounces of cream cheese. I dished up, and stirred in a handful of shredded Italian cheese mix into every serving. It came out tasting like risotto potato soup. Yum! So do what you want with this recipe--you really can't mess it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      Everyone loves this soup even the ones that say they don't like Potato Soup, definitely the most requested recipe I cook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2013

      This was awesome...it had a nice kick and was so creamy and delicious. Definetly comfort food and awesome when it's storming outside. I bet it would be good with some kielbasa in it too...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      This soup is so amazing! Super easy & delicious. It definitely tastes like you spend a whole heck of a lot more time making it than you actually do! Love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Since it was only 8 degrees here today & I've had a taste for potato soup I thought Id try this highly rated recipe. Another vote for a 5* recipe from me! I always try to follow a recipe for the first time then make changes but I knew Id have to add a little more onion & have to saute it in some butter before adding the rest of ingredients, just because we love onion, I finely chopped 3 but they were on the small size. Served it with Sweet Cornbread & added green onions & shredded cheese on top of the soup. I set aside some of the potatoes before I used the stick blender. It was nice & warm on this fridget night. Glad there is enough for another bowl for the each of us for tomorrow.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      This is the first time I've reviewed a recipe, but thought I just had to. My many thanks to Shawn H for this recipe.. I live in the deep South and It never gets that cold here, but last couple of days it dipped into the 20s and we wanted a great comfort winter food. I had cream cheese left from the Christmas baking, so this recipe fit the bill. Although I did make a few alterations, all the credit goes to this cook. Another reviewer had said she used baked potatoes instead of boiled and sounded easier to me. I cooled the potatoes and added them last because they were cooked thoroughly already. Sauteed the onion, spices, then added broth. I also softened the cream cheese in the microwave, making it super easy to dissolve. The only thing I added was cheese and bacon (put crumbles in in last couple of minutes). I realized alot of people frown on Velveeta (I know, not really cheese) but I used a mixture of that and light shredded cheddar, adding with cream cheese. I did thicken with a bit of flour and evaporated milk, because we like a really thick soup. The flavor is just so good. Texture is great. This is definitely a keeper. Will be my go to soup from now on. Thanks so much, Shawn, for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      This is a great potato soup recipe!! I had never had it with the ground red pepper (cayenne) before and I am definitely a fan! I actually cut the recipe in half because I only had half the amount of chicken stock it was calling for and it was still fabulous! I was a little worried about the cream cheese when I put it in because of the way it looked, I thought I maybe hadn't turned the heat down far enough but it was fine! I will definitely be making this again and again. Thanks so much for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Super easy and super yummy! The whole family loved it, even the picky eaters :) Thanks for an easy and delish soup recipe....

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      This soup is to die for! I love potato soup any way but this is by far the best soup I have had. I made a huge pot of this soup and my husband couldn't stop eating it. He polished it off in no time at all. I'm making it again today for my mother. I know she'll love it! Thanks for posting it,

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      Huge hit with the entire family! We used ham stock for the base, which added a nice, rich flavor. Potatoes were diced, which reduced the cooking time and we used an immersion blender to make a smooth soup with a bit of texture (worked well mixing in the cream cheese also). We served it with a loaf of focaccia and made it a meal. Next time we'll crumble up some bacon for garnish. Definitely a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      I thought this was great. I was running low on potatoes so topped up the 4 cups with cauliflower. Used about 3 1/2 cups of potatoes and 1/2 cup cauliflower. Just threw everything in a pot except the cheese and boiled. I used oxo powder and water for the broth. My cream cheese was low fat. After potatoes were tender I smashed a bit, then used a hand blender right in the pot and blended it smooth. It wasn't totally smooth, it had a bit of texture, and I like it that way. Great and easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      Really warms the innards on these cold winter days. This could easily become a favorite with us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      Wow! My fiance has been raving about Panera Bread's potato soup since last September! I printed this off a few days ago and whipped some up while he was at work. His response, "This tastes almost identical to Panera's!! This is fantastic!" I don't like potato soup, but I have a feeling I'll be cooking this A LOT!!

      Also, I only had crushed red pepper on hand and I used about 1/2 teaspoon of it. I think I'll use more next time because FH likes the kick!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      very good soup! prepared as written aside from using veggie broth rather than chicken. i did have to add about a cup of water as it was getting pretty thick. great flavor and texture- i will def make it again but next time i think i'll use a little less cream cheese as it was a bit much for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      Oooops!! Forgot to add the stars!! Fabulous soup!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 353.6
     
    Calories from Fat 189
    53%
    Total Fat 21.0 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 62.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 938.4 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites