742 Reviews

I just created an account so I could review this soup. This is the best soup I've ever made. I agree with 'learningtogether' that I was in doubt it would come out OK (it does look strange). This soup is fabulous exactly as it is. As a leftover I added a bit of sharp cheddar and crumbled bacon - that put the taste over the top. I'm already planning to make it again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jokrueg January 24, 2011

Uhm...WOW! This was great! I've made it twice in one week and it's been perfect both times. I did saute my onions prior to adding the other ingredients...other than that I followed directions 100%. Both times, I've intended to try adding cheese or green onions, but I've not been able to hold digging in long enough to do that. It's just too yummy as is.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kattiegirl01 July 12, 2010

This is awesomeness in a bowl. Pretty easy to make and cheap, too. I cheated a bit and used red potatoes, left the skin on, and diced them in one of those vandalia onion chopper things. The skin gave it character, more of a distinct potato flavor. I also minced up a whole shallot and put it in(on a double recipe). I also sprinkled in some flour to thicken it up. Gonna try it with bacon tomorrow, should be even better because bacon is the candy of meats.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChubbyJedi October 29, 2010

Wow, this soup is fantastic and really hits the spot on a cold fall (almost winter) night. I made 1.5x everything except the cream cheese (for which I just used an 8-oz block of neufchatel cheese) and added a chopped carrot, chopped celery, and 1 Tbsp of minced garlic. Tossed everything (except the cream cheese) into the slowcooker on low for 6 hours and stirred in the cream cheese before blending everything. I might never look for another potato soup recipe again...

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Becky H. November 28, 2011

Wow! Awesome! Some reviewers were right...it looks kind of icky right before its ready...I did use a stick blender bec we like it smooth. This I did immediately after adding the cream cheese. I served it like a loaded potato bar with crumbled bacon, sour cream, and freshly shredded cheddar cheese.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki S March 01, 2011

I wasn't really impressed with this recipe. I found that the cream cheese was very over powering and not very pleasant. I added bacon and garlic to give it some flavor, but finally gave up. It did taste better the next day, but I don't think that I would make it again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayleighsmom529 January 03, 2011

This soup is soooo good!!! Although i would suggest that if you are going to add ham to the soup that you forego the seasoning salt. A mistake i mean to rectify next time i make this delicousness!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
austinta November 19, 2010

i've made this a couple times now and it's so easy and tasty. i use light herb and garlic cream cheese and throw in some dill, garlic, and a handful of bacon bits. sometime i have to try topping it with sour cream, green onion, and cheddar like a baked potato. this is my new favorite autumn soup.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spiritussancto October 18, 2010

Wow this recipe is perfect! Followed the directions exactly as written and I have to admit I didn't expect it to turn out so good.I haven't had much luck with potato soup recipes in the the past,I have always found them to be bland and disappointing.This was creamy, flavorful and comforting on a chilly day.Hubby adored this soup and I have a feeling it will be requested quite often:) Thanks Shawn H for a winner!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delish #2 February 26, 2011

I also created an account to post a review!

I used white potatos for this soup & doubled the recipe. I took some potatos out & blended them to thicken up the soup, but this didn't work. Then I took out a bit of the liquid & added flour-2 different times-, still wouldn't thicken up. The soup also tasted quite bland. I ended up adding a bit more season salt(to taste) & also added a cup of shredded parmesan, asiago & romano cheese. The cheese made the difference!! Tastes just like a restaurant made it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracinoel January 04, 2011
Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup