Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup

    Average Rating:

    725 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 725

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2011

      My family loves this soup. There are a few things I done different that made it taste richer. Instead of cooking the potatoes on the stove top, (I think this maks them watery) I baked them in the microwave with the skin on. I let them cool down and then peel them and cut them into chuncks. They stay together much better, and they have a much better taste to them. If you are using red potatoes, which I prefer, leave the skin on them. I also saute my onions and garlic in a pan with butter really slow so they don't brown. I put the chicken broth in the pot first, then the onions and butter. I let the cream cheese get to room temp, and then use my wire strainer to mash the cream cheese through it with the back of a spoon. It dissolves much easier. After the soup comes to a slow boil, I add the potatoes and turn in down on simmer for a while. When I serve it, I put crispy bacon cumbles on top along with cheddar cheese and green onions. I also think it is good with a dollop of sour cream. Bake a pan of corn bread, and you have the most delicious meal you could ever eat. I use one cream cheese to one carton of chicken broth. I have to double or triple this recipe......Yuuuuuum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2010

      If sweet little baby Jesus floated down from a cloud and handed you a bowl of soup, this would be it.

      This soup was so good that I created a username just to review and comment on it. I made the soup exactly as written. Even after adding the cream cheese I was still skeptical that it would come out okay (it's kind of ugly looking until the last minute). But after whisking in the cream cheese and letting it simmer on low heat for about 5 minutes it was obvious that this was one HELL of a soup.

      Add an additional russet potato or two if you prefer a heartier soup, but I thought that the texture was velvety and wonderful as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Thank you for posting this recipe. My boyfriend was diagnosed with cancer and had half of his tongue surgically removed last July. He finished chemo and radiation 4 months ago. This is the first thing he was able to eat with ease and enjoy at the same time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2010

      This was delicious! This is a definite keeper. Here are a couple things that I did a little differently, preparation-wise. To avoid the possibility of the cream cheese curdling (as some have said), I put my cream cheese in the blender in fourths, added some of the broth and blended to perfection. I also put a whole onion in the food processor before adding it to the soup. My kids are funny about seeing big chunks of onion in ANYTHING, so this was a great way to hide the onion and still get the great flavor. I also doubled the recipe. Simply delish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      I had a block of cream cheese that was near expiry and I was looking for a meal to use it up on. I'm so glad I found this recipe!!! I'll never make potato soup another way again!! It was thick and creamy, very flavorful with plenty of potatoes. And it smells out of this world! I made a few modifications. I didn't peel the potatoes. I sauteed the onions in butter & olive oil, then added 2 cloves of garlic, a pinch of red pepper flakes and the potatoes and let them cook for a few minutes before adding the broth. I used 4 cups of water and 4 bullion cubes. Finally, I threw in about 2 tbsp of dried chives. Quick, easy and AMAZING -- thank you Shawn!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      Having worked at St. Louis Bread Co. when they served this soup, there are two things you're missing from the soup. One ingredient that was key to the taste is dill weed. Also, they had some very tiny pieces of chicken in it to make it a little richer. Still, this is a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2012

      This is a wonderfully comforting and creamy soup. I used red skinned potatoes and left the skins on. I diced them somewhat small and roasted them in the oven with some fresh rosemary and thyme, salt and pepper and olive oil. When they were fork tender, I smashed some of them.I sauteed the onion and garlic in a bit of butter and bacon grease, then made as directed adding the potatoes with the cream cheese. I topped each serving with shredded sharp cheddar, green onions, sour cream and crumbled bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2011

      Just made this tonight... It was really good - I HAD to add bacon though. Fried up 4 thick slices of bacon then sauteed the onions in the bacon grease before adding to give the soup some more flavor. Put 1/2 the crumbled bacon in the soup then used the rest as garnish. Added green onions and cheese as garnish too. I didn't think the cream cheese was 'too much' as some noted, but then again, I like cream cheese... alot! DH even thought it was pretty good and he's not a fan of potatoes OR soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      I was influenced to make a potato soup while watching Kitchen Nightmares. The show was about a restaurant specializing in potatoes. Anyway, I gave this a try and it was great. I didn't change any of the recipe but wanted a texture that was smooth. I used my stick blender and it worked out great. The recipe is not only tasty by itself; but I can see it used as a base for a corn or clam chowder. I would add either canned corn and blend or add clams after all other ingredients were blended leaving the clams whole. Thanks for the recipe. It is definately a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      I just created an account so I could review this soup. This is the best soup I've ever made. I agree with 'learningtogether' that I was in doubt it would come out OK (it does look strange). This soup is fabulous exactly as it is. As a leftover I added a bit of sharp cheddar and crumbled bacon - that put the taste over the top. I'm already planning to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      Uhm...WOW! This was great! I've made it twice in one week and it's been perfect both times. I did saute my onions prior to adding the other ingredients...other than that I followed directions 100%. Both times, I've intended to try adding cheese or green onions, but I've not been able to hold digging in long enough to do that. It's just too yummy as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      Such a great recipe! It's wonderful just as written. I read reviews after I had made the soup and learned a lot of great additions or alternate techniques to complement this recipe. Will definetly make this one again... and again... and again!

      For novice cooks- do not cut your potatoes ahead of time because they will get brown and gross!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      Wow, this soup is fantastic and really hits the spot on a cold fall (almost winter) night. I made 1.5x everything except the cream cheese (for which I just used an 8-oz block of neufchatel cheese) and added a chopped carrot, chopped celery, and 1 Tbsp of minced garlic. Tossed everything (except the cream cheese) into the slowcooker on low for 6 hours and stirred in the cream cheese before blending everything. I might never look for another potato soup recipe again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2010

      This is awesomeness in a bowl. Pretty easy to make and cheap, too. I cheated a bit and used red potatoes, left the skin on, and diced them in one of those vandalia onion chopper things. The skin gave it character, more of a distinct potato flavor. I also minced up a whole shallot and put it in(on a double recipe). I also sprinkled in some flour to thicken it up. Gonna try it with bacon tomorrow, should be even better because bacon is the candy of meats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2010

      i've made this a couple times now and it's so easy and tasty. i use light herb and garlic cream cheese and throw in some dill, garlic, and a handful of bacon bits. sometime i have to try topping it with sour cream, green onion, and cheddar like a baked potato. this is my new favorite autumn soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      Wow! Awesome! Some reviewers were right...it looks kind of icky right before its ready...I did use a stick blender bec we like it smooth. This I did immediately after adding the cream cheese. I served it like a loaded potato bar with crumbled bacon, sour cream, and freshly shredded cheddar cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      Wow this recipe is perfect! Followed the directions exactly as written and I have to admit I didn't expect it to turn out so good.I haven't had much luck with potato soup recipes in the the past,I have always found them to be bland and disappointing.This was creamy, flavorful and comforting on a chilly day.Hubby adored this soup and I have a feeling it will be requested quite often:) Thanks Shawn H for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      I also created an account to post a review!

      I used white potatos for this soup & doubled the recipe. I took some potatos out & blended them to thicken up the soup, but this didn't work. Then I took out a bit of the liquid & added flour-2 different times-, still wouldn't thicken up. The soup also tasted quite bland. I ended up adding a bit more season salt(to taste) & also added a cup of shredded parmesan, asiago & romano cheese. The cheese made the difference!! Tastes just like a restaurant made it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      I wasn't really impressed with this recipe. I found that the cream cheese was very over powering and not very pleasant. I added bacon and garlic to give it some flavor, but finally gave up. It did taste better the next day, but I don't think that I would make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Amazing!!! My whole family loved it and I dont even really like soup. I did double the potatoes to 8 cups so our soup was nice and thick. I added a little sour cream and garlic powder then some sprinkles of bacon bits! MMMMMMMM!! We all kept going back for more, thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 37

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (307 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 353.6
     
    Calories from Fat 189
    53%
    Total Fat 21.0 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 11.4 g
    57%
    Cholesterol 62.4 mg
    20%
    Sodium 938.4 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 11.4 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites