734 Reviews

My family loves this soup. There are a few things I done different that made it taste richer. Instead of cooking the potatoes on the stove top, (I think this maks them watery) I baked them in the microwave with the skin on. I let them cool down and then peel them and cut them into chuncks. They stay together much better, and they have a much better taste to them. If you are using red potatoes, which I prefer, leave the skin on them. I also saute my onions and garlic in a pan with butter really slow so they don't brown. I put the chicken broth in the pot first, then the onions and butter. I let the cream cheese get to room temp, and then use my wire strainer to mash the cream cheese through it with the back of a spoon. It dissolves much easier. After the soup comes to a slow boil, I add the potatoes and turn in down on simmer for a while. When I serve it, I put crispy bacon cumbles on top along with cheddar cheese and green onions. I also think it is good with a dollop of sour cream. Bake a pan of corn bread, and you have the most delicious meal you could ever eat. I use one cream cheese to one carton of chicken broth. I have to double or triple this recipe......Yuuuuuum

63 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaykendrick50_12223934 January 11, 2011

If sweet little baby Jesus floated down from a cloud and handed you a bowl of soup, this would be it.

This soup was so good that I created a username just to review and comment on it. I made the soup exactly as written. Even after adding the cream cheese I was still skeptical that it would come out okay (it's kind of ugly looking until the last minute). But after whisking in the cream cheese and letting it simmer on low heat for about 5 minutes it was obvious that this was one HELL of a soup.

Add an additional russet potato or two if you prefer a heartier soup, but I thought that the texture was velvety and wonderful as is.

43 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
learningtogether November 07, 2010

Thank you for posting this recipe. My boyfriend was diagnosed with cancer and had half of his tongue surgically removed last July. He finished chemo and radiation 4 months ago. This is the first thing he was able to eat with ease and enjoy at the same time.

40 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bebop102007 February 02, 2011

This was delicious! This is a definite keeper. Here are a couple things that I did a little differently, preparation-wise. To avoid the possibility of the cream cheese curdling (as some have said), I put my cream cheese in the blender in fourths, added some of the broth and blended to perfection. I also put a whole onion in the food processor before adding it to the soup. My kids are funny about seeing big chunks of onion in ANYTHING, so this was a great way to hide the onion and still get the great flavor. I also doubled the recipe. Simply delish!!!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coach's Wife October 25, 2010

I had a block of cream cheese that was near expiry and I was looking for a meal to use it up on. I'm so glad I found this recipe!!! I'll never make potato soup another way again!! It was thick and creamy, very flavorful with plenty of potatoes. And it smells out of this world! I made a few modifications. I didn't peel the potatoes. I sauteed the onions in butter & olive oil, then added 2 cloves of garlic, a pinch of red pepper flakes and the potatoes and let them cook for a few minutes before adding the broth. I used 4 cups of water and 4 bullion cubes. Finally, I threw in about 2 tbsp of dried chives. Quick, easy and AMAZING -- thank you Shawn!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelleh79 August 09, 2010

Having worked at St. Louis Bread Co. when they served this soup, there are two things you're missing from the soup. One ingredient that was key to the taste is dill weed. Also, they had some very tiny pieces of chicken in it to make it a little richer. Still, this is a good recipe.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff Bloomer November 04, 2012

This is a wonderfully comforting and creamy soup. I used red skinned potatoes and left the skins on. I diced them somewhat small and roasted them in the oven with some fresh rosemary and thyme, salt and pepper and olive oil. When they were fork tender, I smashed some of them.I sauteed the onion and garlic in a bit of butter and bacon grease, then made as directed adding the potatoes with the cream cheese. I topped each serving with shredded sharp cheddar, green onions, sour cream and crumbled bacon.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs February 21, 2012

Just made this tonight... It was really good - I HAD to add bacon though. Fried up 4 thick slices of bacon then sauteed the onions in the bacon grease before adding to give the soup some more flavor. Put 1/2 the crumbled bacon in the soup then used the rest as garnish. Added green onions and cheese as garnish too. I didn't think the cream cheese was 'too much' as some noted, but then again, I like cream cheese... alot! DH even thought it was pretty good and he's not a fan of potatoes OR soup!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amikins October 01, 2011

I was influenced to make a potato soup while watching Kitchen Nightmares. The show was about a restaurant specializing in potatoes. Anyway, I gave this a try and it was great. I didn't change any of the recipe but wanted a texture that was smooth. I used my stick blender and it worked out great. The recipe is not only tasty by itself; but I can see it used as a base for a corn or clam chowder. I would add either canned corn and blend or add clams after all other ingredients were blended leaving the clams whole. Thanks for the recipe. It is definately a keeper.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kailua Cook September 28, 2011

I just created an account so I could review this soup. This is the best soup I've ever made. I agree with 'learningtogether' that I was in doubt it would come out OK (it does look strange). This soup is fabulous exactly as it is. As a leftover I added a bit of sharp cheddar and crumbled bacon - that put the taste over the top. I'm already planning to make it again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jokrueg January 24, 2011
Panera's Cream Cheese Potato Soup