362 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just read about a hundred of these reviews...I think its funny how people say "this doesn't taste at all like Panera" and then go on about how they changed this and that part of the recipe when they tried it:-) I have not yet made this, but when I do I'll be using vegetable broth (not sure if I should use that or chicken-style vegetarian broth). Even so, a suggestion that might be helpful. The people that say it was flavorless...my guess is if you use a high quality sharp cheddar like Cabot instead of Kraft it will make it much more flavorful. And then it seems like most of the people that really disliked this recipe said it was much too thick. The recipe didn't specify whether or not to cover while simmering, but that can impact how thick the soup is as can the size/shape of the pot and what your definition of a "simmer" and "low heat" are, among other things. Its easy enough to replace water that has evaporated or add more broth (depending on how the too thick soup tastes)...silly to grudgingly eat it or throw it out because its too thick!

82 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petsvet December 02, 2010

This soup is delicious! I did add some garlic to the onions, and sauteed the carrots (which I grated) with the onions and garlic. Just a note about curdling....the lower the fat content in the milk product (half & half, milk, cream, etc) you use, the higher your risk of curdling. The higher fat content protects it from curdling as easily. That being said, you can still use low or no-fat products, but you have to take great care not to let them boil. My suggestion would be to make the soup all the way through, and add the milk products and cheese at the very end and heat gently, and slowly.

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacya100 July 30, 2011

This was an awesome soup. And whether this tastes exactly like Panera who cares, it is fantastic. I think you would have to have a side by side taste test to even compare, and lets face it , if you don't use the exact brand names of what Panera uses it won't taste the exact same anyways. Reading all the previous reviewers about the nutmeg was getting me nervous but I wanted to try the receipe as written and I did and I was worrying for nothing. The flavors were outstanding. The only thing I changed was I grated the carrot instead of julienned and I used my immersion blender in it for just a few seconds at the end. Everything turned out fantastic. I loved it and it is such a filling soup too. This is a soup I will be making again. Thanks so much for sharing chefnini.

29 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FrenchBunny April 10, 2010

Wow! I am freaking out right now because I just made Panera's Broc/Cheddar soup in my own kitchen! It tastes exactly like their recipe. I just wish I had made bread bowls to go with it! I would give it 500 stars! It thickened up great and tasted amazing! This is a true 5 Star winner!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
One Happy Mama February 08, 2011

This is the best recipe for broccoli soup I have came across!! I do not understand why people search for recipes just to change everything about it and then complain and rate low because it wasn't as good as they had hoped. First off why not try the recipe first and then make changes the second time if any are needed. The flour in this recipe is very very important. The first time I made the soup it was so creamy and delicious, I raved about it and my boyfriend begged me to make it again a week later so I did but this time the creaminess was this weird texture and I thought I had everything in the pot so I though maybe the cheese was no good or something since it had completely separated from the soup base. I gave it another try last week and the same thing, the cheese separated from the soup base. Came back to this recipe sine it worked so well the first time and realized I forgot the flour. Please learn from my repeated mistake and don't forget the flour. I have tried the Cracker Barrel Extra Sharp Cheddar, the Tillamook Extra Sharp and the smoked sharped and liked the Tillamook extra sharp the best. :) Yummmmmmmy this soup is amazing!! Thank you for being so selfless and not keeping it to yourself.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresainafoodcoma November 12, 2012

This recipe is ABSOLUTELY GREAT, DELICIOUS! I have made 2 or 3 times and the only thing I have changed is the fact that I use fresh brocoli that I prefer to steam and chop before using it in the recipe...the rest I do exactly as the recipe calls for...if not to follow the recipe why botter looking up for a specific recipe?
Congratulations to CHEFNINI.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chloe07 March 29, 2011

I have to stress what other reviews say about the importance of your cheese choice. I used whatever was on sale at the grocery store...and it turned out that the soup was very, very bland. Next time I'll have to try something with much more flavor.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katyjoymaher_13108181 March 20, 2011

I get cravings for this soup and was so happy to try it out at home. I quadrupled the recipe so I could put some in the freezer and it turned out beautifully! I chopped the broccoli in the food processor, so no need to blend after cooking. Also used freshly ground nutmeg. Perfect!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareCook November 13, 2010

Great recipe. Makes me want to round house kick someone through window. You don't have to blend it. Just mush up the broccoli with a spoon after its cooked and soft. Also add some more chicken stock if its too viscous or some flour if its too liquidy.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Chuck Norris July 02, 2010

Absolutely amazing. It's a huge pet peeve of mine when people rate and change the recipes, but I'm going to have to be an offender. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and used 2% milk rather than half and half and also subbed chicken stock with chicken broth (no big deal). I used Kraft sharp cheddar cheese, but it needed more flavor so I threw in a few slices of extra sharp cheddar. I shredded the carrots and added potatoes as well. The one suggestion I would make is to cook on light covered because my veggies were a lil crunchy. After stirring and covered for about an hour (paranoid about letting it burn), it reached the optimum consistency and taste! I would definitely recommend this recipe, boycotting Panera... chefnini you are my go to now!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaurenQ March 30, 2011
Panera Broccoli Cheese Soup