Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Panera Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Panera Broccoli Cheese Soup

    Average Rating:

    353 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 353

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2010

      I just read about a hundred of these reviews...I think its funny how people say "this doesn't taste at all like Panera" and then go on about how they changed this and that part of the recipe when they tried it:-) I have not yet made this, but when I do I'll be using vegetable broth (not sure if I should use that or chicken-style vegetarian broth). Even so, a suggestion that might be helpful. The people that say it was flavorless...my guess is if you use a high quality sharp cheddar like Cabot instead of Kraft it will make it much more flavorful. And then it seems like most of the people that really disliked this recipe said it was much too thick. The recipe didn't specify whether or not to cover while simmering, but that can impact how thick the soup is as can the size/shape of the pot and what your definition of a "simmer" and "low heat" are, among other things. Its easy enough to replace water that has evaporated or add more broth (depending on how the too thick soup tastes)...silly to grudgingly eat it or throw it out because its too thick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2011

      This soup is delicious! I did add some garlic to the onions, and sauteed the carrots (which I grated) with the onions and garlic. Just a note about curdling....the lower the fat content in the milk product (half & half, milk, cream, etc) you use, the higher your risk of curdling. The higher fat content protects it from curdling as easily. That being said, you can still use low or no-fat products, but you have to take great care not to let them boil. My suggestion would be to make the soup all the way through, and add the milk products and cheese at the very end and heat gently, and slowly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      This was an awesome soup. And whether this tastes exactly like Panera who cares, it is fantastic. I think you would have to have a side by side taste test to even compare, and lets face it , if you don't use the exact brand names of what Panera uses it won't taste the exact same anyways. Reading all the previous reviewers about the nutmeg was getting me nervous but I wanted to try the receipe as written and I did and I was worrying for nothing. The flavors were outstanding. The only thing I changed was I grated the carrot instead of julienned and I used my immersion blender in it for just a few seconds at the end. Everything turned out fantastic. I loved it and it is such a filling soup too. This is a soup I will be making again. Thanks so much for sharing chefnini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2011

      Wow! I am freaking out right now because I just made Panera's Broc/Cheddar soup in my own kitchen! It tastes exactly like their recipe. I just wish I had made bread bowls to go with it! I would give it 500 stars! It thickened up great and tasted amazing! This is a true 5 Star winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      This recipe is ABSOLUTELY GREAT, DELICIOUS! I have made 2 or 3 times and the only thing I have changed is the fact that I use fresh brocoli that I prefer to steam and chop before using it in the recipe...the rest I do exactly as the recipe calls for...if not to follow the recipe why botter looking up for a specific recipe?
      Congratulations to CHEFNINI.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      This is the best recipe for broccoli soup I have came across!! I do not understand why people search for recipes just to change everything about it and then complain and rate low because it wasn't as good as they had hoped. First off why not try the recipe first and then make changes the second time if any are needed. The flour in this recipe is very very important. The first time I made the soup it was so creamy and delicious, I raved about it and my boyfriend begged me to make it again a week later so I did but this time the creaminess was this weird texture and I thought I had everything in the pot so I though maybe the cheese was no good or something since it had completely separated from the soup base. I gave it another try last week and the same thing, the cheese separated from the soup base. Came back to this recipe sine it worked so well the first time and realized I forgot the flour. Please learn from my repeated mistake and don't forget the flour. I have tried the Cracker Barrel Extra Sharp Cheddar, the Tillamook Extra Sharp and the smoked sharped and liked the Tillamook extra sharp the best. :) Yummmmmmmy this soup is amazing!! Thank you for being so selfless and not keeping it to yourself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      Absolutely amazing. It's a huge pet peeve of mine when people rate and change the recipes, but I'm going to have to be an offender. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and used 2% milk rather than half and half and also subbed chicken stock with chicken broth (no big deal). I used Kraft sharp cheddar cheese, but it needed more flavor so I threw in a few slices of extra sharp cheddar. I shredded the carrots and added potatoes as well. The one suggestion I would make is to cook on light covered because my veggies were a lil crunchy. After stirring and covered for about an hour (paranoid about letting it burn), it reached the optimum consistency and taste! I would definitely recommend this recipe, boycotting Panera... chefnini you are my go to now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      I have to stress what other reviews say about the importance of your cheese choice. I used whatever was on sale at the grocery store...and it turned out that the soup was very, very bland. Next time I'll have to try something with much more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      I make this at least once a month. My family loves it. I also replace the broccoli with asparagus instead and it comes out awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      I get cravings for this soup and was so happy to try it out at home. I quadrupled the recipe so I could put some in the freezer and it turned out beautifully! I chopped the broccoli in the food processor, so no need to blend after cooking. Also used freshly ground nutmeg. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2010

      Great recipe. Makes me want to round house kick someone through window. You don't have to blend it. Just mush up the broccoli with a spoon after its cooked and soft. Also add some more chicken stock if its too viscous or some flour if its too liquidy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

      I have made this soup numerous times. I usually make it when we have broccoli that is about to expire, which is at least once a month :).
      I make it basically as stated, I don't think I add anything, maybe extra cheese or pepper. This is delicious and I will actually be making it for dinner tonight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2011

      Haven't tried Panera's but this is hands down the best broccoli soup I've ever had.

      I used whole wheat flour instead of regular as it gives a nuttier flavour to the roux, just personal preference. I grated the carrots and minced the broccoli florets very fine. Also added just a bit more stock to thin it out. I tasted it before adding the cheese and it was still fantastic. AMAZING soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      excellent! used 1 cup 1/2 and 1/2 and 1 cup 1% and it was a good consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      I've made this recipe on several occasions, exactly as the recipe is written. It tastes exactly like Panera's Broccoli Cheddar Soup, every time. Don't rate a recipe if you chose not to follow the recipe exactly as written. Of course, add your modifications, but if it doesn't turn out like Panera's, don't blame the recipe, blame it on your changes of the basic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Awesome. Very easy to make. All I had was a quarter cup of milk, so I added enough water to make up the difference. Still tasted great. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Oh so good! I'm 17 years old, if I can make it, so can you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Fantastic! I have never had Panera's version but this one is great regardless. I make it exactly as written...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      OMG! This is so good! Panera's soup is what got me started eating broccoli and this is almost identical except better texture. You know you are biting into something with this soup. Thanks so much! I will never go to Panera again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      Thumbs up for this soup at our house. 2% milk worked well and also thinned the soup a bit (personal preference). Used Cabot Vermont Cheddar for extra taste - and the nutmeg certainly made it special. Loved the addition of carrots too - anyway to get veggies into the family is greatly appreciated. Thanks for sharing chefnini!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 18

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Panera Broccoli Cheese Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (445 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 628.1
     
    Calories from Fat 441
    70%
    Total Fat 49.0 g
    75%
    Saturated Fat 30.2 g
    151%
    Cholesterol 146.1 mg
    48%
    Sodium 751.2 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.4 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.5 g
    22%
    Protein 23.7 g
    47%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes