199 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This soup was outstanding! I used carrots instead of celery, lime in place of lemon, and I drained and rinsed the beans. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written. We topped it with sharp cheddar, sour cream, and chopped cilantro and onions, I have never had Panera's version, but this was so completely delicious that I don't think I need to. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbiesue101 February 07, 2014

HMO. Been looking for this recipe for years. 10 stars. I added ham and no cornstarch. Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alayane February 05, 2014

Very good. Easy, fast, and made with things I usually have on hand. However, I didn't have the red pepper this time and substituted a diced carrot and some green pepper. It was good but I'll try it as you have written next time. I'm sure it will be even better. Waited to add the salt and found I was happy without it. Ate it with a dollop of sour cream atop. Mmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maven in the Making January 05, 2014

It certainly doesn't taste like Panera. It's a very generic recipe. For a much better flavored soup featuring black beans, I'd recommend the NY Times tomato black bean over this recipe in a New York minute.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
major7 December 26, 2013

This was sooo good! My family loved this. It was even better then Paneras! I followed the recipe except I omitted adding the salt

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetp December 18, 2013

I followed the recipe fairly closely, but I had to substitute one can of pinto beans for the black beans. I also had to mash the beans rather than pureeing because we don't have a blender. The soup was well received by my five and eight year olds ---- quite a feat! Thank you. Excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea700 December 13, 2013

This was a hit with my Panera-loving husband! Since I cooked my black beans from scratch (I used 1 1/2 cups dry beans & that turned out to be just enough) instead of using canned ones, I had to add a little more salt than the recipe called for. I used the 1 1/2 cups water the recipe called for, but I think I would try 1 cup or 1 1/4 cup next time. I would have liked it to be thicker. The black beans I cooked had plenty of liquid in them also. I put the finished product in a bread bowl and we had it for dinner with salad, grape juice & a chocolate chip cookie. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I have uploaded my photos, but I don't see them yet. Maybe there is an approval process. Thanks. -A

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alilia B. November 06, 2013

This recipe is delicious and in my opinion it tastes JUST like the soup at Panera Bread. My only modification was that I cut the salt in half due to reading some of the reviews here saying it was too salty with the full amount. I highly recommend this recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emoney2682 August 27, 2013

Easy and delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamma Donna May 25, 2013

Very Good! I will make this often. I cut the recipe in half before printing because I am looking for healthy, easy recipes for two people. Even with the 'almost there' measurements I followed the recipe as exactly as I could & then tasted it...then I doubled the cumin because I like a more bold taste. I didn't have fresh lemon so I used RealLemon brand & adjusted it to my taste. I left out the salt because it wasn't needed with canned beans & bouillon cube which are both high in salt. I will try it with a dash of cayenne & chili powder as one reviewer suggested. And maybe even fresh cilantro when I have it on hand. Thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goldigal March 27, 2013
(Panera Bread) Black Bean Soup