Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / (Panera Bread) Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    (Panera Bread) Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    196 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 196

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2012

      You have a winner here Najwa. I also have beans I made myself so I added these instead of canned beans. I also added fresh salsa. I think this reduced the salty flavor I read in other reviews. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      This soup is perfect in every way! Make a double batch for sure! Goes quickly and would be great for left overs. It's that good and hearty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      I made this exactly as the recipe states and I liked it quite well, my 3 year old ate his whole bowl but my husband didn't like the flavor at all. He only ate a few bites. It's not for everyone but if you like black beans it's pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      I followed the recipe to the t and it was way too salty for us. I would recommend not adding any the additional salt since the bullion cubes already have plenty! Other than that I really enjoyed the recipe thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      Easy and delicious. I skipped the lemon this time as I didn't have any on hand. Will try it the next time. Wonderful with some corn bread or rice. Keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      Quick and easy. I used a combination of beef and chicken broth instead of water and boullion. I did not add the salt it called for and those served added what they felt it needed at the table. Delicous; will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2012

      This is a very tasty soup. Will make again soon. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      We LOVED this!! I added some salsa and cilantro, but then did everything else as written. It was so good that next time I'll probably double the recipe so we have some leftovers. Served it with some sour cream on top and cornbread on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      I'm a huge fan of this recipe, it's a hit at my house even with super picky eaters. I make the recipe vegetarian by using vegetable bouillon cubes. I always omit celery as I'm not a huge fan and the cornstarch at the end. I have made it both with water and vegetable stock but I prefer vegetable stock as it makes the soup more flavorful. Only issue is the first time I made the recipe It ended far too salty. So I would omit the 1/2 a table spoon of salt and I go as far as to use reduced sodium beans, but the latter is optional. This is a wonderful recipe and I'm always asked to prepare it regularly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      This soup was great! It was so easy and wonderfully flavorful. Mine was a little salty at the end, so next time (and there WILL be a next time!) I will either leave out the salt or use a low sodium boullion. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2012

      Solid soup. Added a can of corn, 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, and and extra 1/4 teaspoon cumin. Served with sour cram, cheese, and tortilla chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I didn't have any celery on hand, and frankly I don't think it's needed. I probably won't add it for next time either. I'll probably end up mincing up some red pepper and freezing it for future recipes, this was so quick and easy... I adored it.

      UPDATE: I just went to Panera cause we were out and needed something. Got their black bean soup and my toddler spit it out (loves mine!), and my husband declared that mine (this recipe) is sooooo much better. And it is! This recipe blows Panera's out of the water!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      Really good hearty soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      Made this tonight and while the flavor was really good, it was WAY too salty. Between the bouillon cubes and the bean liquid, it was too salty to eat. Super disappointed. I added more veggie stock and will get some unsalted beans to add to it later and hopefully we can still have this for dinner another night this week.
      My suggestion would be to use no salt beans and skip the salt all together - there is plenty in the bouillon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      I made a mistake and poured a 32 oz. carton of vegetable broth in the pot instead of the 12 oz. of liquid (water plus bouillon). I didn't realize my mistake until I had blended the vegetables and black beans. I googled "how to thicken soup" and added a couple large tablespoons of mashed potatoes, and it worked. However, there was still too much broth for the amount of beans, so I added a cup of frozen corn and a cup of cooked diced carrots. I also had to increase the amount of cumin and I added chili powder for a little heat. We topped each bowl with a dollop of sour cream. This is one of my best "mistakes."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      My husband really liked this soup. We both love black beans, but I wasn't as crazy about this as he was. I did follow the recipe and didn't add anything or make changes. The cumin was a little much for me, and it tasted more like vegetarian chili-which isn't a bad thing. But when I make this again, I will play with some different ingredients

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      Bought black beans at the market and decided to make soup since the weather in NJ is about to chill out! Found this on-line and it was perfect for my work lunch! Did read the reviews and added carrots and a dash of crushed red pepper. Didn't have celery, the soup doesn't miss it. I did use my bar blender and the soup came out creamier! The taste was delicious and the star rating well deserved! Bring on the NJ Big Chill - I'm ready!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      Very tasty and so easy! I followed the recipe exactly with exception to the lemon juice, only because I didn't have any on hand. Don't omit the celery. I think it adds the perfect savory flavor to this soup. This went deliciously garnished with sour cream, cheese, and green onion, and I served cornbread on the side. This fed four people, average sized dinner bowls, with no second helpings. Keep this in mind if you're hoping for leftovers. Double the batch if so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2011

      We used 16 oz dry black beans that had been cooked/prepared - so we had LOTS more beans than the recipe called for. We used 3/4 cup carrots and celery, no red pepper, added 1/2 t chili powder, lime juice, garlic, 1 chopped jalapeno and one jalapeno sliced in half that could be removed before pureeing. We used 2 cans of chicken broth. We used a stick blender to puree. Left some veggie chunks for interest. Great soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      Super soup! Deleted the celery and reduced the onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for (Panera Bread) Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.4
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    77%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 790.0 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 14.4 g
    57%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 14.6 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes