205 Reviews

This was great! All of my kids loved it - even my picky eater who does not like beans much. I made it a week ago and they already asked me to make it again and enough so they can put it in a thermos for school! Very tasty and they like to dip tortilla chips in the soup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
11Shelly12 January 19, 2010

Love this recipe! It's a recurring favorite for me. It's easy to make, very healthy, and very filling. I can eat it for lunch and have it stick with me until dinner. I think that the celery really makes the flavor in this soup -- I never would have thought to add celery but it adds a really great flavor. Only thing I change is I don't add the bell pepper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmbogas January 14, 2010

Very good soup! I used vegetable stock instead of the chicken stock and the water. I've been to Panera and had their soup, and this recipe IS is a close match.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tomorrow Never Knows December 10, 2003

I love black bean soup, and this recipe has joined my favorites! I followed the recipe exactly (even though I'm not a big fan of cooked peppers), and I was glad I did....the flavor is great (and I didn't mind the peppers at all) :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dee514 June 04, 2003

I made this soup tonight and slightly tweaked it after reading people's reviews and it came out excellent. I used the chicken boullion, celery, onion, and red pepper (though I added a lil more than called for). I also upped the cumin and added an extra 1/2 teaspoon. I also added 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne and it gave it a smooth kick. I omitted the lemon juice and cornstarch (as I didn't have any) and just added a mixture of flour and water. I let it simmer a lil bit longer to really extract flavors from it and it tastes very very good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ireaisling79 January 25, 2012

I love Panera black bean soup and this was even better! Added a bit of diced ham cause hubby is such a carnivore, otherwise followed exactly....yummy. He requested I make it often (and he never says that).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gaylelk January 21, 2012

Awesome base to the soup, I love how healthy it is!
I would DEFINITELY REDUCE THE SALT though! I didn't even use the bouillon (I used organic chicken stock instead of water) and thought it was a bit salty for my taste. I also thought it needed more garlic, more cumin, a little pepper and some chili powder to give it an extra punch of flavor! I didn't have red pepper so I used carrots instead, and I Love it! Absolutely delicious soup! Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodieNicole December 31, 2011

This is a keeper for sure. What's better than a low-fat, high-fiber, high-protein, ready in less than 30 minutes recipe? Followed it for the most part but like other reviewers added a few spices and a dash of hot sauce. I also mixed in about a cup of corn for a little more texture and taste. Wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amo418 April 06, 2011

I order this soup at Panera and thought that this version was just like it. It is really great. I used vegetable bouillon cubes instead of chicken, so it was vegetarian. I will make this soup often. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood March 28, 2011

This soup is delish!! I used chicken stock instead of chicken bouillion and I used carrots to make the soup smooth and creamy... instead of the corn starch. I love lots of cumin and the lemon juice at the end really ties the everything together! Two thumbs up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sashaa99 January 30, 2011
(Panera Bread) Black Bean Soup