199 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This soup is great but the Panera Black Bean soup is vegetarian, so to get the exact flavor of Panera's I suggest using only vegetable stock. Also, Panera's soup has cilantro and tomatoes in it. I added a 16 ounce container of fresh mild salsa from the produce department (Jacks Special) and pureed it with the beans, stock and veggies. Now it tastes exactly like Panera's. No need to add lemon juice or cilantro because it is in the salsa. Yummy

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kenoqueenjanet_12585946 January 18, 2012

This was AMAZING and so easy! I'll never used dried beans again. I substituted carrots for the red pepper, increased the cumin, added a dash of cayenne and chili powder, and used boxed chicken stock. Other than this, I followed the recipe exactly! :-) I recommend that you hold off on the salt and only add as needed at the end. Mine was a tad bit salty.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelalovestocook September 11, 2010

This recipe is pretty impressive by design: it has TONS of flavor, lots of protein, lots of fiber, plenty of veggies, and is low in fat!! Plus, it is extremely filling. I've never been to Panera, so I can't attest to the accuracy of the "copy cat," but it's definitely delicious! I fine-chopped all the veggies in my food processor during the first step, since I was going to dirty the thing anyway; it made for super quick prep! I added 1/2 tsp chili powder, per other reviewers' suggestions, but otherwise made as stated. (Note: Judging by some of the reviewers, the lemon juice is a controversial ingredient. However, I definitely recommend giving it a try at least once, as it adds a certain brightness--NOT lemony flavor--to the flavor soup.) This has found a new home in my regular-use cookbook! Thanks! :-)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn's Cookin' October 31, 2010

This is better than Panera's! I did not use the cornstarch and added more cumin (since mine was at least 3 years old and had lost some potency). Absolutely delicious! Thanks for the recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninsley3755 March 23, 2010

GREAT!!! I have never made black bean soup before, this was super easy and very good, we all enjoyed it very much, even our 2 1/2 year old ate it, that is saying something. Very smooth flavor, not over spiced like some other soups. Thanks for sharing, this will be made again and again. The only thing I changed was I used home made vegetable broth instead of water just to boost the nutrition level even more.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jln's mom November 19, 2010

Pleasantly surprised! I tried this soup making only a few minor changes by increasing the cumin to 1 teaspoon and adding 1 teaspoon of chili powder. This was Mmmm good! That dollup of sour cream that was suggested by other viewers added to the comfort of eating this soup. Thanks for sharing

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B September 11, 2010

Delicious soup! The cumin and lemon juice give it a fantastic southwestern kinda flavor. I cheated and used a frozen bag of Birds Eye seasoning blend, which has onion, celery and red pepper and just added the garlic. Also used vegetable bouillon. I will make this often, and using the fresh veggies I'm sure can only make this even better next time!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi September 25, 2003

There are like a thousand Panera Breads in LA and I've not been to one of them. Thanks to you sharing this recipe...I'll never have to go. Seriously, besides my mom's Jamaican soup, this is the best soup EVER!

You know when you work out, especially you swimmers, and you come home and you just want to eat the fridge? This is the perfect substitute to gorging yourself. I love how this dish is UBER low-calorie & low-fat and SUPER high in fiber so that you get that satisfied feeling. I really wanted to eat more than one bowl, but I couldn't, I was too full!

I'm not a huge fan of veggies that taste like veggies. Next batch, I'm going to toss in a load of veg that I know I need, but hate eating (carrots, sweet potato, spinach). This soup's flavor is so rich I know it would make the perfect cover-up.

I'll be drinking this soup at least a few times a week! Thank you to the third power!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NeTonya August 29, 2010

This was great! All of my kids loved it - even my picky eater who does not like beans much. I made it a week ago and they already asked me to make it again and enough so they can put it in a thermos for school! Very tasty and they like to dip tortilla chips in the soup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
11Shelly12 January 19, 2010

Love this recipe! It's a recurring favorite for me. It's easy to make, very healthy, and very filling. I can eat it for lunch and have it stick with me until dinner. I think that the celery really makes the flavor in this soup -- I never would have thought to add celery but it adds a really great flavor. Only thing I change is I don't add the bell pepper.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmbogas January 14, 2010
(Panera Bread) Black Bean Soup