204 Reviews

This soup is great but the Panera Black Bean soup is vegetarian, so to get the exact flavor of Panera's I suggest using only vegetable stock. Also, Panera's soup has cilantro and tomatoes in it. I added a 16 ounce container of fresh mild salsa from the produce department (Jacks Special) and pureed it with the beans, stock and veggies. Now it tastes exactly like Panera's. No need to add lemon juice or cilantro because it is in the salsa. Yummy

23 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kenoqueenjanet_12585946 January 18, 2012

This was AMAZING and so easy! I'll never used dried beans again. I substituted carrots for the red pepper, increased the cumin, added a dash of cayenne and chili powder, and used boxed chicken stock. Other than this, I followed the recipe exactly! :-) I recommend that you hold off on the salt and only add as needed at the end. Mine was a tad bit salty.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelalovestocook September 11, 2010

This recipe is pretty impressive by design: it has TONS of flavor, lots of protein, lots of fiber, plenty of veggies, and is low in fat!! Plus, it is extremely filling. I've never been to Panera, so I can't attest to the accuracy of the "copy cat," but it's definitely delicious! I fine-chopped all the veggies in my food processor during the first step, since I was going to dirty the thing anyway; it made for super quick prep! I added 1/2 tsp chili powder, per other reviewers' suggestions, but otherwise made as stated. (Note: Judging by some of the reviewers, the lemon juice is a controversial ingredient. However, I definitely recommend giving it a try at least once, as it adds a certain brightness--NOT lemony flavor--to the flavor soup.) This has found a new home in my regular-use cookbook! Thanks! :-)

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Robyn's Cookin' October 31, 2010

This is better than Panera's! I did not use the cornstarch and added more cumin (since mine was at least 3 years old and had lost some potency). Absolutely delicious! Thanks for the recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninsley3755 March 23, 2010

GREAT!!! I have never made black bean soup before, this was super easy and very good, we all enjoyed it very much, even our 2 1/2 year old ate it, that is saying something. Very smooth flavor, not over spiced like some other soups. Thanks for sharing, this will be made again and again. The only thing I changed was I used home made vegetable broth instead of water just to boost the nutrition level even more.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jln's mom November 19, 2010

Pleasantly surprised! I tried this soup making only a few minor changes by increasing the cumin to 1 teaspoon and adding 1 teaspoon of chili powder. This was Mmmm good! That dollup of sour cream that was suggested by other viewers added to the comfort of eating this soup. Thanks for sharing

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. B September 11, 2010

Delicious soup! The cumin and lemon juice give it a fantastic southwestern kinda flavor. I cheated and used a frozen bag of Birds Eye seasoning blend, which has onion, celery and red pepper and just added the garlic. Also used vegetable bouillon. I will make this often, and using the fresh veggies I'm sure can only make this even better next time!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi September 25, 2003

My husband's favorite soup is Panera's black bean. Unfortunately we live two hours away from the closest Panera. He enjoyed this soup, and has asked for it again but does say it isn't "exactly" Panera's. It is still a tasty black bean soup. I served it with grilled turkey, tomato and cheese sandwiches and it was a wonderful winter dinner.

4/11/12 I made it again. Added more cumin, some chili powder, cayenne and it was met with even better reviews. Served it with a vegetable quesadilla and strawberry shortcake for dessert and my boys are fat and happy, but dined on healthy so it was a definite win. DH has already requested this soup in his lunchbox and how can I deny...it came from a couple cans. Delicious. My son and a friend came in this evening and DS told the friend that he needed some of what we had for dinner, it was really good. Love it

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen April 13, 2012

There are like a thousand Panera Breads in LA and I've not been to one of them. Thanks to you sharing this recipe...I'll never have to go. Seriously, besides my mom's Jamaican soup, this is the best soup EVER!

You know when you work out, especially you swimmers, and you come home and you just want to eat the fridge? This is the perfect substitute to gorging yourself. I love how this dish is UBER low-calorie & low-fat and SUPER high in fiber so that you get that satisfied feeling. I really wanted to eat more than one bowl, but I couldn't, I was too full!

I'm not a huge fan of veggies that taste like veggies. Next batch, I'm going to toss in a load of veg that I know I need, but hate eating (carrots, sweet potato, spinach). This soup's flavor is so rich I know it would make the perfect cover-up.

I'll be drinking this soup at least a few times a week! Thank you to the third power!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NeTonya August 29, 2010

We did not think that this soup was like Panera Bread's black bean soup, but it was very tasty. My husband kept telling me that the soup was so good while he was eating. I used chicken stock instead of the bouillon and water, and thought that the soup was thick enough without using cornstarch. Other than the changes stated, I made it as written. Thanks for posting a new favourite.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eldeevee March 29, 2010
(Panera Bread) Black Bean Soup