Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / (Panera Bread) Black Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    (Panera Bread) Black Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    196 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 196

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2012

      This soup is great but the Panera Black Bean soup is vegetarian, so to get the exact flavor of Panera's I suggest using only vegetable stock. Also, Panera's soup has cilantro and tomatoes in it. I added a 16 ounce container of fresh mild salsa from the produce department (Jacks Special) and pureed it with the beans, stock and veggies. Now it tastes exactly like Panera's. No need to add lemon juice or cilantro because it is in the salsa. Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      This was AMAZING and so easy! I'll never used dried beans again. I substituted carrots for the red pepper, increased the cumin, added a dash of cayenne and chili powder, and used boxed chicken stock. Other than this, I followed the recipe exactly! :-) I recommend that you hold off on the salt and only add as needed at the end. Mine was a tad bit salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2010

      This recipe is pretty impressive by design: it has TONS of flavor, lots of protein, lots of fiber, plenty of veggies, and is low in fat!! Plus, it is extremely filling. I've never been to Panera, so I can't attest to the accuracy of the "copy cat," but it's definitely delicious! I fine-chopped all the veggies in my food processor during the first step, since I was going to dirty the thing anyway; it made for super quick prep! I added 1/2 tsp chili powder, per other reviewers' suggestions, but otherwise made as stated. (Note: Judging by some of the reviewers, the lemon juice is a controversial ingredient. However, I definitely recommend giving it a try at least once, as it adds a certain brightness--NOT lemony flavor--to the flavor soup.) This has found a new home in my regular-use cookbook! Thanks! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      This is better than Panera's! I did not use the cornstarch and added more cumin (since mine was at least 3 years old and had lost some potency). Absolutely delicious! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      GREAT!!! I have never made black bean soup before, this was super easy and very good, we all enjoyed it very much, even our 2 1/2 year old ate it, that is saying something. Very smooth flavor, not over spiced like some other soups. Thanks for sharing, this will be made again and again. The only thing I changed was I used home made vegetable broth instead of water just to boost the nutrition level even more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      Pleasantly surprised! I tried this soup making only a few minor changes by increasing the cumin to 1 teaspoon and adding 1 teaspoon of chili powder. This was Mmmm good! That dollup of sour cream that was suggested by other viewers added to the comfort of eating this soup. Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2003

      Delicious soup! The cumin and lemon juice give it a fantastic southwestern kinda flavor. I cheated and used a frozen bag of Birds Eye seasoning blend, which has onion, celery and red pepper and just added the garlic. Also used vegetable bouillon. I will make this often, and using the fresh veggies I'm sure can only make this even better next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      There are like a thousand Panera Breads in LA and I've not been to one of them. Thanks to you sharing this recipe...I'll never have to go. Seriously, besides my mom's Jamaican soup, this is the best soup EVER!

      You know when you work out, especially you swimmers, and you come home and you just want to eat the fridge? This is the perfect substitute to gorging yourself. I love how this dish is UBER low-calorie & low-fat and SUPER high in fiber so that you get that satisfied feeling. I really wanted to eat more than one bowl, but I couldn't, I was too full!

      I'm not a huge fan of veggies that taste like veggies. Next batch, I'm going to toss in a load of veg that I know I need, but hate eating (carrots, sweet potato, spinach). This soup's flavor is so rich I know it would make the perfect cover-up.

      I'll be drinking this soup at least a few times a week! Thank you to the third power!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This was great! All of my kids loved it - even my picky eater who does not like beans much. I made it a week ago and they already asked me to make it again and enough so they can put it in a thermos for school! Very tasty and they like to dip tortilla chips in the soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Love this recipe! It's a recurring favorite for me. It's easy to make, very healthy, and very filling. I can eat it for lunch and have it stick with me until dinner. I think that the celery really makes the flavor in this soup -- I never would have thought to add celery but it adds a really great flavor. Only thing I change is I don't add the bell pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2003

      Very good soup! I used vegetable stock instead of the chicken stock and the water. I've been to Panera and had their soup, and this recipe IS is a close match.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2003

      I love black bean soup, and this recipe has joined my favorites! I followed the recipe exactly (even though I'm not a big fan of cooked peppers), and I was glad I did....the flavor is great (and I didn't mind the peppers at all) :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2012

      My husband's favorite soup is Panera's black bean. Unfortunately we live two hours away from the closest Panera. He enjoyed this soup, and has asked for it again but does say it isn't "exactly" Panera's. It is still a tasty black bean soup. I served it with grilled turkey, tomato and cheese sandwiches and it was a wonderful winter dinner.

      4/11/12 I made it again. Added more cumin, some chili powder, cayenne and it was met with even better reviews. Served it with a vegetable quesadilla and strawberry shortcake for dessert and my boys are fat and happy, but dined on healthy so it was a definite win. DH has already requested this soup in his lunchbox and how can I deny...it came from a couple cans. Delicious. My son and a friend came in this evening and DS told the friend that he needed some of what we had for dinner, it was really good. Love it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      I made this soup tonight and slightly tweaked it after reading people's reviews and it came out excellent. I used the chicken boullion, celery, onion, and red pepper (though I added a lil more than called for). I also upped the cumin and added an extra 1/2 teaspoon. I also added 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne and it gave it a smooth kick. I omitted the lemon juice and cornstarch (as I didn't have any) and just added a mixture of flour and water. I let it simmer a lil bit longer to really extract flavors from it and it tastes very very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      I love Panera black bean soup and this was even better! Added a bit of diced ham cause hubby is such a carnivore, otherwise followed exactly....yummy. He requested I make it often (and he never says that).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      Awesome base to the soup, I love how healthy it is!
      I would DEFINITELY REDUCE THE SALT though! I didn't even use the bouillon (I used organic chicken stock instead of water) and thought it was a bit salty for my taste. I also thought it needed more garlic, more cumin, a little pepper and some chili powder to give it an extra punch of flavor! I didn't have red pepper so I used carrots instead, and I Love it! Absolutely delicious soup! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      This is a keeper for sure. What's better than a low-fat, high-fiber, high-protein, ready in less than 30 minutes recipe? Followed it for the most part but like other reviewers added a few spices and a dash of hot sauce. I also mixed in about a cup of corn for a little more texture and taste. Wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      I order this soup at Panera and thought that this version was just like it. It is really great. I used vegetable bouillon cubes instead of chicken, so it was vegetarian. I will make this soup often. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      This soup is delish!! I used chicken stock instead of chicken bouillion and I used carrots to make the soup smooth and creamy... instead of the corn starch. I love lots of cumin and the lemon juice at the end really ties the everything together! Two thumbs up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      I fell in love with Panera's Black Bean Soup a few months ago, and ended up spending way too much time and money at Panera... so I am very happy that I found this recipe!

      I decided to double the red pepper in the recipe, and the flavor was a bit strong, so the next time I make it I will stick to the original. :) Also, I used an immersion blender, and maybe mine just doesn't work great, but the soup didn't get as smooth as I would have liked it. Next time I will be using my Vita-mix. This recipe is now one of my staples! (I even froze some containers to use for easy lunches.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 10

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for (Panera Bread) Black Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (189 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.4
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    77%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 790.0 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.3 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 14.4 g
    57%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 14.6 g
    29%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes