Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Paneer Makhani Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Paneer Makhani

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2007

      I loved this! It's very mild and rich; I couldn't stop eating it. I made a couple of minor changes...I used cardamom powder rather than the whole seeds, I used sour cream instead of the heavy cream, and I didn't strain the tomato mixture. Also, I removed the bay leaf before processing the sauce. Absolutely delicious...thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      I submitted my previous comments before rating this recipe. I definitely give it five stars. Very tasty and so easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      Must say that this was the easiest and yet the tastiest recipe I have tried. I used ginger-garlic paste instead of the chopped ginger; omitted the bay leaf, methi, cream and sugar and mom declared that it was great just on its own! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      Perfect, absoultely perfect... Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2006

      I love paneer! There are so many wonderful Paneer recipes and this is one of them! I really like that it doesnt use onion and garlic because this saved me alot of time, I also used can tomato purree because I didnt have any fresh tomato and still tasted wonderful. Next time I will put with Yoghurt instead of cream to make it healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      wow - amazing recipe! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2004

      This was really good! We love paneer and so I added a bit more than called for but it was surprisingly unneeded, the amount listed is perfect. The sauce is smooth and creamy and lush. I didn't have whole cardamoms so I used some of the dried spice. I think this would also be good with raisins and/or pistachios added (though probably not authentic).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2003

      Hi Bragz...this was a great recipe thanks. I used the recipe as is and it was great...I am going to try the tandoor next. C.R. - why did you repeat the whole recipe in your comments? Silly-I thought they were corrections until I started writing them down:-) Thx Bragz..are you going to be the Indian Jamie Oliver?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2002

      First off, let me tell you that I was going crazy this evening about whether to make your 'Paneer Tikka' or this recipe. After discussing with my mom, we decided to go for this. Now, let me convey a thousand thanks to YOU for posting this recipe. I made this for dinner tonight and everyone licked their fingers clean! I made a few substitutions and a few changes though - I used 2 tbsps. oil instead of 4(4 is way too much!) and next time, I will be using only 1 tbsp. Besides that, I used 6 tbsps. of low-fat plain yogurt instead of cream(for a lower fat substitute).Besides that, I used 250 gms paneer(cut in 1 inch cubes), 5 large tomatoes(peeled and chopped), 1/2 inch ginger(peeled and chopped), 1 bay leaf(for the FIRST time in my life today I ground a bay leaf in my mixie- step 3), 1/2 tsp. red chilli powder, 1/4 tsp. garam masala powder and 1/2 tsp. salt to prepare this dish. I powdered the two green cardamoms along with their skins in my mixie as I was feeling lazy to crush them - the flavourful aroma of these was wafting through my whole house when I added this(with skins) to the bayleaf and ginger that I'd sauteed(sp?)in oil. My mom complimented me from the sitting room when she smelt the wonderful aroma- I was thanking YOU right from that point of time. I omitted the fenugreek seeds(I detest them, I dont know why, but I absolutely don't like them, so, I generally omit them as they're just used for seasoning, it doesn't worry me too much). I used 1 tsp sugar this time, but plan to leave it out next time because it gave a slight hint of sweetness to the dish once completed - we prefer mild spicy, hence, next time, no sugar in this. This made 3 servings for us and was gone in minutes when served hot with rotis. Garnished with corriander leaves made it look so pretty, I felt like writing a poem on it:) Dad was really really happy with his dinner tonight and I can't thank you enough - do post more of your recipes, I really look forward to them. Note: I didn't pass the tomato mixture through a sieve, but directly added it to the skillet(refer step 3) - turned out very good! Thanks very much, countless times, for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Paneer Makhani

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 201.0
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    88%
    Total Fat 19.7 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 20.8 mg
    6%
    Sodium 17.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger

    panir

    cardamoms

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes