Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Panda Express Orange Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Panda Express Orange Chicken

    Average Rating:

    309 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 309

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2013

      I skip the flour and egg combo entirely, and I just cook the chicken with half of a white onion, no fried breading on it. Then I add 2 sprigs of green onion, garlic, and some cooked (3-5 mins boiled prior to adding to the chicken mixture) broccoli. Add the sauce (minus 1 TBSP of sugar + squeeze the juice of the orange in). Heat until thicker/warmed through, serve over rice =) Delicioussssss!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      If I remember right the ingredients call for a 1/4 cup water. I found the batter turns out like paste so I added the water, solved that problem. i bought a bottle of panda orange sauce at the grocery store so didn't make the sauce, skipped step #17 and #19. it was great. For me the fresh ginger root and garlic and green onion made the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2013

      Just made this and I agree with the others who said the directions need to be clarified. Also, I found that it was way too much orange zest,otherwise a good recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      Just use the suggestions of others to dip chicken in egg mixture and THEN toss in cornstarch and this is easily a five star recipe. Absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      Just like everyone else states, dish is superb especially he sauce. Just like everyone else states these are the WORST instructions EVER! Don't even think about having a glass of wine while cooking. You will need a really clear head to get thru this. Will make again but will only use the sauce part of this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      I can only give this 4 stars because I only made the sauce. I spent 3 hours looking for a decent orange sauce recipe for an Asian inspired dish I was making. This was my first attempt and I decided on this one because of the great reviews and was not disappointed! I agree it does not taste quite like Panda Express Orange sauce but it is still great and the best part is you can customize it to match your dish. I will be saving this one to my most used recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      I made a couple of adjustments to this dish and it turned out absolutely perfect. First of all, I followed breezermom's instructions of dipping the chicken first into the egg mix and then into the flour/cornstarch and that worked brilliantly to coat the chicken pieces. With the orange sauce, I used 4 tablespoons of white granulated sugar and 1 tablespoon of brown sugar (packed). I also didn't have any gingerroot on hand so I used 1/8 tsp. ground ginger. Instead of the red chili peppers I used a habanero which gave the dish more kick (de-seeded, of course). I also used white grape juice instead of rice wine and vegetable oil instead of sesame oil. I don't have a deep fryer so I had to pan-fry the chicken. Despite all of these changes (the brown sugar was more of an experiment than a substitute) the dish turned out brilliantly. It tasted exactly like Panda Express. So I'm sure if you do have the rice wine or sesame oil the dish will taste even better. I made this with the Chinese Takeout Fried Rice recipe and my family was absolutely impressed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      I absolutely love this recipe and its going into the must add to cookbook. But I only gave it four stars because as mentioned by other users the cooking directions were horrible. I will highly suggest reading the directions first before beginning to cook anything to determine what will work better for you. Then as other mentioned double the orange chicken sauce so you have enough sauce to add to your rice and veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

    • on October 18, 2012

      First I need to say that I agree that this recipe is written in a more complicated way than required. After reading the reviews I made some adjustments to the method as well as ingredients. I have never had the Panda Express version so wasn't likely to be disappointed. :)
      First I made the sauce in a small saucepan, choosing to saute the ginger and garlic at that point rather than adding it to the wok prior to cooking the chicken. I included the cornstarch so it was ready to go. I tripled the sauce and was glad I did.
      Along with some other reviewers I dipped the chicken in the egg mixture and then dredged it with flour before frying it in a wok with the chili peppers and green onions etc. This streamlined the process as I was not required to set aside the chicken other than to wipe out the pan. Tossed in the sauce and 5 minutes later we were eating. This is definitely a Five Star tasting recipe but in fairness I can only give it four for all the adjustments I thought necessary. Thanks for posting this yummy chicken dish. We will be enjoying it for many years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      Thanks for the heads up about the first part of the recipe- just use common sense when dredging and breading your meat. The rest of the recipe is just fine. And the finished product was perfect! Way better than our usual take out. I served this with sugar snap peas and white rice. Couldn't have been a better meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      Mmmm, hmmmm...pretty freakin' awesome despite the confusing directions!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      Yum! I made this with tofu - I dry-fried the tofu in triangles and set aside. Then I sauteed the ginger & garlic and continued the steps as stated from there. The tofu did end up a little rubbery though so perhaps it should either be thrown in the sauce raw or cooked less prior, or better yet probably just added at the very end to the sauce. Other changes I made: used chives instead of green onion because I had them in the garden, asian rice vinegar in place of the rice wine, orange juice in place of the water & vinegar in the sauce, and I also added about 1/4 cup diced orange segments. I also tripled the sauce but next time I will cut WAY back on the sugar - it was pretty sweet for me. I will probably always triple or maybe even quadruple the sauce because it's so good all by itself over some fried rice. Next time I might try tempeh in place of the tofu also. Overall though we loved this and will be making/experimenting with this recipe often! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      I don't think this tastes much like Panda Express, but it's still pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      This was great though I would make double the sauce next time and Stir fry the chicken instead of deep frying it. I would also replace the orange zest with frozen orange juice from concentrate for a bigger more sweeter sauce. Also keep water handy to add to the batter and the sauce if it's too thick for your taste (as it was for mine).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2012

      i agree the instructions were not as clear so since I mixed the egg and flour together I added some water and 2 tsp of baking powder and put the chicken in and mixed together and fried and it came out perfect. the chicken alone tasted like mcdonalds chicken nuggets! We also tossed the chicken in the pan with the sauce if you like extra sauce then make more but if you like just enough this was perfect!! WE WILL BE MAKING THIS AGAIN!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Family loved! I kept corn starch/flour mixture & egg mixture separate. I put orange zest in sauce (as well as one quick squeeze of juice from orage) early. I added sesame oil as suggested. Keep oil at hot temp to be sure to get the golden color. After meal was complete, I placed in a casserole dish and put in over to keep HOT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      We made this and the family LOVED IT. I did not mix the egg mixture into the floor. That seemed weird. I dipped the chicken in the egg mixture and then the dry mixture. Came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      Great meal...horrible instructions. I added and extra egg, 1/4 cup of water, and 1/4 tsp of white pepper to the batter. In doing this the batter coated the chicken nicely and had a very good flavor. I added more red pepper flakes as we like things a litle spicier. I will definitely double the sauce next time. I served over jasmine rice and it was a huge hit with my two teenage boys.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      So I made this recipe two ways. . .one with baked chicken and one with tofu. As per the recommendations of others, I doubled the amt of sauce and used fresh squeezed OJ with a couple splashes of white vinegar. I also added some steamed broccoli, frozen peas, a thinly sliced carrot and a little onion. I think the sauce was definitely good, but not restaurant quality. The neighbor thought it was pretty yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Panda Express Orange Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.9
     
    Calories from Fat 46
    15%
    Total Fat 5.1 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 128.0 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1023.8 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    43%
    Protein 34.4 g
    68%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    oranges, zest of

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites