Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Panda Express Chow Mein Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Panda Express Chow Mein

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 26, 2010

      I give it three stars because it is a good recipe but is missing some key elements to make it excellent. I am a self made cook. One thing I would change would be the noodles they really need to be Chow Mein style, Yakisoba noddles work as well. I am pretty sure Panda express fries their noodles or uses noodles that have been previously fried. When making the noodles I have found that cooking them lightly works best. Then you finish cooking them in the mixture. I also put less sugar than what they call for. I have also had to double the sauce they call for on the rest of the ingredients. I do not own a wok but that is the best way to cook it right. The veggies should be lightly cooked( to simulate this using a frying pan add the longer cooking veggies first cook with half of the sauce. add all veggies until they are all lightly cooked but not soft(still slightly crunchy). Remove from heat. Refry the noodles separate with sauce then add it all the the mixture and serve. These are my suggestions. Oh also you should not use toasted sesame oil. it has a distinct flavor not found in their Chow Mein. I saw another Panda recipe that called for un-toasted Sesame oil and Vegetable mixed( that is more accurate I think). I have even added crushed sesame seeds and vegetable oil and it has turned out pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      I followed the recipe exactly and I'm sorry but nasty is the only word that comes to mind when I ate this. It tasted NOTHING like Panda Express chow mein. It pretty much tasted like sesame oil poured over noodles. Very disgusting. My family found it to be inedible and we'll eat pretty much anything!! I would not recommend this to anyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      Couldn't help but notice it calls for Vermicelli noodles. Panda Express uses Lo Mein (large golden noodles). Just thought I would add before someone uses the wrong noodle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      It really had no taste. My husband and I both added quite a bit of soy sauce and that helped but I don't think I will make this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This tasted nothing like Panda's chow mein.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      I followed this one to the letter, it had very little flavor. I'll try it again and maybe add some brown sauce next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      Sorry, couldn't get my family to eat it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      It's missing bean sprouts and they have to be fried seperately and get all the water out. And yes use chow mein. "chow" means fried.."lo" for lo meain means just tossed. Panda is a chow mein, it has been fried before which makes it NOT mooshy and appealing. Gotta buy the chinese chow mein in a local chinese market it usually is prepackaged fresh then you boil it for a few minutes. Fry it in VERY HOT OIL seperately first..then cook it again w your other ingredients with soy, oyster, a tiny bit sesame oil, but it's key that all your veggies and or meat and have thinly sliced onions and dried and fried bean sprouts too to get the right flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      i thought this was pretty good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2009

      Sauce tasted spot on. This was good. Very good. Only made one change-added the cooked noodles to the vegetables and sauce and cooked them a bit longer in there. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      This was just ok. I'd rather go spend a couple of bucks and get th real thing. I don't plan on making this again. The taste was ok but it was the wrong type of noodles. Just didn't turn out right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      What can I say..... GREAT!!!!! We make it at a camp I work at and everybody loves it!! Thanks for posting such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      We love it. i too don't know if it measures up to Panda Express' chow mein, but we miss that place so much, that it tastes close enough. We use it with the panda express orange chicken recipe on here. My husband thinks it is a special day when he comes home to this meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      I have seen this recipe all over the net on my quest to find THE Panda Express chow mein recipe. Not the exact taste, but it s a really good recipe nonetheless. I used chow mein noodles and double pan fried them with all the other ingredients to make them a bit crispy. I also added a bit of ginger, garlic, extra soy sauce and extra sesame oil. DH was quite impressed. I'll be adding this recipe to my permanent file of fast, easy and cheap favorites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Def. not the Panda recipe. We found this much too bland. Are the measurements correct? Maybe Panda Express is hiding their secret! We must get ahold of one of their employees:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Panda Express Chow Mein

    Serving Size: 1 (493 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 664.6
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    28%
    Total Fat 20.8 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 920.5 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 98.5 g
    32%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 21.0 g
    42%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites