19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

those of you who are complaining about the ketchup or sweet and sour taste instead of the authentic Panda Express type taste, you need only change the ketchup to hoisin sauce, or even do half of each. I add a bit of fresh grated ginger to mine too. This is a great base recipe - thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marilyn_ritz June 08, 2011

I have made this twice. The first time I followed the instructions as is and the second time I used soy sauce as suggested. My family overwhelmingly prefered the soy sauce. Since I always order Beijing Beef at PE I have to say this is not exact but very good anyway. All my Picky Eaters loved it (w/soy sauce). I will make this again. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PickyEaters August 16, 2009

It was good, but not Panda. I am thinking a little orange zest?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Anne June 29, 2009

This recipe helped me alot. The only thing i changed was, I didn't use the ketchup or the vinegar. I used soy sauce instead. And it was perfect! It tasted just like the real thing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacorbell77 January 13, 2009

OMG, I loved this recipe!! I doubled the sauce items and added 2 Tbsp sweet chili sauce and 2 Tbsp Hoisin sauce. It was very good and tasty. Just the right amount of heat and sweet n spicy taste. My daughter said it was better then Panda.........Yummmmmm

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue M. December 16, 2014

This does NOT taste like Beijing Beef from Panda Express at ALL!! Tastes okay but NOTHING like the original. My daughter spit it out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valerie S. March 30, 2014

I made everything the same except i added 1 Tbsp of indo style sweet Soy turned out very good! Just like pandas

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Johnathan M. September 21, 2013

This recipe is a pretty good base, but I knew from reading it and the reviews that there were things I'd want to change immediately. Only used 1T ketchup and added 2T soy sauce. Light brown sugar instead of white. Extra minced garlic, and way more crushed red pepper--about 1 tsp., but it could've used 1.5. I also added cayenne to the slurry "marinade." It was pretty dang good. Next time, I'd make it spicier and only use red peppers instead of red and green.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom-taught March 12, 2013

Used hoisin for half the ketchup and added more hot peppers. The sauce tasted very good and I would use it again. However, I found that the meat got really crispy when fried, but the second I added it to the sauce (just before serving) the meat went limp and had an unpleasantly mealy cornstarch texture. Next time I would just stir fry the meat quickly in a little oil and not bother with the egg/cornstarch thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hotdishmama February 26, 2013

I love this recipe it was so helpful, I thought the way I made it turned out so awesome, Thank you for the recipe! Soy, orange zest, etc. makes it your own, thanks for the ideas everyone!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wrenasprague April 11, 2012
Panda Express' Beijing Beef Copycat