13 Reviews

Don't hate me, but I didn't have fish sauce and used the same amount of oyster sauce instead. I also didn't have green onions or mushrooms, and I hate lemon/lime in my savory food, so I skipped that. It was still amazing. I will definitely add this to my regular rotation and keep my changes (unless I happen upon green onions - I'd definitely add that!). Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xDxxTx February 20, 2014

Had this last night for dinner. We enjoyed it. I used leftover carnitas for the pork and decided to stick with the "fusion" theme and served this in tortillas, "taco style." If we make again, I would like to serve with the hard boiled egg slices, as suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 May 02, 2013

Love this recipe. After I cook the meat in the pan, I let it sit in about 1 Tbsp of fish sauce plus I add an additional amount of fish sauce to the recipe. The only other change I make is I add the same amount of ginger to the garlic and chop both together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kande_izzy October 30, 2011

and oh yes, cabbage cooks very fast. You may want to add it towards the end, after the noodles have cooked.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
me_no_chef May 31, 2010

I found this recipe while trying to use up a cooked pork loin. I didn't have mushrooms, but otherwise followed the recipe. It was pretty good, but possibly needs a little tinkering to suit our tastes. I also need to be careful not to overcook the cabbage next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyceJoann February 23, 2009

I am glad that you posted the recipe. I have not eaten Pancit in many years. My ex-mother-in-law made it often and it quickly became my favorite dish. I search the internet looking for a recipe that seemed similar to hers. This was very close. I can't believe how easy it was to make. My family loved it. Now I can continue to enjoy one of my favorite foods. I added a little more fish sauce, just didn't tell the wife and kids!!! Thanks again for sharing a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
burnema October 15, 2008

We really enjoyed this dish and it's my first time making anything like it, I'm rather embarrassed to say. Using leftover Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker for the pork, I did halve the recipe and make some substitutions based on what I had on hand; fresh Chinese wheat noodles instead of rice (boiled for one minute, periodically separating with a pasta spoon, drained-rinsed-drained again), cremini mushrooms instead of shiitake and I forgot the citrus (gawd! how could I?), but when I make this properly, I'll come back and review it again. Oh! Also, as I had a LOT of fresh noodles to use, I also made some fried "nests" for the pancit bihon to sit on. For the nests, I removed two baseball-sized portions and "deep" fried them in about 1 cup of peanut oil heated to 375F for about 1 minute on each side. They turned out crispy, but not hard... a really pleasant complement to the soft noodles! Garnished with the scallions and cilantro, this dish was definitely "make again" qualified with a lovely blend of flavors. :o) Thank you so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandi (From CA) July 22, 2008

very authentic and great instructions. i'm filipina and sadly i never had the drive to learn how to cook filipino food when i was younger. so i was thrilled to find this recipe. i did add more fish sauce. thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyBabies May 28, 2008

YUMMY!! YUMMY!! YUMMY!!!This was GREAT!!! I thought that this would be a little more complicated but it really was not. I did dice up pork chops 4(minus bones) and cooked it with chopped garlic & set it aside. I also increased the amount of noodles. Thanks for this quick and easy recipe!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lola 15 March 24, 2008

Very tasty. You can also add diced string beans, bamboo shoot stips (canned), mung bean sprouts, and shrimp. The filpinos in hawaii use a calamondin lime (mexican lime) instead of lemon. The bihon (rice noodles) can be mixed with canton (chinese egg noodles) too. Another garnish used are sliced or diced boiled eggs.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy in Hawaii January 23, 2008
Pancit Bihon