36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good. Big hit with the family. I doubled the recipe and decreased the baking powder to 3 tsp rather than 4. Also I recommend adding the melted butter to the batter, rather than the milk and eggs...for a smoother result.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryleskie November 07, 2009

Well, Barenaked Chef (ha ha ha, sorry, name caught me off guard.) isn't kidding when they siad this beats out the pancake mixes! This really is just as easy to make as a box mix, only they come out fluffy and not greasy and they do well overnight in the fridge! The only change I made was that I used plain soy milk for my lactose hubby. Last Sunday my husband said he wanted pancakes for breakfast and we didn't have a mix for it so I thought I'd check the site and saw all of the ratings for this one. By far this is the best home made pancake recipe we have tried hands down.....and the soy milk didn't make them taste weird and they were still fluffy. :-) Thank you!!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrissyVas80 October 17, 2010

I halved the recipe and added a bit less salt than it called for, but otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly and they cake out great! Because of the small amount of sugar in the recipe, they do not even need syrup and they are moist without any added butter. Great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skb289 November 24, 2010

I *thought* I had a great pancake recipe..until we tried this one. This is the only one we use now, hands down a winner every single time we make it. Using the method from Cooks Illustrated, we mix the dry ingredients as stated, then whisk the egg whites into the milk, the yolks into the melted butter, then combine the butter and yolks with the whites/milk, and add to the dry ingredients. Works perfectly to blend all the ingredients. We also add a splash of almond extract when we make this, and triple the batch. It gives us enough for a fantastic breakfast (or dinner!) and enough left over to portion into ziploc bags and freeze or refrigerate for easy breakfasts during the week. Thanks for posting this recipe...my kids say you're the best! LOL

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lizbits December 07, 2009

This recipe was great. I added a bit more milk to have the desired texture. We got enough for 3 and no leftover. It was perfect. And great taste. It was very good with maple syrup. Thanks Barenaked Chef :) Made for Cookbook tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 24, 2013

Best pancakes I have ever had. My only change to the recipe was to add a bit of vanilla. I cannot wait to make these again!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Butter My Biscuits!! January 11, 2011

I just wanted to say thank you for shareing this WONDERFUL recipe! I have tried to make fluffy pancakes for years and have never come as close to it as this recipe! This will definatly be the only pancake recipe I use from now on!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommadollfin May 31, 2010

Excellent and easy pancake recipe. I made as written. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada January 31, 2010

I've tried many pancake recipes, but this is the BEST!! I did add a teaspoon of vanilla, though, for a little added flavor. AWESOME!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cathlynp December 31, 2009

I also doubled the recipe and left everything as it was, and these were terrific~ Will make again, thanks :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anellis2 November 25, 2009
Pancakes