1016 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If u let the mix sit undisturbed for about 15-20 min, they will b real fluffy. A tip I got from a well known restaurant here. It does make a difference

72 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Get's Alot December 30, 2010

Thank you for this delicious, easy recipe. I have tried to do pancakes from scratch before and all the recipes had me separating eggs, whipping egg whites, folding, using buttermilk, etc.! Finally, I gave up and just bought mixes. When I made these tonight, my husband asked me never to buy boxed mixes again and my 4 kids all agreed (me too)! By the way, I doubled the recipe and it came out fine (made 16 - 4" hearty thick pancakes). I had to add a little extra milk, because the batter was too thick, but flour acts differently in different temperatures, so that was probably why. Thanks again!

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= May 07, 2002

Ellen you have yourself a fantastic recipe here in that it's quick, simple and very delicious. My daughter loves pancakes and she wanted me to throw a handful of raspberries and chocolate chips in the batter and they were wonderful. I like the idea of being able to walk over to the pantry and pull some basic ingredients and wala! we have pancakes. Thanks again Ellen for the great recipe. I'm submitting a photo in gratitude.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HOUSEMANAGER (Charlene) August 29, 2002

This recipe really is awesome and easy :-) Thanks Ellen. For NJG: I suppose everybody assumes you know how to make a pancake but your right some people don't. Basic instructions would be this: Start with a medium hot griddle or frying pan. Med hot means when you drop a few drops of water on griddle it should "dance" for a few seconds before evaporating. Take pan off from heat source and spray with Non-Stick Spray, put back on heat (a safety thing) pour or spoon about a half cup of batter on griddle (want smaller pancakes?...use less, want bigger pancakes? use more) If batter is thick just spread the top around to desired size and thickness with back of spoon. cook until top of pancake begins to look dry and flip. cook on second side until golden brown. That's it!! If this doesn't do it for you... have toast. :-)

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bob LeBlanc May 25, 2003

PERFECT PANCAKES!!!! Thanks Ellen for posting this great recipe from your sister. I never learned how to make pancakes from scratch and now I have. No more mixes for me. Fresh milk and fresh eggs along with pantry ingredients and pancakes can be on the table in no time flat. Adults and kids alike loved these. We made them twice and found the best batch was where we had beat the egg very well and had cooled the melted butter before adding. This is my go to recipe for regular pancakes. Enjoy! ChefDLH

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH July 04, 2010

Delicious. We used 2/3 c wholewheat flour and 1/3 c cooked quinoa, grated apples, and some cinnamon.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Feed.Me November 12, 2011

Great recipe Ellen! I haven't used a boxed mix since trying your pancake recipe, even when camping! These are easy and delicious! Can't beat that! Thanks for the keeper!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** December 14, 2002

This recipe is great. I used one morning when I didn't have any pancake mix. Now I will use it when ever I want to make pancake. Thanks Ellen

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lillian Walker December 08, 2002

DELICIOUS! I ate about 5 last night on my own ... I didn't want to change or tweak the recipe in anyway, to see if they came out the same as everyone else's seemed to ... so yummy! Yes the batter was thick, and had me worried but I made them and they turned out very fluffy and light :) After my third pancake, I put 1/4 cup batter in the pan, then when I was about to flip it ... i placed a slice of ham and cheese on one side and folded it in half, made a delicious little breakfast taco :) THANKS FOR THE AMAZING RECIPE! So perfect for my little midnight snack, it was nice having all the ingredients on hand for a change!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amri92 May 27, 2011

BEST PANCAKE RECIPE EVER!!! Only changes I made were to add cinnamon and a little vanilla and let the batter sit 10 minutes before pouring on the griddle. Very fluffy, like the best restaurant pancakes! DH and I (who are quite the pancake connoisieurs) agreed these are the best. Used 1/4 cup measure a little underfilled and got 8 cakes. The only way these could be better is if you used some buttermilk in place of the milk. Use all of the baking powder and let the batter sit for 10-15 minutes, you will have an airy piece of breakfast heaven. WILL NEVER USE A MIX AGAIN! THANK YOU!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I<3butter! January 12, 2011
Pancakes