Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan-Seared Tilapia With Chile Lime Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan-Seared Tilapia With Chile Lime Butter

    Average Rating:

    63 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 63

    Sort by:

    • on November 02, 2010

      This recipe gave me all sorts of ideas. Due to grocery store and time restraints, I had to substitute garlic for shallots in the butter but it still turned out delicious. I also added a littl eminced garlic to the pan when searing. I took one reviewers suggestion and rubbed the fish with cumin, paprika and chili powder. Paired with a pinot grigio, it was absolutely amazing. Next time I want to add an avacado and tomato salad on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I made this tonight and it was pretty good. I added extra lemon juice, plus a dash of cumin and cayenne to give it a little bit more flavor. Comes together very quick. My fish didn't really sear, I think next time I need to really dry it off.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      A simple option with a complex taste. The butter's flavour is really nice, especially if you cheat and add cilantro to it. Lovely quick and simple.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      This is a great way to dress up Tilapia. The butter, lime & chili are a surprisingly good combination. Since I did not have shallots, I used a finely chopped onion and sautéed the chili and onion then added the lime & zest. This made a butter sauce which I poured over the sautéed fish. We will use this recipe again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2014

      Tasty recipe and so simple to prepare! I did find it a little difficult to get the butter to mix well with the lime juice (even after thawing my butter), but it was just fine. I also didn't have any Serrano chile, so I just added a little cayenne pepper to kick it up a notch. And I didn't have shallots, so I added some VERY finely chopped yellow onion. Overall, a great recipe. I had plenty of the butter to spare, so we used it later for other dishes. Thanks GaylaJ!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      I'd say it's a good sign when your husband eats the whole plate before he even sits down. We loved this and I will definitely be making it again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      Quite tasty. The chile lime butter was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

    • on February 02, 2012

      I can't even begin to say how good this was! The best part was that dinner was on the table in less than 30 minutes and made for a very elegant week night meal. I would definitely serve this to guests. The only thing that I did different was to smear the butter mixture over the fish in the pan and cover it for a few minutes to get the butter to melt over top of the fish before serving. I was a little concerned about the shallots and the serrano tasting a little too raw, but they didn't at all. Will definitely make this again! Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      What a simple and delicious dish! I made this as directed only I used a jalapeno for the serrano chili and left seeds in (didn't have a serrano). This would be an very easy and elegant dish to serve to company. Cooking time was right on. Served this with Roasted Broccoli With Garlic and Red Pepper#376311, Lemon Roast Potatoes#11930 and a side of cucumbers, tomatoes and onion salad. Thank you for posting the recipe and it will be going into my Favorites of 2011. Made for Holly Jolly Diabetic Forum 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      It was the first time I'd cooked this fish and I enjoyed it. I love chilli and lime and will add cilantro next time. I had the same problem of getting a sear so I may have to try some of the tricks mentioned. I'd love some suggestions for sides.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      Whipped this up in no time at all. Needed a quick, lovely meal to compliment a hard-working day on the farm. I followed this exactly, and wouldn't and won't change this at all. I prepared the butter in the morning, putting it in the icebox for a couple of hours, and then using a melon-baller, scooping a beautiful round, lime-zest flecked butter ball out. Just gorgeous! Thanks, Gayla! Hugs from the farm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Super quick and easy and very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      This was such a good simple recipe! Will be trying this on all my fish in the future! For ease (had a lot of fish filets) cooked it in a hot oven and it was delish! Thanks for posting! For my own notes, I brined it in buttermilk for about an hour and used fresh garlic as I didn't have shallots. Thanks again for posting this, my husband thought it was awesome, and he usually likes his fish fried with tartar sauce on the side, which is always good, but this was equally as tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Simple, flavorful, and healthy. What more can I ask for?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      I just realized that I never posted a review for this.. Absolutely Delicious!!! The butter is amazing. We did pan sear the tilapia the first couple of times. Then, my hubby though he should make a beer batter and fry it! ((WOW)) We've been making this recipe for about 2 years now and it's our favorite. Great for ppl who aren't into fish :-) Thankyou so much for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

    • on October 14, 2009

    • on May 13, 2009

      So delicious - the simple tilapia preparation and amazing combination of flavors in the butter make this a keeper! I added a little chili powder to the butter as well, and made enough to serve on the corn on the cob we had alongside it. Deelish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      this is a 5-star recipe all the way. i LOVE the compound butter - it really makes the dish. i used trout instead of tilapia, and i used bacon drippings instead of veg oil, but followed the butter recipe exactly. DH absolutely raved about this, which is quite the compliment since he normally only likes his fish battered and fried. this one is a total keeper! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan-Seared Tilapia With Chile Lime Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 245.7
     
    Calories from Fat 131
    53%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 91.2 mg
    30%
    Sodium 462.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 28.6 g
    57%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lime zest

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes