36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very easy. Steak came out perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheresaC22 October 07, 2012

No apologies here. I love a good steak! I tried this one in a cast iron skillet and was very pleased. Simple prep, simple cook, and great taste. Thanks Dwynnie for a nice keeper. Made for All You Can Cook Buffet special.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme August 10, 2011

This worked out just great. I had used another method befor, where I did the whole thing on top of the stove. The smoke was terriable. This way, there was barely any smoke.
I am so proud I can cook steak. Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sissy sue March 18, 2011

Fantastic! Plain and simple. This is the way to do a steak!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allenbryanjr September 30, 2010

just amazing..saw ddpd's review and just had to try this method sice I have a extremly well seasoned cast iron skillet ( probabaly a good 35 yrs of constant use and seasoning) this will be the way I do my steaks from now on..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gruntlady May 24, 2010

I made this and it was amazing! Best steak I've had in a long time. With just salt, pepper, and some oil, the flavor of the steak really had a chance to shine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ithinkinpink May 08, 2010

This is a wonderful recipe. The steaks come out perfect! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pesto lover April 11, 2010

This was a great way to cook steaks. They turned out wonderful and tender. I might even make our steaks this way in the summer just because it is so easy! Thank you. I love Alton Brown and all of his recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
schefersjunk February 16, 2010

Have used this method many times since watching Alton do it on TV. The results are always outstanding once you get the timing down. My only complaint is the smoke. Not reason enough to abandon this method though. Alton knows his stuff.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MTDavids January 11, 2010

We used this for 1 1/2" thick pork chops and they came out fantastic! I would say that it is better than grilling on the BBQ!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Classy Gal January 09, 2010
Pan Seared Steak (From Alton Brown)