Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pan Seared Steak (From Alton Brown) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pan Seared Steak (From Alton Brown)

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-35 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on November 14, 2009

      100 Stars. Seriously. I have never cooked a good steak at home. Ever. And steak is my favorite food. The simplicity is awesome and the taste is fantastic. My steak was cooked as stated for a perfect medium. Hubby likes his well, so I left in another 2 mins. I used 1.5 inch strip steaks. Ohhh that was so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      This is a wonderful recipe for rib eye steaks. I've been using it for several months now. I cooked 1/2 inch steaks about 3 min. per side in the oven for well-done. Wonderful flavor and juicy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Absolutely perfect steak! I have been searing steaks in an iron skillet for a while now, however, had not utilized the oven. The oven provides for a more even center. I cooked 3 minutes per side in the oven for a perfect medium rare. It does smoke up in the oven so just be aware. So much easier than climbing over my snow mounds to get to the grill :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      This has to be my new favorite way to make steak. Extremely easy, with fantastic results...we'll be using this recipe often. Alton Brown ROCKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      This is my favorite way to cook steak, it comes out juicy and perfect everytime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      Our steaks turned out so tender and juicy. I had a wee bit of trouble getting my timing right as some steaks were thicker than others, but I got it eventually. This is a really good way to cook steak when the weather is cold and there is two feet of snow outside your door. Just a warning with regard to the cast iron pan - use a really thick oven mitt when lifting the pan from the oven. The heat went right thru my oven mitt and I got a nasty burn on my fingers. Thx for posting this, I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      What a great way to cook steak. Came out nice and seared on the outside and perfectly pink and tender on the inside. I will be using this way to make steak from now on. I used sea salt and fresh cracked pepper! Talk about good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      My husband, who would never lower his standards to eat a steak that wasn't grilled, loved this. He was surprised I was able to pull it off. Thanks Alton and Dwynn ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      WOW! These steaks were great. I had N.Y. boneless strip steaks and they were succulent. Cooked for 3 minutes and they were perfect. Thanks so much for sharing this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      Made this last night as usual followed the recipe to a t! I seared the steaks (new yorks from a local butcher) and then baked them for 3 mins. they were perfectly med-rare and oh so yummy and easy. Thanks, it makes grilling a little easier during the winter in the Pacific NW.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      WHOA HORSIE! Finally, the perfect technique that combines the use of stove top with oven, resulting in a perfectly cooked (and highly respected) hunk of beef. I used a 1 1/2 inch filet mignon which, because it was enough for the two of us, I butterflied AFTER cooking. Honestly, it was perfect. Alton, I love you!.... and Dwynnie, you ain't so bad yerself. :) Thank you for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Awesome! If I could rate it higher I would. My husband and I are very picky about how our steak is prepared, and this recipe did not dissapoint. It has changed the way I cook steak from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      You can't go wrong with an Alton Brown recipe and this one is no exception! My New York Strip steaks were 3/4 " thick, so I followed jlhicks119 advise and cut the oven time to 1 minute per side and they were a perfect medium-rare. Really easy and really delicious! Thank's for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      DH was very impressed with this, so I was happy. I have to agree; this was delicious. And so easy, too! My steaks were only 3/4" thick, so I cut the oven time down to 1 minute per side, and they came out a perfect medium-rare. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I agree and so does my hubby who is a grilling fanatic. Easy, and truly, truly exceptional. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pan Seared Steak (From Alton Brown)

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rib eye steaks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes